We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The poshest hostel I've ever seen!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The poshest hostel I've ever seen!”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Situated in a quiet part of Sorrento but only a few minutes walk away from the main town down some charming narrow streets flanked by shops selling traditional goods at very reasonable prices, this is a very deluxe hostel. Very spacious rooms and spotlessly clean the only slight negative is the lack of outside space to sit in during the day. However this is reflected in the price and with charming parks a short walk away or the option of the use of the pool and sun loungers in a sister hotel for only 10 Euros, this really wasn't a problem. Breakfast is basic but very nice and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. There is no restaurant but in Sorrento that really does not matter. There is a bar for when you return to the hotel at night - we never did find out what time they would stop serving! If I visit Sorrento again, I will stay at this hotel! Top Tip - you must have an ice-cream from Bougainvillea on Corsa Italia in Sorrento, they have a nice restaurant at the back, but the ice-cream is fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melchiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    445
    98
    24
    11
See reviews for
204
720
81
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayfield, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This is NOT your average hostel!! The rooms are large and clean. There is no view from the windows, which face cement walls; but the shutters cover this well. Wi-Fi is available in the lobby area. The breakfast is the usual Italian breakfast of breads, cheese, fruit, etc. The staff was very helpful with providing information. It is, indeed, hard to find initially; the road goes under the main road in town; be sure to get good directions. It is within easy walking distance to downtown Sorrento, for shopping and meals, and the train and marina. This is a great place to stay, and remain within a budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malloyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Ulisse is a very nice, spacious hotel. The only problem we had was to find its location, since the GPS couldn't take us there, we had to call the hotel to get better directions. It's close to the main sites. Breakfast is ok. If you need parking space, the hotel offers parking for 10 Euros a day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Yes, the place is underneath a car park and our window faced into an interior quadrangle (note: we could not see or be seen by another rooms occupants), however, the room was still bright, clean and spacious and resembled any decent, if generic, hotel room. The hotel's location was fine (a 5 minute walk through cobbled streets from the very centre of Sorrento) and breakfast was very good, with a choice of cereal, juices, hot drinks, cakes, fruit, bread, ham, cheese etc...The only bug bear really was that the place was fairly noisy, especially in the mornings with beds and chairs being scraped by occupants and the cleaning staff. Wasn't a problem at night and if you are using this place simply to sleep at whilst off exploring the surrounding area by day (as we were) then this is a very good place and is excellent value for money. If you want a place to stay during the day or with a view, best look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I have no idea why they call this hotel a hostel on their website as it is anything but that! It's pretty new inside, spotlessly clean, looks great, and for EUR 89 a room (incl breaksfast!) in peak season in Sorrento it's a bargain! While there, the hotel organised a trip to Capri EUR 30 each - this included a transfer to a small harbour nearby, and then a boat trip (90 seater open air I think) to Capri , with the return trip on the boat doing a loop of the island, and stopping at the blue grotto, which is lovely if you haven't seen one before, but at EUR 11 for going into the blue grotto for less than 2 min is a little steep! Also def do a day trip to Positano - 7 eur on the bus return - SO beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This is not a hostel! Very clean, large bedrooms, and a great walk into down through the narrow street. Very enjoyable stay. Our freinds stayed in a hotel in the town which cost double the price, our room was double the size of theirs. Service was good, and the prices cannot be beaten! I will return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

My fiance & I stayed at the Ulisse Deluxe Hotel this past spring & loved EVERYTHING about it. The room was the best I've ever stayed at in Europe in terms of size, comfort of bed, bathroom ammenities, internet cafe (it had 2 computers that were cheap to use) & price. This place is really a steal. Granted, there are hotels in Sorrento you can pay approx 200 euros for and stay on a cliff, but they are located far from town and the views are not as near as worth the cost, especially since I've been to Santorini Greece and know what you can really get for your money in terms of cliff views. The hotel is located about a block away from the main street in town, at the end of this main strip, which allowed for some quiet. The hotel is in the same building as a spa, a great spa. I had a manicure for 10euros there, cheap and my fiance had a massage. We both loved these facilities. I think our room was only 60-65euros a night, which is why I am convinced that this is one of the best deal hotels in Europe. There is no sea view, but that is no issue with me, since we hardly spent any time in the hotel. It's called a hostel, yet it is nicer than any hotel I've stayed in in Europe (my budget for 1 night in Europe for 2 people is usually set at 100euros.) I would love to stay at this hotel again. ***I will note that this is a hostel and it is cheap, so it does attract student groups. There was a group of college kids from NC that stayed in the hostel while we were there and they were loud at times, but no real issues there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyhearttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Property: Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In The Heart Of Sorrento, The Hostel Boasts A Convenient Location Within Very Easy Reach Of Sorrento’s Premier Sights And Attractions. Elegantly Styled, Beautifully Furnished And Equipped With All The Service Of A 3 Star Hotel: 50 Rooms All Air-conditioned, Minibar, Personalised Safe, Wi-fi , Underground Garage, Wellness Centre And Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing