We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo!!”
Review of Don Pedro

Don Pedro
Ranked #66 of 285 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$37 - US$85
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bellissimo!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were holidaying in Sorrento for 10 days from 17/10/13 - 28/9/13 to celebrate my husband's birthday. I researched Trip Advisor in the hope of finding a good restaurant to dine in with our four friends.

From the initial emails to Don Pedro and the informative replies from his son Tony I knew we had made the right choice.

We booked the birthday dinner on 26/9, and we also dined at Don Pedro's for lunch on Saturday 21/9. Tony arranged for us to be collected from our hotel and taken to the restaurant (Location B). The driver came and Tony also came on his moped to introduce himself to us.

The views from the restaurant were spectacular. We met Don Pedro and his lovely wife and nothing was too much trouble for them. They even moved tables for us to have a better location on the terrace. Complementary Don Pedro prosecco was served along with delicious home produced bread and oils.

The food was amazing, fresh, plentiful and delicious. Beautiful fresh seafood, perfectly cooked steaks and al dente fresh homemade pasta washed down with some beer and more prosecco with stunning views. Tony then arranged for the driver to take us back to our hotel.

We had arranged with Tony via emai to charter a boat trip to Capri. The six of us were collected once again from our hotel and taken to the small marina. Don Pedro and Carmella were waiting to see us off and Carmella's daughter Teresa was our personal guide. Wine and beer were included alongside an enormous tomatoe and mozzarella roll each.

The scenery along the coast was spectacular, with the informative boat Captain's tour. We saw the green and blue grotto's and there was plenty of opportunity for swimming. Teresa escorted us onto pre-arranged shuttle buses up to the chair lifts to the highest point of Capri, and as guests of Don Pedro we were given the 'resident' rate as opposed to the tourist rate which is quite a saving. After the boat trip we were once again driven safely back to our hotel, happy but wiped out from our wonderful day.

The birthday dinner did not disappoint. It was interesting to experience Don Pedro's atmosphere of an evening as opposed to the day time dining - nevertheless it was outstanding. We were treated like superstars, and as it was my husband's birthday they made us feel very special. I don't want to spoil future surprises, but there were plenty and Don Pedro, Tony and their team really pulled out all the stops.

I cannot stress enough if you are visiting Sorrento you really need to treat yourselves to dining at Don Pedro's for either lunch or dinner, and experience their warm hospitality.

We truly feel we have made new friends, and hope very much if Tony finds time to visit our area when he comes to the UK at the end of the year we can meet up!!

Thank you Don Pedro - until the next time ...........Ciao xx

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimmykins00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    21
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding reception 3rd October 2013”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We found Don Pedro's through tripadvisor. We had booked our wedding through Citalia and even though we could have arranged our wedding reception through them we couldn't ignore the rave reviews we found so decided to get in touch with them directly.

We sent an e-mail asking some general questions at first, cost menus etc and were given extensive information fromTony, Don Pedro's son.

Although sometimes things can be lost in translation, we couldn't have asked for more help when it came to trying to arrange things via e-mail, Tony was incredibly helpful...I must say though, that we decided to visit for a meeting which really helped go through finer details.

Once the day came for us to travel to Italy for our wedding, we were picked up by Tony and taken to the venue, which, by the way has the most incredible views I have ever seen. We went through everything, paid and left, reassured in the fact that Don Pedro and his family would take care of everything...and they really did.

Don Pedro met us on our wedding day, liaised with our wedding planner to enhance every aspect of the big day. From there we were taken to the reception half an hour after our guests, who had been imbibed with copious amounts of delicious prosecco.

The evening was incredible, we were taken to the tables to make sure we were happy with the layout, we had provided Don Pedro with our favours beforehand and they had laid them out perfectly. Don Pedro can also arrange any weddings extras you may need, he literally has a finger in every pie and you rest assured if you ask for something he will arrange it for you.

The day/evening went so smoothly, it was seamless. All our guests had an amazing time as did we.

We would like to thank all of Don Pedro and his amazing family for making us feel so special, we truly felt like this has been the most amazing day of our lives.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream Wedding 30th August 2013”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Since returning home after our wedding in August, we have been struggling to find the right words to do Don Pedro's justice. We have now come to realise that there really are no words to describe just how amazing Don Pedro and his family are and how special they made our wedding day for us, our families, and our friends.

Each and every member of the Don Pedro family worked so hard to make our day fantastic and made us feel so special and welcomed. Every single service which Don Pedro arranged was faultless, from the flowers, the music, the photographer, the transport etc. The day went perfectly without a hitch, the venue was gorgeous, the food fantastic and all 22 of us had an amazing day. It was also the grooms 30th birthday on the day and this was not forgotten! It was made just as special and all done with such a personal touch. We cannot offer enough praise for what they do.

If you are looking for a reception venue in Sorrento then stop searching and contact Don Pedro’s. You will not get this experience anywhere else. Our day was so perfect that we can honestly say that there is not one thing we would have changed. The only regret we have is that we didn’t manage to go on the boat trip to Capri as we didn't have enough time. We are sure that this day out would have been yet another amazing experience!!

Don Pedro and Family - Thank you so so much for a truly unforgettable day!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NottsFoxes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC AND VERY WELCOMING”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We recently holidayed in Sorrento with my brother & his wife & friends and we all had the very great pleasure of meeting Don Pedro, Tony & the rest of the family. What a very warm welcome we were given and fabulous hospitality!

We were picked up from our hotel and had lunch at Don Pedro's on 21 Sept as well as dinner on 26 Sept (my brother's birthday) - the food was amazing! The restaurant staff were brilliant and looked after us very well. We were even taken to Don Pedro's wedding venue and fireworks were arranged in celebration of my brother's birthday. Amazing!

We also chartered a boat for the day to the Isle of Capri - thanks to Theresa! We had a great day seeing the sights around the Island and to top it all we then took the chair lift to the top of Capri Island - beautiful views!

Many thanks to Don Pedro and his family for making our stay complete with their very generous hospitality. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigel0w13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding day!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were lucky enough to have our wedding reception here on 18/09/13 and it far exceeded our expectations!
All communication with Tony and Don Pedro beforehand was prompt and accurate and they couldn't have been more helpful throughout the whole process.
We were welcomed like family and felt like we mattered to them rather than just being a number.
The food was wonderful and all of the little extras and personal touches helped to make our day incredibly special.
All of the additional services that Don Pedro arranged for us (flowers, hairdresser, photographer) were of an exceptional standard as well!
The whole family are very professional and passionate about what they do and they really did help to make our wedding day one to remember!
Don Pedro arranged a wonderful boat trip to Capri for our wedding party which was brilliant! Again, fabulous food, plenty of beer & wine and a private boat for the day! Absolutely fantastic!
Many, many thanks to Don Pedro and all of his wonderful family for such a brilliant day!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThere77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Pedro also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing