We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Day 22nd May 2014!”
Review of Don Pedro

Don Pedro
Ranked #77 of 292 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$86
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, View, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We first came to visit Tony, Don Pedro & the rest of his family in April 2013 to begin planning our wedding, and from the moment we met them, we knew we had made the right choice! We were made to feel like family straight away & shown various different locations to pick from. We chose Villa Caprile with its gorgeous views & outside space, but all of the locations that we saw were amazing! It was hard to pick one! After booking our special day, we flew home & counted down the days till we returned!
Over the last 12 months we had constant contact with Tony to organise everything we could ever need. It was so reassuring to know we had someone who cared so much about making our day special. He is one of the nicest and most funny people we have ever met!
We flew out to Sorrento a few days before our wedding day, and were welcomed like old friends back into the Don Pedro family! Don Pedro & all his family sat down with us and went through every single detail possible about our Big Day & once again reassured us everything would be perfect & exactly how we wanted it. We got to sample some beautiful food & their wine - which they make themselves!! It was such a fantastic start to our whole wedding experience!
Our wedding Day arrived & I think I must of been the most calm of Brides ever!! Every little detail had been thought of, Don Pedro was always one step ahead with everything in complete control! He had organised the musicians, weddings cars, transport for our guests and much much more. All our family & friends were gob-smacked when they got to the reception & couldn't believe what a beautiful place it was.
Then came the food... everyone agreed it was the best meal any of us had ever had!! It couldn't have been more perfect. Don Pedro & his family had so many surprises planned for us - which made it even more special - I don't want to spoil the surprises for future brides!!
We couldn't have picked a better place & people to organise our wedding day & we cannot wait to return for our Anniversary. We found the value for money incredible. Thank you to Don Pedro, Tony, and the rest of your family for truly making it the best day of our lives!
Love Becci & Richard

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank BecciRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ristorantedonpedro, Manager at Don Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Beccy and Riccardo,I couldn't say thank you enough for yor detailed comment!thanks to have shared with us your best day of your lives. We also cannot wait to see you soon!
Many thanks again.
Love from Don Pedro s family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My new wife and I held our Wedding reception with Don Pedro and his family at his mountain top venue overlooking the Bay of Naples and the Islands of Capri and Ischia.
Our Wedding was on Wednesday 14th May 2014.
What a truly memorable and amazing day we had!
We got married at Villa Fondi in Piano Di Sorrento.
It was a lovely scenic, cliff top spot overlooking the sea. Very romantic.
The wedding was arranged through Thomas Cook but we decided to have our reception with Don Pedro.
My wife found out about Don Pedro on line and after reading reviews and looking at pictures on trip advisor and their website we decided to have our reception with them.
What a fantastic decision that was!
Antonio (Don Pedro's son) was very quick to reply to emails both before we arrived in Italy and during our holiday in the build up to our big day.
He was brilliant and smoothly arranged all we asked.
We bumped into him around Sorrento and it was like meeting a friend.
Tony picked us up on our pre arranged meeting day with Don Pedro after we had arrived in Italy and took us into the hills above Sorrento to meet the family and look at the venue.
We were obviously a little apprehensive at first, having only viewed pictures and spoken via emails.
We needn't have worried because once we had met Don Pedro and his family they put our minds at ease and took over all the stress of arranging the reception from that point on.
We discussed what we required during this initial meeting.
Don Pedro's advice was valuable and we used some of his ideas on the day.
After we had arranged the cost of our reception, Don Pedro's family prepared a beautiful meal and we sampled the wine we would be drinking on the day.
Both the Red and White wine are nice but the Rose is fantastic and quite strong! Enjoy!
All further arrangements were professionally dealt with by Don Pedro, Antonio and Marcella.
They arranged hair dressers, photographer, flowers, transport and musicians!
I would say that the guitar and mandolin players were fantastic and made the day very special.
A must have!
Don Pedro and his family on the day of the wedding were excellent, very professional, fantastic service, great food and some lovely surprises throughout!
All in such a beautiful setting.
My wife and I would recommend Don Pedro to anyone looking to get married in Sorrento.
Many thanks to Don Pedro, Antonio, Marcella, Carmella and the rest of the family!
Grazie millie, from Jon and Joanne!
Ciao! x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jonno70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ristorantedonpedro, Manager at Don Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Johanna and Jon thank you for your fantastic review. We are happy your dream came true.Looking forward seeing you soon.
XX ciao from Don pedro s family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across Don Pedro by accident when searching for locations around Italy to get married. After reading all the reviews and seeing pictures of the beautiful Sorrento we decided it was meant to be. We sent an email to Don Pedro and within 24hrs we got a response introducing himself and what he could offer us for a wedding package.

From day one we had regular conversations with Don, Tony and Marcella, planning everything down to the finest detail and all the while putting our minds at ease over any converns. We paid our deposits with no worries and from then on Tony kept up the contact with us arranging flowers, the menu and the ceremony.

Time flew by and before we knew it we was boarding the plane to meet with Don Pedro and his family. We met Tony in the square that evening and had a coffee and a chat and we loved him! Such a genuine guy and he also gave us a bottle of beautiful homemade pink proseco. We arranged to meet the next morning to be taken off to meet Don Pedro and have lunch at his place to confirm all the final details etc.

We met all of his family and they are all fantastic and nothing was to much trouble, Don Pedro's partner Marchella was preparing the lunch whilst we was shown around Don Pedro plot which is beautiful and he grows all his own vegetables and herbs etc.

Our lunch was absolutely delicious and all so fresh with the mozzarella being delivered an hour prior, it was buffalo as my partner has allegies which Don Pedro was totally thoughtful about which he also brought out gluten free bread.

On the day of the wedding Don Pedro was in four places at once and I asked if he had any identical brothers!! He was making sure everything ran to clockwork. And it all did perfectly! We got a professional service with all the joy of a very big occasion for us both.

Unfortunately my partner was poorly on the day so we missed out on a few surprises Don Pedro had arranged so we went straight to the restaurant where the mandolin and guitar players were there entertaining the guests.

The restaurant was set up beautifully and way beyond what we expected. The big introduction and the service from the whole family was faultless. The food was 5 star and everybody is still talking about it two weeks after the day.

When we said our goodbyes to the family it was like saying goodbye to our own family and was quite sad because from day one we felt like one of their own and was made to feel so welcomed and nothing was to much trouble no matter how big the problem.

Thank you Don Pedro and all the family for a beautiful day and wonderful holiday.

Hayley and Paul Lea
XX

See you next year on our annivarsary.

2  Thank Hikerz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ristorantedonpedro, Manager at Don Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks Hayley and Lea for your gorgeous comment. I would say thank
you again to have considered us as a part of your family! we ll never forget! it has
been great to have met fantastic people like you.
thanks you for your kindness.
Love from Don Pedro's family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Like many people getting married abroad we were worried about how the day would go. We had a list of options from our Travel Agent but weren’t sure how good they were. We found Don Pedro online by sheer accident having looked for boat trips and decided to get in touch after reading the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor. Our initial thoughts having read the reviews were that we probably wouldn’t be able to afford Don Pedro or that they wouldn’t have availability. To our delight they had availability for 16th April 2014 and the services that Don Pedro offers are cheaper and superior to those our Travel Agent was offering.

You may be wondering whether all the reviews of Don Pedro are true, in our experience they don’t go far enough. From day one nothing was too much trouble. Any questions we had, no matter how silly, were responded to quickly and in a friendly manner by Tony (Don Pedro’s son). He certainly put our minds at ease.

The day after our arrival in Sorrento we were picked up from our hotel by Tony and Marcella. They took us on a very informative tour of Sorrento and showed us round the Villa Fondi where we would be getting married. Tony and Marcella put us at our ease straight away with their sense of humour and are genuinely the warmest and friendliest people you could wish to meet.

After the tour of Sorrento we were taken to Castore where the reception would be held. The venue is absolutely stunning and has views both of the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast. You could not think of a better place to hold a wedding reception. Whilst there we were given a glass or several of Don Pedro’s own Prosecco and were walked through the details of our big day with Don Pedro himself. After this we were provided with lunch whilst talking through all of the details of what we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble and Don Pedro has samples and photographs of everything so as you can really see the high standard of the service that you can expect.

As for the day itself, we couldn’t have wished for a better service. Marcella was on hand all day as an honorary bridesmaid and looked after my wife throughout. The ceremony was wonderful and the photographs outside overlooking the bay were stunning. Our guests were then taken to Castore whilst my wife and I had a few further photo’s taken.

We can highly recommend the guitar and mandolin players. They really set the tone for the wedding and were very friendly. They learned some songs specifically for us and interacted really well with the guests (including playing Postman Pat for our 3 year old flower girl).
Everything at the reception was perfect and the food was out of this world. Everyone commented on how great it was. The disco afterwards was also superb.

Even though I can imagine we were a small wedding by Don Pedro’s standards, nothing was too much trouble. The warmth and friendliness of the whole family was evident throughout everything. In short, Don Pedro made our wedding even more special than we had ever hoped that it would be. Our only regret is that we booked the ceremony through our Travel Agent rather than Don Pedro. Without hesitation I would trust every single thing about my wedding to them.

Words cannot convey how amazing Don Pedro and his family are. You meet as strangers and leave as part of the family. We hope to return to Sorrento soon and meet up again for another fantastic meal. Thank you for creating so many special memories for us and our families!

Mr & Mrs Mansell

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ristorantedonpedro, Direttore at Don Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Stephen and Laura,
thank you for your compliments and review we greatly appreciate.
we were so happy for making your day so Special.
Have a great Time!!
Much Love
Don Pedro Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went here for a friends wedding. I think Don Pedro has several venues and the one we were at was amazing. We were up in the hills with a view of Capri. The staff were amazing throughout the day, constantly making sure everyone was topped up and enjoying themselves and the food was fabulous.

3  Thank Raychimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Pedro also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sant'Agnello, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing