We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just awful”
Review of il buco Ristorante

il buco Ristorante
Ranked #13 of 278 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just awful”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

From the design and bright lighting to the food combinations, I don't think I've been to a worse restaurant that was trying so hard to be something special.

Staff were friendly though.

A table near us gave up after tasting the sharring steak and my girlfriend was sick later that evening. Avoid!

Helpful?
3 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlBucoSorrento, Proprietario at il buco Ristorante, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Il Buco and taking time to share your experience.

We are very glad you appreciated the service offered by our staff always attentive but never intrusive; However, we are sorry to read that our food did not meet your expectations.
Your opinion, however, is important and constructive for our personal and professional growth. Unfortunately, we fear that the kitchen and our philosophy have not been perceived in the right way, therefore I'd like to introduce ourselves:

Peppe Aversa’s cuisine is an innovative, Mediterranean “gourmet style”, combining tradition and modern techniques . We use excellent locally sourced organic products , personally selected by the Chef.
Our focus is to create dishes including seasonal ingredients, enhancing flavors with interesting combinations.

Every day we are conscious of our responsibility towards our guests and their dining experience.
We apologize, we have been not able to convey our concept and values to you!

We hope to see you again, meantime please accept our best regards

Il Buco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    279
    116
    61
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Amazing food, service and ambiance. Pricey but worth it, especially if you're on vacation! So, go ahead, and treat yourself!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank eniale168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Delicious food and lovely surroundings. Pasta with courgettes lovely. Squid really tasty - not rubbery rings that I have experienced in the UK. Great location at the top of many steps to harbour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SG19691969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Modern Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a wonderful meal here in April 2014. We went on the recommendation of a friend and were not disappointed. We had the chef's 5 course tasting and wine pairing. It was creative and memorable. The waiter asked our preferences and worked around any requests (e.g., my dining companion doesn't prefer squid). It's pricey, but worth every penny. No view, so have a cocktail elsewhere to watch the sunset and then come for dinner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We tried this place based on the good Tripadvisor feedback. We both had the 5 course menu where you let the chef know what you don't like and they will craft your meal to suit you. Every course was amazing. The staff were friendly and professional. Highly recommend a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed il buco Ristorante also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to il buco Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing