We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average”
Review of il buco Sorrento

il buco Sorrento
Ranked #17 of 285 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only average”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When a restaurant is billed as Michelin starred you expect something stunning. Sadly our visit to Il Buco can only be described as average.

An amuse bouche of local fish was virtually tasteless.

Starters where of Carpaccio (under seasoned) and Scallops (excellent)

We then both had risotto with prawn and apple. The apple overwhelmed the taste of the prawn and the risotto was just under cooked.

We finished with Lamb and Sea Bass both of which were ok but nothing special and, again, the lamb was under seasoned.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DmjBlack2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlBucoSorrento, Proprietario at il buco Sorrento, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Il Buco and taking time to share your experience.

We are very glad you enjoyed the location, an old cellar of the convent of Theatines monks dating back to 1400, and the service offered by our staff always attentive but never intrusive; However, we are sorry to read that our food did not meet your expectations.
Your opinion, however, is important and constructive for our personal and professional growth. Unfortunately, we fear that the kitchen and our philosophy have not been perceived in the right way, therefore I'd like to introduce ourselves:

Peppe Aversa’s cuisine is an innovative, Mediterranean “gourmet style”, combining tradition and modern techniques . We use excellent locally sourced organic products , personally selected by the Chef.
Our focus is to create dishes including seasonal ingredients, enhancing flavors with interesting combinations.

Every day we are conscious of our responsibility towards our guests and their dining experience.
We apologize, we have been not able to convey our concept and values to you!

We hope to see you again, meantime please accept our best regards

Il Buco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,170
    293
    123
    67
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, good service, food o.k.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were recommended to this restaurant and were somewhat disappointed. We sat at a table right under the music speaker and it was a little loud. The service was attentive but the food was over priced and mediocre. Would not go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsulfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlBucoSorrento, Proprietario at il buco Sorrento, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Il Buco and taking time to share your experience.

We are very glad you enjoyed the location, an old cellar of the convent of Theatines monks dating back to 1400, and the service offered by our staff always attentive but never intrusive; However, we are sorry to read that our food did not meet your expectations.
Your opinion, however, is important and constructive for our personal and professional growth. Unfortunately, we fear that the kitchen and our philosophy have not been perceived in the right way, therefore I'd like to introduce ourselves:

Peppe Aversa’s cuisine is an innovative, Mediterranean “gourmet style”, combining tradition and modern techniques . We use excellent locally sourced organic products , personally selected by the Chef.
Our focus is to create dishes including seasonal ingredients, enhancing flavors with interesting combinations.

Every day we are conscious of our responsibility towards our guests and their dining experience.
We apologize, we have been not able to convey our concept and values to you!

We hope to see you again, meantime please accept our best regards

Il Buco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere,great service,very ordinary food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We new it was above avarage pricing and expected above avarage food. Disappointing. i would not go back even though the service was immeculate.

Helpful?
Thank Bedriyehulya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlBucoSorrento, Proprietario at il buco Sorrento, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Il Buco and taking time to share your experience.

We are very glad you enjoyed the location, an old cellar of the convent of Theatines monks dating back to 1400, and the service offered by our staff always attentive but never intrusive; However, we are sorry to read that our food did not meet your expectations.
Your opinion, however, is important and constructive for our personal and professional growth. Unfortunately, we fear that the kitchen and our philosophy have not been perceived in the right way, therefore I'd like to introduce ourselves:

Peppe Aversa’s cuisine is an innovative, Mediterranean “gourmet style”, combining tradition and modern techniques . We use excellent locally sourced organic products , personally selected by the Chef.
Our focus is to create dishes including seasonal ingredients, enhancing flavors with interesting combinations.

Every day we are conscious of our responsibility towards our guests and their dining experience.
We apologize, we have been not able to convey our concept and values to you!

We hope to see you again, meantime please accept our best regards

Il Buco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best of Sorrento”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here on our last night in Sorrento. It was a refreshing break from the standard fare that seems to be served at so many restaurants. Food was creative and delicious from the amuse bought to the final course. The kitchen happily accommodated all dietary restrictions (including the request for plain pasta for my picky 7 year old son). Wait staff was patient, friendly and efficient. This was the perfect way to end our trip. The price tag was steeper than our other meals but, in this particular case, the food was worthy of the price.

Helpful?
Thank WhereItsWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Sorrento ... a must”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This restaurant was recommended and we can see why.
The setting was fabulous and the waiter was able to walk us through the history of the old convent which now houses a beautiful restaurant.
The food was exceptional and was beautifully served. Each course and the source of the ingredients was explained by our waiter. There were optional taster menus or a la carte. The wine list was extensive and on first glance it looks like it is very expensive but as you look through there are wines around 60/80 euros which are most pleasant. We thought the glasses of champagne were reasonable at €15.
It has been referred to as expensive but when you look at the setting, the food and the service it was value for money. It isn't a restaurant where you could dine very night but that is what makes it so special.
This was one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed il buco Sorrento also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to il buco Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing