We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing and friendly stay - Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Giovanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Giovanna
Ranked #64 of 126 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing and friendly stay - Highly recommended”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely location surrounded by lemon and olive trees and with a view of the sea, a little way out of town but they offer a free shuttle several times a day and you can walk it (if you're feeling fit, uphill is hard work!). Staff were always very friendly and helpful, helping us to arrange a day trip to Capri and also taking us to their restaurant and picking us up again after the meal (which was great). We got the Curreri Viaggi bus from Naples airport to Sorrento which was only 10 euros each and is well worth it for the fantastic views, then we got a taxi to Villa Giovanna which was 30 euros which we didn't mind too much as it made the whole thing much simpler, but if we'd of looked into properly before we got there we probably could have walked and got the free shuttle but never mind. All in all we had a great few days in Sorrento and would highly recommend Villa Giovanna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    61
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
85
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Villa is unique & individual. We stayed for 5 nights & had a lovely relaxing holiday. The room was comfortable with a lovely balcony with views down the mountain & across the sea to Capri.
We arrived in Sorrento via the hydrofoil from Naples which was a wonderful way to approach the beautiful coastline.(Taxi from the airport to the port 20 euros, ticket across the Bay of Naples to Sorrento 12 euros each, crossing takes 35 mins compared to 90 mins in bus or on train!)Unsure of directions to the Villa we got in a taxi. Knowing it wasn't far out of town we were shocked to be charged 30 euro's for a 5 min taxi ride!! Aparently taxis have to pay huge taxes. That was the first & last time we took a taxi - however we really didn't need one again. The Villa has a shuttle that drops off & picks up several times a day & the walk down the hill is pleasant & takes @ 15mins.Tip* check times of shuttle to villa before getting to Sorrento.Fabulous breakfast each day. Lovely helpful staff. Would stay again!

Room Tip: We booked a junior suite but were initially shown to quite a small ground floor room. When I pointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareSFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Villa Giovanna provides lovely accommodation at a very affordable price. The location is a bit out of town, but the walk's good (or you could always hire a scooter to get you up & down). The breakfast is extensive & the service is warm & welcoming.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberta1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This villa is in a lovely location for those wanting a get away from it all base. Set in lovely gardens, our room had a view to Capri to the left and Vesuvius to the right. The location means it is not suitable for those who don't enjoy a walk, although the free shuttle service is great and there is bus stop almost right outside the property. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast had a good selection. The walk down to Sorrento town takes around 15 mins on a well made track which was lit at night and we enjoyed the walk down every day - the walk back at night was not so welcome although it did walk off all that delicious food we consumed whilst there. This was our first time in Sorrento and therefore had no idea what to expect. I would have no hesitation to recommend this villa and would definitely use it again. Some people we talked to who were in hotels in the middle of Sorrento told us they did not have any views and quite a few complained of traffic noise - we had nothing to complain about. The property is perfect for touring from and whilst there visited Capri by ferry, Amalfi by local bus, Pompeii, Vesuvius and Herculaneum by train - all very reasonable. You can even get a link to a high speed train to Rome if wanted. The staff at the hotel and all locals that we encountered were friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our Spring break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room onto the terrace and you also have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This villa was great for being close to everything with pleasant views. The room was pleasant if a little dated. The hosts were friendly and helpful. It is close to town though we thought the walk back was a bit rough, though that could have been the wine...it wasn't hard to find food or tourist stores. The neighbourhood was quite nice and it was fairly easy to get to, even with suitcases.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank narayansmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a small hotel set in a garden that has several appealing corners for relaxing. The free shuttle will get you into town. The room was a good size and had a pleasant view through the trees to the bay. We also found the service to be friendly, especially the drivers who went out of their way for us. The most pleasant surprise was the excellent breakfast buffet. Couldn't possibly ask for more.

Room Tip: The Cafe Latino on Corsa Italia in Sorrento has a new chef just arrived from Naples, where he had hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Miramare
Hotel Residence Miramare
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#88 of 100 in Sorrento
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Pane
Villa Pane
#45 of 126 in Sorrento
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa De Angelis
Villa De Angelis
#63 of 126 in Sorrento
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Elena
Casa Elena
#40 of 126 in Sorrento
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Carolina Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Giovanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giovanna

Property: Villa Giovanna
Address: Via Nastro Verde 23/C, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Giovanna 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Giovanna is immersed in tranquility,surrounded by lemons and ancient olive grove.All rooms are comfortably furnished..a/c,wc,sat tv,bar.A great sea wiew,pool and good food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Giovanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Giovanna Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing