We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Casale Nunziatina
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Absolute Delight!”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Casale Nunziatina is a delight. Situated on a hillside above Sorrento, it offers the visitor a peaceful retreat from the busy city center. The owners, Pasquale and Rosa, are lovely, kind, and generous people. The apartments are clean, comfortable and quiet, and the garden is a beautiful testament to the care and love held by the owners for what was their family home. The beds are very comfortable. The price is just right, especially for an extended stay. There will be nothing more memorable for us than the stars at night above Casale Nunziatina. All of the sights around the Bay of Naples are easily accessible. We are grateful to Pasquale and Rosa for creating a perfect “home away from home.”

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanMahnke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Kathryn and Allan , it has been really a privilege for Rosa and myself to meet and accommodate guests so kind, generous and very respectful of the environment as you are . We appreciated the particula gifts you did take to us from USA. We admired the thousands of pictures shot by Allan . He is a terrific photographier !!!. We are very glad you liked the apartment. Do not need to say that Casale Nunziatina is your second house and we would be very honoured to met you again .

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    29
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
97
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have given this review great consideration before posting and have reminded myself of the purpose of Trip Advisor, which is to highlight the pros and cons of the accommodation on offer to visitors. It must be objective and separate the hosts from the property. When booking, Pasquale replied immediately, confirmed the booking, and provided arrangements for our arrival. We were very impressed with the welcome he was extending and this impression was further cemented when we met him. He packed our suitcases into our car and drove to the rental car company with us following, then took us back to the property. Much has been said about the road from town to the property and I do not intend to say more, except that the word steep is missing from advertising material, particularly the Internet.
We stayed in the Giglio apartment with one bedroom and a delightful view of the garden. We had several problems and also some irritations which have affected the rating shown here. The drains in both the kitchen and shower were seriously blocked. When requested, Pasquale brought a plunger to attempt to clear the kitchen and admitted that they were blocked from before our stay. A plumber had been requested but had not arrived. Despite alleviating the immediate issue the kitchen drain remained an issue throughout our stay. My husband unblocked the shower with the plunger as Pasquale was not home and the water was pooling to ankle height. The water that gurgled back up was downright disgusting, and when we tried to tell Pasquale about it at a later time, he waved it away as Italian drains.
The toaster mentioned by other guests remained elusive to us also, despite us searching everywhere for it. The pots and pans were inadequate, consisting only of large pots and badly warped frypans. We ran out of both toilet paper and dishwashing liquid and had to request replacements of these. The issue mentioned by other guests about the lack of replacement of tea towels bothered us and we were forbidden to wash them. To us, toilet paper and tea towels are fundamental to hygiene.
If you are reliant on wifi when travelling as we are, the Internet connection is intermittent and very frustrating. One wifi box is outside and only works when the door is open and you sit at that end the room. As it was raining the entire time we were there we were unable to open the door thus had to open the door and hold the computer outside until signal came on which it didn't always do.
The shower had soap buildup around the edge giving it a brown colour which left us with the feeling that it was unclean. Similarly, cobwebs in the shower and above the bed were not wonderful.
Lastly, the apartment had many printed and handwritten signs with instructions and requests, followed by multiple exclamation marks, such as remembering to keep our apartment clean. Never before in our travels have we been made to feel so irresponsible, even down to listing the price of every item in apartment including the bed and wardrobe in the event of damage.
Were we to visit Sorrento again, we would select more conveniently located accommodation with less inherent complications.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Answer from Pasquale - Owner of Casale Nunziatina.



1) DRAINS: It is , absolutely , not true that the drains were blocked on arrival of the guests and I neved told them that. As in the past some guests were used to dump the food leftovers into the kitchen sink provoking the blockage of the draining system I am used to recommend to the arriving guests (and also put a notice on the nearby wall ) to recommend not dumping any food into the sink. It was exactly what these guests did !! After three days ( not the first day ) the guests come to tell me that the draining system was not properly working . The guest, without being asked, stated that they didn’t dump any food. Immediately I went there and using my plumbers tools I did manage to fix the problem. Having a conversation ,with the guests, I said that I would call the plumber for a through inspection of the draining system , but this was not an immediate action as the problem was just fixed and , moreover , it was Friday afternoon and during the weekend it is not easy to find a plumber available. But , like I said it was not necessary at once. These guests left after a couple of days . The plumber arrived on Monday and confirmed that the problem occurred because some food leftovers were drained so provoking the blockage. It is highly unlike that the guest could clear the drainage by himself (as he said )without any plumber tool.

2) APARTMENTS : Our apartments , with furniture , utensils ,dishes ,cutlery etc etc have been inspected by the Local Health Office and proper certificates have been issued .Such License is appended on outside walls of the Residence , visible to all guests, as it is public. The apartment GIGLIO has been certified to safely accommodate 4 persons . There is a four meters kitchen area with utensils for six persons. Moreover all our guests are instructed to require any special cutlery or tool , if needed , and we always do our best to help them . These guests were only two, and considering there are utensils, dishes etc for six persons it seems quite unlikely that were not enough for only two guests . The apartment GIGLIO has been rated as Superior Suite . It is the most requested by the guests and it has been appreciated by all our guests as it is possible to detect by the reviews on Tripadvisor.

3) OTHERS : The Residence Casale Nunziatina is an Holiday House . According the Rules and Regulations for Holiday House the guests will rent the apartment complete with all the furniture , utensils , cutlery , equipment etc and they are requested to purchase ,on their own ,of anything extra they need including toilet paper and personal , kitchen or washing machine soap. On arrival they will find toilet paper and soap just for starting . The guests are informed about that at the time of the booking. Anyway these guests were provided of extra soap once they requested.

Many Holiday House Owners are used to ask for a deposit on Guest’s arrival to cover any damage to the apartment furniture, and equipment . Such deposit will be returned after a check before the guests leaving . At Casale Nunziatina we are not used to do so as it seems not courteous to the guests , but it is also right they should know the cost of the various equipment and utensils ,into the apartments, to prevent damaging anything.

4)WIFI : It is properly working in all the apartments !!!!.
It is also possible that sometimes the system ,or the server, is overload and the
signal is interrupted . But such interruption are not frequent and limited to few
minutes or one hour. All the Internet users are familiar with that and I do not see
any reason to complain. It is worth to remind that the WIFI system is offered free
of charge to our guests.

5) Our guests forgot to mention that they were fully assisted for the six days they spent with us. They arrived in Sorrento with a rented car which had to be returned to the Renting Company. I met them on arrival , I packed their luggage on my car , I did take them to return their car to the renting Company ; I offered them the option to stop at the Supermarket to buy the food for six days ( they declined ) and , eventually , I did take them to their apartment providing them with all the info about Sorrento. Just two hours !! On their leaving day I did transfer them and their luggage to Sorrento Train Station. Anything FREE OF CHARGE.

Our guests stated that, if, they will comeback in Sorrento they will not choose again Casale Nunziatina ? Well we will come to term with that !!

Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I was shocked when I first saw the residence because of its beautiful garden and Mediterranean-style building, regarding its price.My husband and I spent wonderful days there in late September for our honey moon, both of us really recommend it for holiday accommodtion. The room was clean and just like home, the decoration inside was very warm and cozy. You can also cook with the utensils in the kitchen, and have tea in the sunshine, while playing with the lovely cats. Only one thing should be noticed which is the location. The residence is on the hill. You have to go uphill for 10 mins to arrive there, which may not be suitable for elder people.

Room Tip: I forgot the name of my room, but it should be the second one after you get in the residence and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Hi Helena, I still remeber the hundreds pictures you shot in our garden with your wedding suits. I am very happy that your honeymoon spent with us went very well and we wish you all the best for your future life togheter .
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We had a wonderful time staying in casale nunziatina in the first few days of october.. due to the location,, I wouldn't recommend the residence to family with young kids or the elderly,, otherwise it is perfectly fine for people of average fit.. and because of the location, which is half way uphill,, it gives you a wonderful panaroma view of the gulf area if you go up to the second floor of the residence..
i traveled with a few friends, two of whom have recently got married.. and we took quite a few beautiful pictures for the newly-weds in the garden and on the terrace..
about the two apartements we stayed in (sorry i forgot their names),, they are spacious, clean and equipped with cooking utensils..
I would certainly stay there again if we go visit sorrento in the future..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hao w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Hi Claudia, thanks for your review . It is the second time you have been here and we are very happy about your coming back . Glad to hear you liked Casale Nunziatina. The apartment you forgot the name was the one named GARDENIA.
Ciao
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was our second time staying at Casale Nunziatina and we were welcomed back like old friends. We stayed in Edera apartment, as we did last year and all was as we remembered except for the addition of two extra kittens who were adorable and provided no end of entertainment.

As last year we found our apartment very clean and comfortable and we really appreciated staying slightly out of the centre for the wonderful peace and calm whilst being close enough to walk in for shopping, meals, transport within a few minutes.

Pasquale collected us from the bus station and took us back there at the end of our stay saving us transporting our luggage, but apart from that we really enjoyed our walks to and from the town centre.

We love the flexibility and freedom that staying at Casale Nunziatina brings - I have been visiting Sorrento for 15 years and until last year used the town centre hotels. But having stayed at Casale Nunziatina I can't imagine staying anywhere else now for our visits. It is not a hotel and so you should not expect hotel services, but the freedom to just relax around the apartment, sit on the terrace and read, prepare your own drinks / meals and to come and go just as you please is wonderful, and so much more relaxing than fitting in with hotel schedules, or package holidays.

Thank you Pasquale and Rosa for another wonderful stay and we hope to visit you again next year. We would not hesitate in recommended Casale Nunziatina to anyone who is looking for the freedom, flexibility and a real experience of Sorrento.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reggiefixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Hi Kathryn , it has been really a great pleasure for us to accommodate you for the second year in a row . This is great , as we are really pleased when our guests are coming back to stay with us . Thanks for the beautiful words to describe our facility . Of course we are looking foreward to meet you again.
Ciao Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from Casale Nunziatina where we had a lovely weeks stay in apartment Giglio .The apartment was very comfortable and was spotlessly clean. It has it's own section of garden which was tranquil and perfect for relaxation. Pasquale was the perfect host , on hand for information and assistance but not intrusive. The apartment is only a short walk from Sorrento centre albeit set up a hill which has quite a steep climb. It is worth the climb to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and a little further up from the apartment there are spectacular views of the bay from the old roman steps. We would definitely recommend Casale Nunziatina and hope to return ourselves someday.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 63Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Hi L.,
thanks for your kind review . We are very happy that you liked the apartment GIGLIO and its privacy ,and the outside garden, especially in the month of October as the weather is still fine and not so hot like in the summer. We wish you all the best looking foreward to meet again pleasant persons as you are.
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a family reunion at Casale Nunziatina with our son and his girlfriend and our second son for a week in Sept 2012. From the moment Pasquale picked us up from the train station we knew we had made a good choice of accomodation in Sorrento. A charming villa steeped in history and run by a helpful and friendly host - what more could you ask for ?
We stayed in Gardenia apartment and had everything we needed. The breakfasts outside in the garden were a joy, and the over-indulgences of the days out in the delightful surrounding villages and towns were offset by the walk from town up the cobblestone laneways - steep but not too far for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter201209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Hello' Peter,
it has been very nice for us to meet you and your family which was reunited at Casale Nunziatina for a pleasant holiday ., and you liked having meals in the garden as this is a MUST when guests are at Casale Nunziatina enjoying the peace and tranquillity of the garden.
You are living so far (Australia ) , therefore it will quite unlikely wewill meet again here , but......never know.
Ciao
Pasquale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
1.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casale Antonietta
Casale Antonietta
#34 of 138 in Sorrento
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Casale Nunziatina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Casale Nunziatina

Property: Residence Casale Nunziatina
Address: Via San Valerio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Residence Casale Nunziatina 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Casale Nunziatina has three double room apartments with kitchen and all the utensils for selfcatering including oven and frigo.Internal bathroom. The three apartments can accommodate 3,4,5 guests. We have also a (large ) single room apartment with cooking area and bathroom. It is ideal for two persons. All the apartments has air conditioning and heating. 300 square meters of gardean with tables, chairs , umbrellas where you can have the meals or just relaxing. The owners are living in the same building and always at hand to provide any kind of informations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Casale Nunziatina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing