We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Casale Nunziatina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Pasquale was a great host. He was even kind enough to pick us up at the train station when we got in. This was probably a good thing because I'm not sure if we would have been confident to find his place on our own. His home (and apartments) are about a 15 to 20 minute walk from the center of Sorrento. We loved having that walk every day; it was down narrow Roman roads lined with lemon trees. The apartment was very clean and nice with a comfortable bed and sizable bathroom. It had everything we needed for cooking at home; however, we did need to buy all groceries, spices, etc. The neighbor up the road even has eggs and home made wine for sale. The outside patio with porch swing was extremely serene and relaxing. We miss it. Pasquale speaks very good English and has wonderful stories about the house if you ask him (he was born in it).

Room Tip: There are 3 apartments, we stayed in the one bedroom named Giglio. It has a larger patio area and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLMRomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Hi Tanya, it has been a great privilege for Rosa and myself to accommodate two persons so kind and respectful of the house as you are. We do hope you had a safe return at home and you are always welcome at Casale Nunziatina......... to rise up the American Flag..

Ciao
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at Casale Nunziatina for 4 nights in the beginning of April 2013. The friendly owner Pasquale picked us up at the train stations 5 minutes after we arrived with the train from Naples. He was very nice to us and gave us lots of information about the region. The residence is located about 400 meters uphill from the town center and the train station. The road (thankfully lined with street lights) up to the residence is narrow and you have to look out for passing cars and scooters and sometimed flatten yourself against the house walls. It doesn't take long to walk, especially not downhill and it is flanked by orchards most of the way. When you do get up to the residence, it has a sturdy gate and feels very safe. Each apartment has its own entrance from the beautiful garden. There are garden tables and garden seats and lots and lots of lemons (which seems to be the emblem of Sorrento). We (a group of 5) had the Rosa and the Edere apartments. The Edere apartment had a bedroom for two and kitchen-living-sleeping area with one beed We did our own cooking in the Edere apartment. Kitchen well equipped and clean. Easy to buy supplies in the supermarket downhill. Sorrento was the perfect place for exploring the region (train connection to Naples, aiport bus to Naples airport, boats to Capri, frequent bus connections to Positano, Amalfi and the rest of the coast etc). We can recommend the gelato at Davide's near the elevator to the harbour. If you don't mind staying a little distance from the city center, Casale Nunziatina with its beautiful garden is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CissiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Hi Cecilia,
we are very glad that you appreciated your stay at Casale Nunziatina.
It has been a pleasure, for us , to accommodate a family so kind as you are . Unfortunately we didnt have so many opportunities for talking as you were enjoing excursions mostly of the time. It will be the next time.
All the best.
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We (a family of four) stayed a short week in Casale Nunziatina from 30/03 night to 5/4/2013. The
weather was so and so (milder than many places in Europe though) but the beauty of the area
was a fair compensation. The owner, Pasquale, is a very friendly and helpful person, he offered to do some shopping for us as we arrived late in the evening. He also arranged for transportation from the airport at a good price. He gave all necesssary information by mail and always replies very quickly.
The apartment is clean and comfortable. We didn't cook so can't say anything about that aspect.
The description corresponds to the reality.
In short Casale Nunziatina is to be recommended if you appreciate
calm, nice surroundigs, and are not afraid of walking a bit (it is a uphill walking distance of 800 m, as described, from the city center).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre_Bxl_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Dear Mr. Andre , it has been a great pleasure for us to accommodate you and your family , at Casale Nunziatina , for your holiday's week in Sorrento. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our place . Actually the weather was not very friendly in that week , but unfortunately this year we have had a lot of rain from January till beginning of April. Anyway you had the chance to visit many places in Sorrento surroundings. We wish you all the best and , of course , we do hope to see you again in the future.
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

You won't want to leave this charming restored farmhouse nestled in the citrus groves above Sorrento. Bur first you have to get here. Let's be honest about the walk: 400 meters (4 football fields) up a steep incline. The ancient Roman path was too narrow for our rental car, so Pasquale met us and gave us a ride. We appreciated the warm welcome on a cold February day, which also happened to be the city's annual holiday festival in honor of its patron saint. Throughout our visit we found the walk to be scenic and exhilarating, but it's not everyone's cup of tea.
Pasquale is a retired merchant marine sailor who bought the house where he was born. His grandfather and father rented the property as a farm, now he and his sister live in the top of the farmhouse and have renovated the lower floors into quiet, self-catering flats that open onto an orange and lemon garden. There's wifi and all the mod cons, and once you carry up the groceries from the supermercato at the bottom of the hill you won't want to leave your little paradise. Our Giglio flat had one bedroom, bath, kitchen, and a living area with TV and a second bed for our son.
Sorrento is an ideal base for exploring Pompei, Herculanum, and Naples via the Circumvesuvius train, which leaves from the station at the bottom of the hill. We used the car only to explore the Amalfi Coast. Most of the restaurants are closed during the winter, but we followed the locals to find the good ones that were open. We couldn't imagine a better spot for a holiday and would love to come back here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here, as long as you don't mind a bit of a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strangersblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Terry , it has been a real pleasure for Rosa and myself to meet you and your splendid family. Of course we are very happy to hear that you liked the apartment GIGLIO and you felt comfortable at Casale Nunziatina .Believe me this is the best satisfaction for us.
It is also fantastic that you liked Sorrento even if it was still quite cold in winter , and many touristic facilities were closed and you couldnt see Sorrento( and Casale Nunziatina ) in its real shining .
At least you had the opportunity to attend the annual Festa di S. Antonino in a splendid sunny day !
I hope you safely comeback in the States by now and your son to the University. Of course it would be a great privilege for us to accommodate you again in future.
All the best!
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Casale Nunziatina is a delight. Situated on a hillside above Sorrento, it offers the visitor a peaceful retreat from the busy city center. The owners, Pasquale and Rosa, are lovely, kind, and generous people. The apartments are clean, comfortable and quiet, and the garden is a beautiful testament to the care and love held by the owners for what was their family home. The beds are very comfortable. The price is just right, especially for an extended stay. There will be nothing more memorable for us than the stars at night above Casale Nunziatina. All of the sights around the Bay of Naples are easily accessible. We are grateful to Pasquale and Rosa for creating a perfect “home away from home.”

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanMahnke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear Kathryn and Allan , it has been really a privilege for Rosa and myself to meet and accommodate guests so kind, generous and very respectful of the environment as you are . We appreciated the particula gifts you did take to us from USA. We admired the thousands of pictures shot by Allan . He is a terrific photographier !!!. We are very glad you liked the apartment. Do not need to say that Casale Nunziatina is your second house and we would be very honoured to met you again .

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have given this review great consideration before posting and have reminded myself of the purpose of Trip Advisor, which is to highlight the pros and cons of the accommodation on offer to visitors. It must be objective and separate the hosts from the property. When booking, Pasquale replied immediately, confirmed the booking, and provided arrangements for our arrival. We were very impressed with the welcome he was extending and this impression was further cemented when we met him. He packed our suitcases into our car and drove to the rental car company with us following, then took us back to the property. Much has been said about the road from town to the property and I do not intend to say more, except that the word steep is missing from advertising material, particularly the Internet.
We stayed in the Giglio apartment with one bedroom and a delightful view of the garden. We had several problems and also some irritations which have affected the rating shown here. The drains in both the kitchen and shower were seriously blocked. When requested, Pasquale brought a plunger to attempt to clear the kitchen and admitted that they were blocked from before our stay. A plumber had been requested but had not arrived. Despite alleviating the immediate issue the kitchen drain remained an issue throughout our stay. My husband unblocked the shower with the plunger as Pasquale was not home and the water was pooling to ankle height. The water that gurgled back up was downright disgusting, and when we tried to tell Pasquale about it at a later time, he waved it away as Italian drains.
The toaster mentioned by other guests remained elusive to us also, despite us searching everywhere for it. The pots and pans were inadequate, consisting only of large pots and badly warped frypans. We ran out of both toilet paper and dishwashing liquid and had to request replacements of these. The issue mentioned by other guests about the lack of replacement of tea towels bothered us and we were forbidden to wash them. To us, toilet paper and tea towels are fundamental to hygiene.
If you are reliant on wifi when travelling as we are, the Internet connection is intermittent and very frustrating. One wifi box is outside and only works when the door is open and you sit at that end the room. As it was raining the entire time we were there we were unable to open the door thus had to open the door and hold the computer outside until signal came on which it didn't always do.
The shower had soap buildup around the edge giving it a brown colour which left us with the feeling that it was unclean. Similarly, cobwebs in the shower and above the bed were not wonderful.
Lastly, the apartment had many printed and handwritten signs with instructions and requests, followed by multiple exclamation marks, such as remembering to keep our apartment clean. Never before in our travels have we been made to feel so irresponsible, even down to listing the price of every item in apartment including the bed and wardrobe in the event of damage.
Were we to visit Sorrento again, we would select more conveniently located accommodation with less inherent complications.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Answer from Pasquale - Owner of Casale Nunziatina.



1) DRAINS: It is , absolutely , not true that the drains were blocked on arrival of the guests and I neved told them that. As in the past some guests were used to dump the food leftovers into the kitchen sink provoking the blockage of the draining system I am used to recommend to the arriving guests (and also put a notice on the nearby wall ) to recommend not dumping any food into the sink. It was exactly what these guests did !! After three days ( not the first day ) the guests come to tell me that the draining system was not properly working . The guest, without being asked, stated that they didn’t dump any food. Immediately I went there and using my plumbers tools I did manage to fix the problem. Having a conversation ,with the guests, I said that I would call the plumber for a through inspection of the draining system , but this was not an immediate action as the problem was just fixed and , moreover , it was Friday afternoon and during the weekend it is not easy to find a plumber available. But , like I said it was not necessary at once. These guests left after a couple of days . The plumber arrived on Monday and confirmed that the problem occurred because some food leftovers were drained so provoking the blockage. It is highly unlike that the guest could clear the drainage by himself (as he said )without any plumber tool.

2) APARTMENTS : Our apartments , with furniture , utensils ,dishes ,cutlery etc etc have been inspected by the Local Health Office and proper certificates have been issued .Such License is appended on outside walls of the Residence , visible to all guests, as it is public. The apartment GIGLIO has been certified to safely accommodate 4 persons . There is a four meters kitchen area with utensils for six persons. Moreover all our guests are instructed to require any special cutlery or tool , if needed , and we always do our best to help them . These guests were only two, and considering there are utensils, dishes etc for six persons it seems quite unlikely that were not enough for only two guests . The apartment GIGLIO has been rated as Superior Suite . It is the most requested by the guests and it has been appreciated by all our guests as it is possible to detect by the reviews on Tripadvisor.

3) OTHERS : The Residence Casale Nunziatina is an Holiday House . According the Rules and Regulations for Holiday House the guests will rent the apartment complete with all the furniture , utensils , cutlery , equipment etc and they are requested to purchase ,on their own ,of anything extra they need including toilet paper and personal , kitchen or washing machine soap. On arrival they will find toilet paper and soap just for starting . The guests are informed about that at the time of the booking. Anyway these guests were provided of extra soap once they requested.

Many Holiday House Owners are used to ask for a deposit on Guest’s arrival to cover any damage to the apartment furniture, and equipment . Such deposit will be returned after a check before the guests leaving . At Casale Nunziatina we are not used to do so as it seems not courteous to the guests , but it is also right they should know the cost of the various equipment and utensils ,into the apartments, to prevent damaging anything.

4)WIFI : It is properly working in all the apartments !!!!.
It is also possible that sometimes the system ,or the server, is overload and the
signal is interrupted . But such interruption are not frequent and limited to few
minutes or one hour. All the Internet users are familiar with that and I do not see
any reason to complain. It is worth to remind that the WIFI system is offered free
of charge to our guests.

5) Our guests forgot to mention that they were fully assisted for the six days they spent with us. They arrived in Sorrento with a rented car which had to be returned to the Renting Company. I met them on arrival , I packed their luggage on my car , I did take them to return their car to the renting Company ; I offered them the option to stop at the Supermarket to buy the food for six days ( they declined ) and , eventually , I did take them to their apartment providing them with all the info about Sorrento. Just two hours !! On their leaving day I did transfer them and their luggage to Sorrento Train Station. Anything FREE OF CHARGE.

Our guests stated that, if, they will comeback in Sorrento they will not choose again Casale Nunziatina ? Well we will come to term with that !!

Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I was shocked when I first saw the residence because of its beautiful garden and Mediterranean-style building, regarding its price.My husband and I spent wonderful days there in late September for our honey moon, both of us really recommend it for holiday accommodtion. The room was clean and just like home, the decoration inside was very warm and cozy. You can also cook with the utensils in the kitchen, and have tea in the sunshine, while playing with the lovely cats. Only one thing should be noticed which is the location. The residence is on the hill. You have to go uphill for 10 mins to arrive there, which may not be suitable for elder people.

Room Tip: I forgot the name of my room, but it should be the second one after you get in the residence and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Hi Helena, I still remeber the hundreds pictures you shot in our garden with your wedding suits. I am very happy that your honeymoon spent with us went very well and we wish you all the best for your future life togheter .
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Casale Nunziatina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Casale Nunziatina

Address: Via San Valerio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Residence Casale Nunziatina 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Casale Nunziatina has three double room apartments with kitchen and all the utensils for selfcatering including oven and frigo.Internal bathroom. The three apartments can accommodate 3,4,5 guests. We have also a (large ) single room apartment with cooking area and bathroom. It is ideal for two persons. All the apartments has air conditioning and heating. 300 square meters of gardean with tables, chairs , umbrellas where you can have the meals or just relaxing. The owners are living in the same building and always at hand to provide any kind of informations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Casale Nunziatina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing