We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hillside retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Casale Nunziatina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our prime reason for visiting Sorrento was for a family wedding, but we decided to extend our stay for a further week's holiday. We were very pleased that we chose Casale Nunziatina for our stay. Sorrento is busy and noisy but here, only a 15-minute walk from the town, we found an oasis of tranquility amid beautiful surroundings - close enough to return to 2 or 3 times a day whenever we felt the need for a break or to just to drop off shopping. Before arrival, we were a little anxious from previous comments that the route from the town might be somewhat taxing but there is only one steepish section of around 50 yards immediately before reaching Casale Nunziatina - the rest is easy going and interesting.

The apartment itself (we were in Edera) was comfortable and met all our needs, with an idyllic outside seating area surrounded by greenery. We have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We can only echo previous comments about Pasquale and Rosa - kind, friendly, accessible and entertaining. Our thanks to both of you for making our stay so pleasurable.

Sorrento is of course a tourist hot spot and the obligatory excursions to Capri, Amalfi and Pompeii can be somewhat arduous if one has to stand on the train or bus (on which there seems to be no limit to the number of standing passengers allowed), and then queue for the funicular up to Capri town or for entry to Pompeii. But having got the sightseeing out of the way, we found much pleasure in the unsung towns and villages closer to hand. We were particularly taken by the quiet alleyways of Vico Equense, and found that the downhill walk from Sant'Agata, perched high on the ridge overlooking Sorrento, to Casale Nunziatina, took little more than an hour, less than it would have taken by bus followed by the walk from Sorrento. We only wished that we had discovered the restaurant on the Via Baranica, at the top of the steps just beyond Casale Nunziatina, in time to eat there. Sorrento Old Town has hundreds of restaurants, but none with as good a view or atmosphere.

Ann & John

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Hi John and Ann,
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Casale Nunziatina and in Sorrento. For Rosa and myself has been a pleasure to have as our guest , persons so kind as you are.
We do hope , of course , to meet you again in future and we wish you all the best.
Rosa and Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

It was a pleasure to do business with Pasquale. He is very kind, helpful and accessible. That was one of the best parts of the stay. And as many have noted, he is more than willing to meet you at the train station to pick you up.

This was a very good value for the money. It was clean, in a tranquil setting, yet close to town. I loved the surroundings full of olive trees, lemon trees, mature grapevines that grow overhead, etc. The neighboring land didn't feel like a farm, so much as a wonderful forest that lends a sense of seclusion. Also, Pasquale seems to have a green thumb. He cares for a lovely garden and a number of potted plants, which adds to the wonderful ambiance.

I feel I must say that the walk to the apartment gains significant elevation, so would be tough for some people. However, I did not mind it. There is also a short stretch of the main road
(~50 mt), for which there is no sidewalk, and you must share the road with traffic. This can be disconcerting for some, but the locals all seem used to it. One morning, I observed a woman walking along this section with a stroller. With a positive attitude and a bit of vigilance, it will not be a problem for some travelers, but may not be acceptable for all. Over all, I enjoyed this place very much, and would consider it again if ever in the area. Thank you Pasquale

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi Mike,
thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you like the stay at our place and we are alwys doing our best to make the stay of our guests very comfortable. Of course we look foreward to accommodate you again in future.
All the best
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We recently returned from Casale Nunziatina where we enjoyed a wonderful week, The apartment we stayed in was comfortable, overlooking a wonderful, shady garden full of orange, lemon and olive trees. The walk along the cobbled lane down to and up from the town in mornings and evenings was a pleasure in itself, as was breakfast made from the newly laid eggs of a neighbour.
We would very much recommend a stay here, the owners could not be more helpful.
Shan, Paul, Jazz & Oscar

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Hello Shan, thanks for your kind review here.
Rosa and myself are very glad that you , and your family, appreciated your stay with us and liked Casale Nunziatina. Of course we do hope to accommodate you again in future and we commit ourselver to work at the utmost to make the stay of our guests always better and better.

All the best
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for nearly three weeks at Casale Nunziatina, with Pasquale and Rosa being our friendly hosts. Pasquale picked us up at the railway station and brought us after a short but steep ride to the residence. Casale Nunziatina is beautifully situated in the hills in the middle of lemon orchards, only one kilometer away from downtown Sorrento, but what a peace! Turning from the main road onto the antic road towards the residence the tranquillity is stunning.
Our five person appartment was very complete and for us of course very spacious. We even had a part of the beautiful garden for ourselves. The other appartments were never disturbing, as if everyone wanted to maintain the peace of the place.
The weekly market, a supermarket, shops and restaurants (we can recommend Da Filippo at Casarlano and Da Peppino at Sant'Agnello) are nearby at walking distance.
Sorrento itself is a touristic, busy town, but very nice to visit. And it is a good place from where to start visits to Naples, Pompei, Vesuvius, the islands in the Golf of Naples, the Amalfi coast and so on. There's just too much to see! And if you just want to relax there's always Marina Grande, a romantic family beach, our you just stay at Casale Nunziatina, a little paradise under the lemon trees.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi Marcel and Marie,
Rosa and myself are very pleased we had the opportunity to meet two persons very kind and very respectful of the house and environment as you are. We are very glad that you appreciated your stay with us at Casale Nunziatina and we do hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Rosa and Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I recently spent a wonderful few days staying at Casale Nunziantina with my 2 teenage boys. It was a perfect location for exploring Sorrento and the surrounding areas. Even though we were only there for 5 days we packed a lot in. We trekked up Vesuvius [tip for travellers: check the weather forecast 1st, there was a thunder storm when we got there and had to wait for the guides to say it was safe to venture up !!] we wandered around Herculaum, we joined a walking tour around Pompeii, We boarded the tour bus along the Amalfi coast, stunning scenery, and we had a lazy day on the free beach in Sorrento.So much to see and do. Pasquale and Rosa are delightful hosts who cant do enough to help,, from collecting us from the coach on arrival to delivering us back to the coach on leaving that being at 6am !!! Pasquale acted as translator when we wanted to purchase some milk form the local farm shop... being typical English we wanted fresh milk for our tea!! Lovely farm shop highly recommended too !! as is Rosa,s freshly made Limoncello !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hello' Sian ,
thanks for your kind appreciation about Casale Nunziatina and Sorrento.
It has been a pleasure for us to accommodate your family and we do hope to see you again in future for a longer time as there are so many things to see.
Pls pass our regards the the boys and the best wish for the University attendance.

Ciao
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just returned from our latest visit to the beautiful apartments at Casale Nunziatina.
Pasquale and Rosa once again made our stay truly memorable and as we left last Thursday it was like leaving our second home.
The peace and tranquillity that these apartments offer cannot be overstated, tucked nicely away from the hussle and bussle of central Sorrento.
Casale Nunziatina is the perfect place to return to whether you have had a busy day sightseeing or have spent the day at the beach.
A truly wonderful place!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barafundler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Hi Liz and Steve ,
it has been a great pleasure for Rosa and myself accommodating you at Casale Nunziatina and we are very happy that you fully appreciated your stay in Sorrento and Casale Nunziatina into Giglio apartment.
We thank you very much for your kind review and looking forward for your next arrival .

Ciao
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We  have recently spent 8 enjoyable & relaxing days in Sorrento.  From our initial enquiry through to confirming the booking, Pasquale promptly responded every time & even provided additional information to help us plan our journey from Rome.

Ammenities are so accessible from the accommodation, the main Supermarket, the main train & bus stations also all close by. Sorrento central is approx 20 mins walk from accommodation.

Just note car access all the way to Casale is not possible. But this was not a problem as Pasquale is hands on and so helpful he met us at the bottom of the lane!

You can see why locals use Vespas/petite cars it was a fun experience going up the lane by car, hair raising but not a problem for locals! The apartments are surrounded by lemongroves which provided a peaceful retreat from the daily hustle & bustle of Sorrento.

We stayed at the end of May so there were lemons everywhere, just outside your front door, covering the hills around the lane back to the accommodation. Just such a rural, unique feel to the area. But yet again central to ammenities!

The bungalow style apartment was v clean and nicely decorated. Bathroom very clean and rooms v spacious!

This location-accommodation is perfect but kiddy buggies/strollers & not so good hips might want to avoid!!

Thanks to Pasquale & Rosa our stay was enjoyable & stressfree. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanch-Drog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. Rosa and myself are honoured to have meet you and looking foreward to meet you again.

Ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
1.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,789 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
789 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Casale Nunziatina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Casale Nunziatina

Address: Via San Valerio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range: £63 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Residence Casale Nunziatina 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Casale Nunziatina has three double room apartments with kitchen and all the utensils for selfcatering including oven and frigo.Internal bathroom. The three apartments can accommodate 3,4,5 guests. We have also a (large ) single room apartment with cooking area and bathroom. It is ideal for two persons. All the apartments has air conditioning and heating. 300 square meters of gardean with tables, chairs , umbrellas where you can have the meals or just relaxing. The owners are living in the same building and always at hand to provide any kind of informations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Casale Nunziatina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing