We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rita and Carol, Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Casale Nunziatina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from a week at Casale Nunziatina.
What a beautiful spot, Pasquale and Rosa were excellent hosts, we liked being away from the town centre, and enjoyed sitting in the garden under the lemon trees. We even had Peggy the cat with her two adorable kittens, Kevin and Rubin for company, talk about home from home.
We had a lovely night with fellow guests from Alaska. We bought wine, mozzarella and eggs from the family next door, fantastic quality and price.
Walking up the road was a great experience, Pasquale assured us we did not need to jump up on the wall, it is very narrow but everyone who passed either in cars or scooters were very experienced and careful, a neighbour even stopped and gave us a lift. At night it was well enough lit and although a lonely spot, we never felt any fear walking up or down.
We would definitely recommend staying here and would do so again ourselves. Made us feel more like locals rather than tourists. Thank you again to Pasquale and Rosa.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Rita and Carol,
it has been great to meet two ladies so kind ( and elegant !!!!) as you are . We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Casale Nunziatina , and Sorrento. Of course you are always welcome.
Rosa and Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Residence Casale Nunziatina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Pasquale's apartment was clean, tidy, and a peaceful respite from the crowded streets of Sorrento. Situated in the hills above the city, the apartment is only a 15-20 minute walk from the train station, and a 30 minute walk from the city square. Pasquale was extremely helpful during our stay; he met us at the train station and provided us with numerous maps and guidebooks. He also recommended that we visit his neighbor to sample her homemade mozzarella and white wine (Incredible!). We only wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you Pasquale.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wprch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you Tony and Judy for your appreciation, of our facility. It has been a pleasure to accommodate you and looking foreward to meet you when you will stay longer.

Ciao
Rosa and Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My partner and I just spent 10 days living at Casale Nunziatina in the Endera apartment. The apartment is fully equipped and surrounded by beautiful lush tropical gardens with orange,lemon and avocado trees. Our host, Pasquale met us at the train station and gave us very detailed information about the apartment and points of interest in Sorrento. A 10 minute walk down an ancient Roman road took us to the main Tasso piazza in the centre of Sorrento. After great meals and a bottle of wine or Limincello, it might take a bit longer to walk back up the road. We cooked gourmet meals at the apartment when we were not sightseeing. Very easy to visit other sites such as Capri, Almalfie, Pompeii. We certainly recommend Casale Nunziatina to anyone travelling to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ET2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for your review.
You are very nice people and Rosa and myself missed you the same day you left.
All the best.
Rosa and Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Myself and my partner have just returned from a week long stay in Sorrento at Casale Nunziatina and we will definitely be recommending it. Pasquale provided excellent information before our stay and on arrival. Having arrived in Italy and discovered our phones weren't working we got the bus to Sorrento and then had to work out how to contact Pasquale. After trying the pay phones which didn't seem to work a taxi driver helped us by calling Pasquale for us. Pasquale came and picked us up promptly and drove us up to the apartments. If you read the review previous to this one on here you may get a very negative view. The truth is...yes the apartment is up a a narrow road...but it is a fantastically traditional cobbled street and gives you beautiful views...yes you have to move out of the way of cars and scooters but they give you plenty of warning by beeping in advance so you can go to one of the pull in points to let them pass and yes the last bit of the walk is pretty steep....but it's not that far and its a good way to work off the pasta and ice cream you've eaten! Once you go through the gate of the apartments you are in the most relaxing place ever and you will forget the walk and the hustle and bustle of Sorrento centre. We rarely left the apartments before lunchtime because it was so relaxing and peaceful and we made the most of extended breakfasts of bread, cheese, ham etc bought at the supermarket at the bottom of the hill about 15-20min walk. Pasquale had upgraded us to a bigger apartment with no extra cost so we were in Giglio which is furthest from the road, surrounded by lemon trees, with its own little garden and swinging seat. All the apartments have their own private bit of the garden but Giglio has the biggest. Also making it feel like a home from home for us were the three cats; Peggy, Sparky and the boss cat ( aka Scarface!)along with two little kittens. As a couple who generally like to keep themselves to themselves this place was perfect. We had some lovely chats with Pasquale as he milled around sweeping leaves up or doing other maintenance but you felt like the place was yours. I also didn't understand the comments about the wifi in the previous review. It dropped out a couple of times while we were there (no more than it does at home!) but Pasquale had shown us when we arrived where to reboot it so it was never a problem. Overall I would say if you're looking for somewhere that's great value for money, secure, peaceful and friendly then this is the place. I wouldn't recommend it to your granny because of the walk but for anyone with a reasonable level of fitness I don't think you'd regret staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hello' Lorraine ,
thanks for your kind review . We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking foreward to accommodate you again.
Rosa and Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Casa La Nunziatina. We were in apartment GARDENIA.
Pasquale replied promptly to any e-mails or questions before we arrived. The apartment is situated in a rural area in the hills above Sorrento. Access to the property is via a very narrow track so Pasquale met us at a local supermarket & showed us where to park the car. We kept our fingers crossed and hoped we didn’t get a parking ticket, loose our wing mirrors or get bumps & scratches from other vehicles. (There was alternative pay per day parking which may have been safer). He then drove us in his car to a place near the apartments and we then had to drag our luggage up the last part of a steep hill.
Check-in was fine and Pasquale went through everything, giving us all the information we needed.
We paid well under 100 euros a night for the apartment. We feel the figure is about right and was good value for money. We did not expect much and so we were not disappointed. The cleanliness of the property on arrival was generally okay but there were several cobwebs around, hairs in the shower plughole and one of the surfaces hadn’t been dusted. The kitchen is not really designed for doing much cooking; there is no oven or microwave. A panini machine is being used as a toaster, which takes a long time for a slice of toast & only cooks one side. There is a big notice saying it is ONLY to be used for toast. How much would a little toaster cost? Also, on the hob there are 2 normal-sized rings plus a tiny one. The forth, larger one, is blocked off, probably to discourage any serious cooking. This was very annoying as when we book an apartment we are there to self-cater & not eat out every night.
There is a kind of TV (possibly a small computer monitor) but it only has a few Italian channels and very weak signal. It’s not worth having really.
The internet was okay in the kitchen area of the apartment but not at the rear. Generally the signal was okay but was intermittent.
Even though the apartment is in a rural area I think it is very hard to find any really peaceful areas in Italy. Everybody has dogs and the owners don’t care if they bark all night. Once one starts they all join in. There are also scooters rumbling around most of the time.
You must be prepared to walk up hills to stay here. We are reasonably fit but found the uphill walk a drag. After a long day at Pompeii, Herculaneum or on the Amalfi coast the walk from the station finished us off. The hill meant we did not want to do it twice in a day. For example we did not want to walk into Sorrento in the afternoon for a few hours then go back again in the evening. The ‘road’ up to the apartment is very narrow (even the Smart cars have no wing mirrors and are all dented and scratched) and lighting is poor at night. We felt the need to take a torch with us so that the speeding scooters and cars were able to see us clearly. Some places are too narrow for even a Smart car to pass a pedestrian. From the center of Sorrento back to the apartment it is approximately a 15 to 20 minute walk, mostly uphill. The last 5 minutes is steep.
I need to make clear about the internet and hill because if you ask Pasquale about these subjects before you arrive he will brush it off and say “it is not a hill and the wifi is fine”. Obviously he does not want to loose customers but my parents would not have been able to walk up the hills and would have been disappointed to be told the apartment was not on a hill. When you arrive Pasquale will tell you the internet is intermittent because they are fitting new fibre optic cables and the apartments have thick walls. He does not tell you this before arrival.
We liked Sorrento and used public transport to visit all the local sites. Travel is cheap but expect the trains to be crowded. Also on our visit we heard lots of people talking about pick pockets. Our rucksack was slashed on the train but nothing was taken. Please be careful in all crowded places, especially the train. Never carry anything you don’t need. NEVER drop your guard or get too confident.
We took the red sightseeing bus to the Amalfi coast. It cost more than the public bus but meant we had a comfortable seat and our driver respected his passengers on all the twists and turns.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday. We were here in May and already the roads were very busy and with a lot of traffic jams. There are an awful lot of scooters cutting up cars and overtaking on bends. I would not drive around most of Italy. Once you reach your destination it is advisable to park the car and take public transport. I don’t think I could enjoy Italy in July or August. It would be much too hot & busy.
Overall we enjoyed our time in Sorrento. The apartment is okay and away from the hustle & bustle of the town centre. If walking up hills, no TV and intermittent wifi does not bother you I am sure this is a good value option for exploring Sorrento and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garyt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Pasquale and Rosa made us feel so welcomed. Fresh oranges every morning for juice, a lift from the grocery store and a child friendly cot for our toddler. Was like staying at our grandparents. Great location for exploring the Amalfi coast and surrounding areas. Lovely garden.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi0na2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi Fiona,
thanks for your review.
Rosa and myself are very happy that you liked your stay with us.
A big kiss to the big boy.
Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I, along with our two children (13 & 11), stayed at Casale Nunziatina for 4 days in mid-March. Pasquale, the owner, was a wonderful host. He was very responsive when I was first inquiring about the accommodations as well as during our entire stay. Pasquale provided us with directions and the necessary information for parking our rental car and greeted us upon our arrival. We stayed in the Camelia apartment, which was very clean, spacious, and worked well for our family. We enjoyed the garden and walking outside seeing the lemon and orange trees each day. Pasquale took the time to share the history of Casale Nunziatina with us and provided information on Sorrento, the sites we planned to visit, and Amalfi coastal towns, which was helpful. Although not a long walk from the city center, the location of Casale Nunziatina is very quiet and felt as if it was a world away. We will forever hold in our memories the old Roman roads and our walks! We really hope to be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKLMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captain49, Owner at Residence Casale Nunziatina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Kristen.,

Rosa and myself are very glad that you liked your stay at Casale Nunziatina , and it has been a privilege ,for us , meeting guests so kind as you are.
Looking foreward to meet you again .

All the best

Rosa and Pasquale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
1.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,367 reviews
1.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Casale Nunziatina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Casale Nunziatina

Address: Via San Valerio 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range: £62 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Residence Casale Nunziatina 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Casale Nunziatina has three double room apartments with kitchen and all the utensils for selfcatering including oven and frigo.Internal bathroom. The three apartments can accommodate 3,4,5 guests. We have also a (large ) single room apartment with cooking area and bathroom. It is ideal for two persons. All the apartments has air conditioning and heating. 300 square meters of gardean with tables, chairs , umbrellas where you can have the meals or just relaxing. The owners are living in the same building and always at hand to provide any kind of informations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Casale Nunziatina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing