We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location would be perfect if not for the sewage plant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
International Camping Nube d'Argento
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location would be perfect if not for the sewage plant”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Good
The view, amazing
The quality of the on-site restaurant, this is a campsite remember, great steak, fish, good wine, reasonably priced. Helpful, kind staff
The staff, in general good
The pool - clean if small, closes at 6

The bad
Next to a sewage works
Site is ant infested
Showers, cold ones and luxury ones (with warm water) usually quite dirty and mosquito infested
Clothes washing facilities, sinks with built in washboards - this is 2013, right?
Advice - no need to book, 'it's our low season'? August? 4 pitches available when we arrived, out of about 40, so 90% full, poor pitches and even tho 'the electricity hook up is everywhere' you will need a cable truck - only one of the pitches was close enough for our lead, when laid across a roadway!

Did we mention the ants? They were kind enough to sell us ant powder at €4 a pop tho!
Did we mention the constant raw sewage smell?
Oh, and mosquito infested

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    74
    44
    14
    6
See reviews for
69
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I can't believe how many good reviews of this place there are. This was hands down the worst campsite experience we had in all of Italy.

Maybe this is good if you are just pitching a tent, but the "bungalow" we rented was a tiny room with no screens and they didn't even provide us with a fan (the one included was broken) until we made a big stink about it.

The shower was so tight it was nearly impossible to get the soap if you dropped it. The hot water didn't work the entire time we were there. The only lights in the place were red lights (?) and because there were no screens we literally got eaten alive by bugs every night just so we could have a little breeze.


The staff, with the exception of one guy at reception were all incredibly, incredibly rude. Jaw droppingly rude, I've gotten used to rude Italians at this point in my trip, but they really stood out this trip as the rudest staff I've encountered. Everyone else in Sorrento was really nice which made it stand out even more.

Our waitress one night literally yelled at us! I know service in Europe isn't like it is in America, but it was really shocking. I mistakenly ordered a pizza with no cheese and when we asked for some parmesan she didn't want to bring us any and told us parmesan doesn't go on pizza. Ok. Ok. Fair enough, but then when she brought it, she yelled at us and told us we were at a table for 4, but we were only 3? And ignored us for the rest of the night, telling us to wait whenever we tried to flag her down. It was an awful experience.

The whole place kind of smells like poop and when we were walking down to the beach, we saw why, there is some sort of sewage treatment plant right downhill from it.

The pool was tiny and closed at 6 pm and required a swim cap which they charged 5 euros for.

The "private beach access" that was in a camping brochure we had was actually about 100 stairs down to a street that (eventually) lead down to the super charming Grande Marina. The beach was tiny and nestled in a fishing village with tons of speed boats around, not a nice beach to swim in. However, Grande Marina has a beautiful fisher village charm. Thank god for that place, the only good thing about our stay at this campsite.

I will say, the view is great, I mean, how could it not be overlooking the Mediterranean and Mt. Vesuvius?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at this campsite in our campervan at the end of may. We were a little concerned that we couldn't pre-book a pitch because there aren't very many options of campsites in Sorrento (this plus one other I believe) but there was plenty of space and we had a nice shaded spot, not really with a sea view but the views from around the pool area and terrace made up for that. Toilet facilities are fine, slightly dated to be fair but clean enough and plenty of hot water and decent showers. The location is simply perfect, there are two routes into the centre of town, the main route using the main road and another which we stumbled across by accident but we're glad we found it as its much prettier and quicker. Head from the campsite down the steps towards the "beach" and you end up at a beautiful little quaint harbor with a handful of restaurants serving great fresh fish then walk right along the harbor and up the steps, keep walking along the pretty cobbled streets and you will reach the centre of Sorrento. The driveway access to the site is steep and narrow, for us it wasn't a problem because our van is only a transit but I would imagine it could be tricky if you have a large campervan. Plus the upside of this site is that we left the van there and either walked or used public transport to get around. The train for example to get to Pompeii takes 40 mins and is only 2.20euros, just slightly cheaper than the uk.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jidsprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I read the reviews before we stayed here and it was well worth the visit.
It is in a great location overlooking the bay of Naples and ten minute walk into the centre of Sorrento which is beautiful .
It has a great and affordable onsite restaurant and beautiful swimming pool. We did not venture into the pool as we are from Australia and it was not hot enough in May for a swim.
We ate at the restaurant a couple of times and the food was good and reasonably priced.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Showers were hot and clean. The site was very quiet and has an amazing view.

Room Tip: The campsite is awesome and shady for vans and tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this campground for two nights in a tent. The personel was very friendly and we had a place under olive trees with an amazing lookout over the sea.
Sorrento city center can be reached within around 5-10 min of walking from the campground. The 'Circumvesuviana' railroad to Pompeji was within walking distance as well.

Nice pool!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_la_reina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We had great 2-week-stay here and didn't want to leave! We stayed in a woorden bungalow very near the restaurant and pool. Our bungalow was well equipped with mosquito screens, good beds with clean linnen and (many!) towels every 4 days. Only disadvantage was the temperature at night. There was a ventilator but in July we really would have loved an airco. But, we knew this wen we booked off course. The personnel was extremely helpfull, friendly and flexible. Not only at the reception and in the restaurant, but also the (Roumenian) housekeeping and facilities staff were very friendly. We would like to thank Pietro, Monica and the others for all their advice on where to go, eat and find the best icecream and 'delicio di limone'. We had a great holiday!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonas en Marlee... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights in a caravan close to the swimming poll and bar. It was very reasonable. Bar and pool were clean and good prices. People were friendly and helpful. Close to town. Bring mossey spray. We got lots of bites.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.8 mi away
Villaggio Verde
Villaggio Verde
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
Villaggio Turistico Baia Serena
#17 of 20 in Vico Equense
158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villaggio Resort Nettuno
Villaggio Resort Nettuno
#18 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
611 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bleu Village
Bleu Village
#6 of 7 in Meta
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Camping Nube d'Argento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Camping Nube d'Argento

Property: International Camping Nube d'Argento
Address: Via Capo 21, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 1 km from the main square of Sorrento, International camping nube d'argento in its natural setting overlooks the Gulf of Naples, with Vesuvius in the background.Swimming pool, bar, restaurant and pizzeria with the traditional oven Rent of wooden bungalows and pitch for tents ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your International Camping Nube d'Argento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Camping Nube d`Argento Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing