We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel spoilt by breakfast”
Review of Magi House Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magi House Relais
Ranked #4 of 138 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hotel spoilt by breakfast”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Magi House is fantastic hotel .We stayed in the dominova room which was spacious and modern with a beautiful bathroom, and very clean.The staff were helpful, cheerfull and attentive. Its right in the heart of Sorrento, so no long journeys late at night back to some distant hotel.. unfortunatley the breakfast was outsourced to a sports bar across the road (which according to hotel staff they had only been using for one month) and was very basic and became monotonous, particulary after having the same continental breakfast every day for a week with no variation. However we spoke to the hotel staff and they assurred us they would look into this. Despite this we enjoyed out stay and would recomend the acomodation at Magi House.
Tony Hampson, Scotland

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lairoflorgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Thank you very much for choosing Magi House we truly appreciated your review and your suggestion about breakfast and as we said when you told it to us on departure,we will improve it. We try to do our best to make the guest enjoy the stay here at the Magi House and we are very pleasant to know, as in your case, that this is appreciated.

We hope to meet you soon in the future

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    76
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
146
530
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Our friends and us booked 2 apartments at Magi House for a week during our trip through the Amalfi Coast. Both were extremely well designed and thought out, with comfortable beds, large modern bathrooms, and well equipped kitchens. We stayed in Mediterranea, the newest apartment, with an acrylic floor in the bedroom that overlooked the living area. Our friends had the Vesuvio, overlooking the street. Both were quiet and cool. We loved the sunny rooftop deck, and found it a welcome retreat after a day of sightseeing. The location couldn't be better- lots of restaurants and shops within steps of the front door. The staff at the front desk were always cheerful and ready to help with questions and advice.
Altogether a fabulous alternative to a hotel. They also have B&B rooms as well.

Room Tip: Worth the extra $ for an apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outoftowners_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
thank you so much for this wonderfull review we truly appreciated and most of all thanks for choosing Magi House in the historical center of Sorrento. We are always glad to know that our guests enjoy their stay here with us, please come back to meet us again soon we will be happy to spend some other days with you.

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My husband and I almost stayed at one of the hotels on Via Capo and once we got to Magi House, we were SO glad we didn't. We were able to walk everywhere comfortably. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was clean and modern. We will stay here again on a return trip to Sorrento.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshandLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
thanks for choosing Magi House in the historical center fo Sorrento, we truly appreciated your review here on trip advisor. It's true our position is strategical adn allows to reach every place easly, this help us a lot, we try to do our best to make our guest stay even more confortable and it's always pleasant to know that our work is appreciated, We hope to see you again as soon as possible

Magi House Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Magi House is in the heart of the old city.

Rooms are very clean and done to a high spec.

Magi House's staff are friendly and were very helpful to accommodate our requests with moving to the penthouse on the last day of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Thanks for choosing Magi House in the historical center of Sorrento, we really appreciated your review here on trip advisor. It's a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Magi House is a cross between a boutique hotel and an aparthotel. Its situated on a pedestrianised street in the heart of Sorrento. On the map it looks like its a block away from the sea-it is, but the sea is beyond a large cliff so is a ten minute walk away.

The downstairs of the building is shared with a beauty salon and when we arrived the reception desk wasn't manned, meaning we had a wait of around 10 mins till someone was alerted to our presence. All the rooms have different names and themes-ours was called Syrene and was well decorated in contemporary designs. It was quite a small room but adequate.

The hotel had a nice roof terrace with views out to sea which was nice. Breakfast is provided at a restaurant just up the road but we didnt have this as left early the next morning. The hotel is situated yards from a number of bars and restaurants and could be noisy, particularly for people who want to go to bed before midnight. Closing the windows would exclude most of the noise though and the room does have A/C so this would be an option.

Upon leaving, again the reception wasn't manned so we had to summon someone to leave the key with. Perhaps the owners could provide a locked box for this purpose?

In summary, the hotel is clean, modern and centrally located. For Sorrento we found it was quite well priced though in the scheme of things that doesnt make it cheap!

Room Tip: or
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Firstly we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Magi House and we truly hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Italy. Our most important priority is our guests satisfaction during their stay.
To answer your specific quiry, yes we do offer double glazed sound proof wondows in order to block out any kind of noise, if there is any, as Magi House is wonderfully situated in the historical center heart of Sorrento,
As a B&B Magi House offers above standard services, such as a manned reception and 24 hour 7 day a week oncall button to answer any of our guests queries.
in ordere to expedite the check out process we offer our guests the opportunity to check-out the day prior so all the customer has to do , the following morning, is leave the keys inside the room and simply exit Magi House.
At Magi House we are continuously looking to offer our guests an excellent stay, we appreciate and take on board all our guests comments as a way to improve all the time. We hope to see you next time and welcome you maybe not just only for a day, but for a week

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We spent 3 nights in the Magi House in the Vesuvio suite. Mariano, the owner, was the most gracious host. The apartments were immaculately clean and very luxurious and the Vesuvio suite fit 4 people comfortably. We will definitely be back and will look no further than the Magi House for our next trip to Sorrento!
Thanks Mariano

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dglov1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Thank you very much for choosing Magi House in the historical center of Sorrento and for writing this excellent review, we really appreciated. It's always a pleasure for us to know that our guests enjoy their stay with us. We hope to meet you again soon!!

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Magi House in Sorrento is affordable, clean, modern and ideally located just off Tasso Square. We rented the Mediteranea apartment for 4 nights. There were only 2 of us, but having the kitchen and additional space was great! And at the price, is was a real bargain!The best gelato in Sorrento is right across the street! It was an easy walk to the bus station and the harbor, as well as the square. It is surrounded by shopping of all kinds, including fresh produce, meats, cheeses, olives and wine. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Ilaria at the desk was extremely helpful whenever we had a question. This is a great value and really added to our experience in Italy. Don't hesitate, book now!

Room Tip: Having a kitchenette was the wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Thanks you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing Magi House in the historical center of Sorrento. It's true our position it's really strategical and it allows to reach everything you need easly, we try to do our best also suggesting the best place according to us and we are glad to know that our guests appreciate that. we hope to see you again in the future

Magi House Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magi House Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magi House Relais

Property: Magi House Relais
Address: Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani 56, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magi House Relais is located in the historical centre of Sorrento, in Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani, in one of the most characteristic "alleys" of Sorrento. A strategic position: you need neither a car nor public transportation. Walking from our relais you can go everywhere in Sorrento. The wonderful cloister of San Francesco and the Villa Comunale overlooking the sea are also located 50 meters from the entrance of the relais. Also, thanks to the new lift located in the Villa, you are only 50 meters away from the beach/port. Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento, is located 100 meters away from Magi House. All of our rooms, aparments and suites are new and equipped with all the comforts that guests need for an enjoyable stay. The furnitures are extremely modern especially in our gem, the Nettuno suite, which has a private outdoor Jacuzzi on the terrace, the ideal place to spend relaxing moments with your partner or the family. If you wish to organize excursions around Sorrento, avoiding the stress of the car, the location of our relais is also strategic: Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples can be reached by train using the Circumvesuviana line, while Positano and the Amalfi Coast can be reached by bus, leaving from the bus station located only 400 meters away. You can reach Capri and Ischia by ferry and hydrofoil that depart from the Marina Piccola, a few minutes walking distance by public elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magi House Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magi House Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing