We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment is wonderful!”
Review of Magi House Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magi House Relais
Ranked #5 of 139 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Apartment is wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Great stay at the Magi House apartment. Super modern room, fantastic location, good restaurant reviews. Go to the Buffalito Inn. Best restaurant in Sorrento. Highly reccomend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_clevenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
thanks for choosing Magi House in the historical center of Sorrento, we truly appreciated your review and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to meet you again as soon as possible

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    75
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
148
530
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Location was absolutely fabulous. Away from the main piazza (5mins walk) but in the heart of where you want to be in Sorrento. Surrounded by cobbled streets full of shops and restaurants at your doorstep. The owners were so very helpful and courteous from beginning to end.

From the outside, Magi house is somewhat unassuming but inside is totally different. Rooms have been renovated to a very high standard indeed. They are very clean and contemporary, but also very small which is fairly typical of most hotel rooms in Italy. There is even bottles of wine in the rooms selected by the owners from a favourite vineyard, and very reasonably priced (and certainly very quaffable).

Unfortunately breakfast would probably not live up to your expectations. Essentially a cafe around the corner from the hotel with a voucher entitling you to a drink and a muffin of your choice.

All in all however, the bed and breakfast is better than anthing I have stayed for what it offers. Obviously it lacks the amenities you would expect from a hotel (communal areas, a bar etc.) but for what you pay this, on balance, is still a better deal than opting for an overpriced hotel.

If I return to Sorrento, (which I plan to as it rained non stop while I was there) I would certainly book Magi House again. To be honest, the small breakfast is a good excuse to eat more in Sorrento!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbunny009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
For us it's a true pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the Magi house in the historical center of Sorrento, we would like to thank you for the excellent comment here on trip advisor, for us it's really important that everything is perfect and we are always glad to know that our guest appreciate this, and also that you liked our wine!!!!
Concerning breakfast we want to thank you for the suggestion and also inform you that we already changed it, so next time you'll come to meet us again everything will be better!!!
We really hope to meet you soon again

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Everything was perfect at the Magi House. From our check-in to check-out we had incredible service. The rooms were spotless, and very modern, which was a nice change from some of the other places I have stayed in Italy. The location is great, Sorrento is small enough that you can easily walk everywhere (even down to the ferry to get to Capri is only about 10 min).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT29Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
thanks you so much for choosing Magi House in the historical center of Sorrento and most of all for your excellent review here on trip advisor. It's always a pleasure for us to knoe that our guest enjoy their stay with us. It's true our is a very strategical position, we are close to everything.

We hope to meet you again soon

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Magi House is fantastic hotel .We stayed in the dominova room which was spacious and modern with a beautiful bathroom, and very clean.The staff were helpful, cheerfull and attentive. Its right in the heart of Sorrento, so no long journeys late at night back to some distant hotel.. unfortunatley the breakfast was outsourced to a sports bar across the road (which according to hotel staff they had only been using for one month) and was very basic and became monotonous, particulary after having the same continental breakfast every day for a week with no variation. However we spoke to the hotel staff and they assurred us they would look into this. Despite this we enjoyed out stay and would recomend the acomodation at Magi House.
Tony Hampson, Scotland

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lairoflorgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Thank you very much for choosing Magi House we truly appreciated your review and your suggestion about breakfast and as we said when you told it to us on departure,we will improve it. We try to do our best to make the guest enjoy the stay here at the Magi House and we are very pleasant to know, as in your case, that this is appreciated.

We hope to meet you soon in the future

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Our friends and us booked 2 apartments at Magi House for a week during our trip through the Amalfi Coast. Both were extremely well designed and thought out, with comfortable beds, large modern bathrooms, and well equipped kitchens. We stayed in Mediterranea, the newest apartment, with an acrylic floor in the bedroom that overlooked the living area. Our friends had the Vesuvio, overlooking the street. Both were quiet and cool. We loved the sunny rooftop deck, and found it a welcome retreat after a day of sightseeing. The location couldn't be better- lots of restaurants and shops within steps of the front door. The staff at the front desk were always cheerful and ready to help with questions and advice.
Altogether a fabulous alternative to a hotel. They also have B&B rooms as well.

Room Tip: Worth the extra $ for an apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outoftowners_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
thank you so much for this wonderfull review we truly appreciated and most of all thanks for choosing Magi House in the historical center of Sorrento. We are always glad to know that our guests enjoy their stay here with us, please come back to meet us again soon we will be happy to spend some other days with you.

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My husband and I almost stayed at one of the hotels on Via Capo and once we got to Magi House, we were SO glad we didn't. We were able to walk everywhere comfortably. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was clean and modern. We will stay here again on a return trip to Sorrento.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshandLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
thanks for choosing Magi House in the historical center fo Sorrento, we truly appreciated your review here on trip advisor. It's true our position is strategical adn allows to reach every place easly, this help us a lot, we try to do our best to make our guest stay even more confortable and it's always pleasant to know that our work is appreciated, We hope to see you again as soon as possible

Magi House Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Magi House is in the heart of the old city.

Rooms are very clean and done to a high spec.

Magi House's staff are friendly and were very helpful to accommodate our requests with moving to the penthouse on the last day of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, General Manager at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Thanks for choosing Magi House in the historical center of Sorrento, we really appreciated your review here on trip advisor. It's a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magi House Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magi House Relais

Property: Magi House Relais
Address: Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani 56, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magi House Relais is located in the historical centre of Sorrento, in Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani, in one of the most characteristic "alleys" of Sorrento. A strategic position: you need neither a car nor public transportation. Walking from our relais you can go everywhere in Sorrento. The wonderful cloister of San Francesco and the Villa Comunale overlooking the sea are also located 50 meters from the entrance of the relais. Also, thanks to the new lift located in the Villa, you are only 50 meters away from the beach/port. Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento, is located 100 meters away from Magi House. All of our rooms, aparments and suites are new and equipped with all the comforts that guests need for an enjoyable stay. The furnitures are extremely modern especially in our gem, the Nettuno suite, which has a private outdoor Jacuzzi on the terrace, the ideal place to spend relaxing moments with your partner or the family. If you wish to organize excursions around Sorrento, avoiding the stress of the car, the location of our relais is also strategic: Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples can be reached by train using the Circumvesuviana line, while Positano and the Amalfi Coast can be reached by bus, leaving from the bus station located only 400 meters away. You can reach Capri and Ischia by ferry and hydrofoil that depart from the Marina Piccola, a few minutes walking distance by public elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Magi House Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magi House Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing