We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB APARTMENTS, EXCELLENT SERVICE, GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Magi House Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magi House Relais
Ranked #5 of 139 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SUPERB APARTMENTS, EXCELLENT SERVICE, GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed again at Magi House in May (this time with our adult children). We wanted to treat our son and daughter to a very special stay in the heart of Sorrento. Having stayed at Magi House a few times before, we knew it would be ideal and it did not disappoint. Mariano and his team provide the best service I have experienced anywhere - and I have travelled widely. As for breakfast on the rooftop terrace: it is better than tea at the Ritz Hotel in London !

Seriously, this is a place to experience a little luxury with wonderful and friendly service. Treat yourself - I could not recommend Magi House more. We certainly hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Any room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing twice Magi House. We are happy, your stay by us has been great! It is a satisfaction for us to know that also the second time our services were up to your expectations. Hoping to welcome you another time, our best regards Magi House Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    75
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
148
530
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our stay at Magi House met all our expectations, which were high in view of the many positive comments on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed two, two day stays with a trip to Capri in between. The rooms are very well designed and well appointed (Dominova felt more spacious than Penthouse but Penthouse has a wonderful private balcony). Breakfast on the roof deck was delightful and ample. The staff are beyond courteous and helpful and quite willing to go the extra step to make your stay more pleasant (for example, holding our baggage while we overnighted in Capri, providing directions, etc.). Perhaps the biggest unpromoted advantage of Magi House is its location in the old city, slightly away from the busiest streets but close to everything including many restaurants of all standards. If you are staying in Sorrento for several days you'll quickly come to realize that being in the city on a walking street is a huge plus. Other hotels my be grander with stunning views but nothing can beat the convenience of Magi House's location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusRobinWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Magi House and appreciating our work and dedication to our guests. We are you give us this beautiful review andwe are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. As you said we are close to everything and we always suggest the most beautiful and interesting excursions to do in our beautiful Sorrento Peninsula and for us it's important that you found our work helpfull. We hope to welcome you here again as soon as possible.Magi House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in this fantastic B&B for 4 nights. It is in a great location, very near to a number of very good restaurants and bars and only a few minutes from the beach.

The rooms are finished to a very modern and high standard and the staff, especially the owner made us feel very welcome, ensuring that we were enjoying our stay. The breakfasts were excellent with everything you would expect available for a continental breakfast and more including homemade cakes and fresh orange juice.

We couldn't have asked for better accomodation and service! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest! Thank you so much for your review.The description you give of the Magi House reflects the reality: near the beach and near the restaurants.
The harbour is easy to reach and the station is only 10 min away.
For us, the most important thing is to take care of our guests.
So, we choose the best for them as the fresh products for the breakfast and the infos to give!
Hoping to welcome you in your next holiday in Italy, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I will make this brief: you must stay at the Magi House.

1) The Inn is spotless - one of the cleanest and aesthetically pleasing inns/hotels I have had the opportunity to stay in.
2) The MOST HELPFUL STAFF I HAVE EVER MET. Not only is the inn owner Mariano absolutely gorgeous (honestly- an Italian God), the two receptionists and him were there for our every need. Excursions were planned, dinner reservations at Sorrento's best restaurants were made, and the two women receptionist who felt like family before I left even helped me pick out some outfits for excursions!
3) Complimentary antipasti!!!?? The Magi House has an intimate relationship with some of the best restaurants in downtown Sorrento. Seemingly in return for our stay at Magi, my husband and I recieved complimentary glasses of Preseco and even some antipasti and restaurants. What's better than that!?
4) Cheese-central, but in all honesty: in a foreign country, Magi becomes your home away from home. Not only because the apartment of your choice to stay in actually starts to feel like YOUR apartment, but because the staff starts to feel like family.
5) LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION - Capri, Pompeii, Naples, for all-intensive purposes are steps away from the inn as the bus/hydrofoil are. Travel made easy! And you get to see SO much!

Play it smart, go to Magi House!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for either the Penthouse or Meditarranean - they are incredibly well-priced for the best rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Guest!
Your words are a matter of pride for us. Day by day we do our best to make our guests feel at home and the perfect location of Magi house helps us.
We choose the best because our GUESTS are the best!
Hoping to welcome you once again, best regards

Magi House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for 4 nights. We are extremely seasoned travelers and with this comes being extremely picky. The devil is in the details as they say.
This place hits all the high notes for us. This is a bed and breakfast. No bells and whistles that you would get with hotels that have pools and spas, etc. But also you get a much more reasonable price by not having all those amenities. Magi House is located in the heart of Sorrento. This privately owned hotel is run with a lot of heart. You can see that in the way the place is set up and the staff here are very helpful, kind and work from their hearts to create a great experience for their guests.
The owner, Mariano and his staff could not do enough for us! What ever we asked for they went out of their way to make sure we got what we wanted.
The rooms are VERY clean, Sound proof, the beds are extremely comfortable, the showers are great and most of all, the AC works PERFECT! You can set the temp where you want. So for those of you who do not want AC or not much, you can have that or if you are like me ( and the days we were there it was almost 100 degrees!) you can set it lower freeze yourself out if you like!!!! The rooms have safes and small refrigerators. The breakfast is served everyday on the top floor on a roof overlooking Old Sorrento. Just beautiful. At night you can go up there and sit out if you like. And they leave wine, after dinner drinks, water, ice, etc for those who may want to indulge. This is done on the honor bar system. I cannot say enough about this place. For the price you get all of your bang for the euros you spend here. I have lived in Italy for 20 years so know well many hotels. Take my word on this one folks. WELL worth it and more. There only have 5 rooms so book in advanced.
There is also access by elevator just a few steps from the hotel a beach with lidos. We used the beach called Marameo beach. We spent each day there, ate there, etc. It was wonderful!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornish, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

For starters, I am still looking for the sixth star because five just doesn't seem enough. While planning our honeymoon to Sorrento, I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews. We were really pleased to find that our expectations were actually exceeded. We arrived and Danilo greeted us with his welcoming smile. He escorted us to the Penthouse Suite and it was exactly as the pictures showed. The suite was immaculate and very modern. Also, It wasn't long to see that Danilo's sense of humor was going to make this an enjoyable stay. We were greeted by Mariano, the owner, the next morning. He was genuine in making sure that everything was perfect for us. Nothing fake about his making sure we enjoyed ourselves. One morning, we had a knock at the door and it was Mariano with some lemon cake that his mother made and he wanted us to try it. We felt more like family than guests. The location of Magi House is fantastic with everything just a short walk. Much to my wife's pleasure, Magi House is right in the middle of all the little shops and restaurants. Davide's across the street was a favorite of ours and the waitress, Julia, was so very nice. She greeted us with a wave and smile every time we passed by. the experience at Magi House was so much a pleasure that we inquired if we could see some of the other suites for when we return hopefully in a few years with our combined family of 5 children and their spouses. Of course, Mariano was more than willing to oblige. My wife has commented that usually you can find something that you don't like about places you stay but she said that she can't think of anything that she didn't like about Magi House. One afternoon, while eating again at Davide's, Mariano greeted us by name as he usually did, and sat with us for awhile and chatted. You could feel his commitment and how important it was to make sure that everyone had the most pleasurable experience. We were treated like old friends. So, when we go back to Sorrento, we have agreed that we will go back to Magi House to stay with two fantastic new friends. The Magi House is a beautiful building with beautiful rooms but it was Mariano and Danilo that really made it shine. Till we meet again friends, Lisa and Joe Esposito

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jespo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thanks for your review, it's a pleasure for us to know that you loved your stay with us and our suggestions, we give to our guest always the best advices trying to make their stay as enjoyable as possible. When you decide to come back in Sorrento, know that you will always find a home ready to accommodate you. We hope to see you again soon.

Magi House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Magi House is, perhaps, a bit of a walk from the Circumvesuviana train station with luggage, but all flat or downhill, and is very easy from the port using the lift, which comes out very close to these apartments (arriving by boat, turn right off the quay and follow the bottom of the cliff for a couple of hundred metres; there is a sign but not that obvious from some directions). Once there you’re centrally placed for pretty much everything within easy walking distance, including lots of restaurants.
We arrived on a Sunday lunchtime but there was no-one on reception or answering the phone (they were having lunch just up the road and it was noisy there), so we had lunch just across the way (very reasonable). When the people (Danilo and the owner) came back shortly after, they both paid for our lunch and carried our cases up the stairs by way of apology. I think they would probably have carried the cases up anyway (Danilo certainly came to carry them down when we left), but the level of apology epitomised the care they took over their guests. We were not all that unhappy with this slight problem and very happy with their overall friendliness and helpfulness with all our questions about the area.
We were in the Penthouse (hence the stairs, though you’d better get used to hills around here unless you’re not going beyond the centre of Sorrento) which is a well fitted, small apartment with a good sized terrace that was well sheltered for sitting out (comfy chair to lounge on; small table to eat at). The terrace/room faces into the buildings, so the only views are of other buildings and the hills behind Sorrento, but that made it very quiet – I’m sure you could have easily slept with the doors open had it been warmer at nights (there is air conditioning and heating if needed). The bed was large and very comfortable, everything was spotless (towels and bedding changed very frequently) and the kitchen had everything you’d need unless you wanted to cook a major meal from scratch. We’d intended to save money by eating in sometimes but never did, except for breakfasts, and that was probably a mistake – they provide breakfast you can pre-order on the main sun terrace if the weather is good enough. We passed other guests having it later in the week and it looked exceptional for the price.
If there was one (minor) complaint, it was that the clothes hangers are fixed on the rail and so difficult to hang trousers on. Overall, though, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thanks you so much for the excellent reviews, the most important thing for us is our guest satisfaction and it's always rewarding to know When our hospitality and our work are appreciated. As you said, Also our position in the historical center of Sorrento, help us a lot in offering to our guests a relaxing, unforgettable stay. We're glad that you are very welcome apartment "Penthouse" surely you could enjoy the sunny private terrace that all our guests love. We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible.
Magi House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magi House Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magi House Relais

Property: Magi House Relais
Address: Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani 56, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magi House Relais is located in the historical centre of Sorrento, in Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani, in one of the most characteristic "alleys" of Sorrento. A strategic position: you need neither a car nor public transportation. Walking from our relais you can go everywhere in Sorrento. The wonderful cloister of San Francesco and the Villa Comunale overlooking the sea are also located 50 meters from the entrance of the relais. Also, thanks to the new lift located in the Villa, you are only 50 meters away from the beach/port. Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento, is located 100 meters away from Magi House. All of our rooms, aparments and suites are new and equipped with all the comforts that guests need for an enjoyable stay. The furnitures are extremely modern especially in our gem, the Nettuno suite, which has a private outdoor Jacuzzi on the terrace, the ideal place to spend relaxing moments with your partner or the family. If you wish to organize excursions around Sorrento, avoiding the stress of the car, the location of our relais is also strategic: Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples can be reached by train using the Circumvesuviana line, while Positano and the Amalfi Coast can be reached by bus, leaving from the bus station located only 400 meters away. You can reach Capri and Ischia by ferry and hydrofoil that depart from the Marina Piccola, a few minutes walking distance by public elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magi House Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magi House Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing