We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in the heart of Sorrento”
Review of Magi House Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magi House Relais
Ranked #4 of 143 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

As a family, we stayed here in July for almost a week. Our first time to Sorrento and we weren't disappointed in the least! We arrived at the Magi house to be greeted by the wonderful owner Mariano and his superb and very efficient staff. We had the ground floor apartment for the three of us.
We had the most wonderful breakfast on the top floor terrace and nothing was too much for Mariano - he served you each morning with boiled eggs, pastries, homemade cakes, toast, ham, cheese, coffee/tea and hot chocolate (by request from my 14 year old!). A real delight to have breakfast each morning.

Mariano enjoyed chatting to his clients, asking them about their day and being genuinely interested in hearing your news. It was such a pleasure to go back to the Magi house each day. We were given ideas and recommendations about tours and places to see, aswell as restaurants to eat at. Our very, very favourite was Marameo on the se front. We used the sun beds in the day, had fantastic lunches there and usually booked a table for the evening. Fresh fish each night was wonderful, especially cooked and presented the way it was. For us, other restaurants didn't quite match the sitting on the 'pier' and watching the sun go down! Thank you for the excellent recommendation Mariano!
All in all, we enjoyed the whole experience of the Magi House and everything that went with that. The location was just fab!
We did a jet trip to Capri, which was wonderful. A warning, when you arrive, take the 'tram' up and walk down. Walking up the steps in the extreme heat, was quite difficult, as we and other tourists found out. It's great to walk down to catch the jet back.
I would fully recommend anyone staying in this small inimate hotel in Sorrento.
Thank you to Mariano and his lovely team for a most enjoyable stay. We will be back one day .......

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this wonderful review, for us it has been a big pleasure welcome you here at the Magi House in the historical center of Sorrento. We are glad you loved our apartment and our hospitality. We truly look forward to welcoming you here again.

Magi House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

I don't even know where to start. First we stayed at the Magi House for the month of June. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left- Mariano,Miriam, Virna, Lisa and Reynald were very accommodating, We rented a boat, took a cooking class, spent a weekend in Venice,traveled to Maranello all with guidance from the Magi House. The location couldn't of been better, right on the main drag. We stayed in the Vesuvio suite which was very tastefully done, with all the modern conveniences. Thank you all for making our trip wonderful! We will be back!! Johnna and Vivian

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Dear Madam, thank you very much for your wonderful review. Our main objective is to make guests feel at home. That's why we try not to deny them anything. The Relais is in the historical center ideal to reach all the places of greatest interest We hope to be able to welcome back the Magi House. Our best wishes Magi House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed again at Magi House in May (this time with our adult children). We wanted to treat our son and daughter to a very special stay in the heart of Sorrento. Having stayed at Magi House a few times before, we knew it would be ideal and it did not disappoint. Mariano and his team provide the best service I have experienced anywhere - and I have travelled widely. As for breakfast on the rooftop terrace: it is better than tea at the Ritz Hotel in London !

Seriously, this is a place to experience a little luxury with wonderful and friendly service. Treat yourself - I could not recommend Magi House more. We certainly hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Any room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing twice Magi House. We are happy, your stay by us has been great! It is a satisfaction for us to know that also the second time our services were up to your expectations. Hoping to welcome you another time, our best regards Magi House Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our stay at Magi House met all our expectations, which were high in view of the many positive comments on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed two, two day stays with a trip to Capri in between. The rooms are very well designed and well appointed (Dominova felt more spacious than Penthouse but Penthouse has a wonderful private balcony). Breakfast on the roof deck was delightful and ample. The staff are beyond courteous and helpful and quite willing to go the extra step to make your stay more pleasant (for example, holding our baggage while we overnighted in Capri, providing directions, etc.). Perhaps the biggest unpromoted advantage of Magi House is its location in the old city, slightly away from the busiest streets but close to everything including many restaurants of all standards. If you are staying in Sorrento for several days you'll quickly come to realize that being in the city on a walking street is a huge plus. Other hotels my be grander with stunning views but nothing can beat the convenience of Magi House's location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GusRobinWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Magi House and appreciating our work and dedication to our guests. We are you give us this beautiful review andwe are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. As you said we are close to everything and we always suggest the most beautiful and interesting excursions to do in our beautiful Sorrento Peninsula and for us it's important that you found our work helpfull. We hope to welcome you here again as soon as possible.Magi House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in this fantastic B&B for 4 nights. It is in a great location, very near to a number of very good restaurants and bars and only a few minutes from the beach.

The rooms are finished to a very modern and high standard and the staff, especially the owner made us feel very welcome, ensuring that we were enjoying our stay. The breakfasts were excellent with everything you would expect available for a continental breakfast and more including homemade cakes and fresh orange juice.

We couldn't have asked for better accomodation and service! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magimariano, Direttore generale at Magi House Relais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest! Thank you so much for your review.The description you give of the Magi House reflects the reality: near the beach and near the restaurants.
The harbour is easy to reach and the station is only 10 min away.
For us, the most important thing is to take care of our guests.
So, we choose the best for them as the fresh products for the breakfast and the infos to give!
Hoping to welcome you in your next holiday in Italy, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I will make this brief: you must stay at the Magi House.

1) The Inn is spotless - one of the cleanest and aesthetically pleasing inns/hotels I have had the opportunity to stay in.
2) The MOST HELPFUL STAFF I HAVE EVER MET. Not only is the inn owner Mariano absolutely gorgeous (honestly- an Italian God), the two receptionists and him were there for our every need. Excursions were planned, dinner reservations at Sorrento's best restaurants were made, and the two women receptionist who felt like family before I left even helped me pick out some outfits for excursions!
3) Complimentary antipasti!!!?? The Magi House has an intimate relationship with some of the best restaurants in downtown Sorrento. Seemingly in return for our stay at Magi, my husband and I recieved complimentary glasses of Preseco and even some antipasti and restaurants. What's better than that!?
4) Cheese-central, but in all honesty: in a foreign country, Magi becomes your home away from home. Not only because the apartment of your choice to stay in actually starts to feel like YOUR apartment, but because the staff starts to feel like family.
5) LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION - Capri, Pompeii, Naples, for all-intensive purposes are steps away from the inn as the bus/hydrofoil are. Travel made easy! And you get to see SO much!

Play it smart, go to Magi House!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for either the Penthouse or Meditarranean - they are incredibly well-priced for the best rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Dear Guest!
Your words are a matter of pride for us. Day by day we do our best to make our guests feel at home and the perfect location of Magi house helps us.
We choose the best because our GUESTS are the best!
Hoping to welcome you once again, best regards

Magi House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for 4 nights. We are extremely seasoned travelers and with this comes being extremely picky. The devil is in the details as they say.
This place hits all the high notes for us. This is a bed and breakfast. No bells and whistles that you would get with hotels that have pools and spas, etc. But also you get a much more reasonable price by not having all those amenities. Magi House is located in the heart of Sorrento. This privately owned hotel is run with a lot of heart. You can see that in the way the place is set up and the staff here are very helpful, kind and work from their hearts to create a great experience for their guests.
The owner, Mariano and his staff could not do enough for us! What ever we asked for they went out of their way to make sure we got what we wanted.
The rooms are VERY clean, Sound proof, the beds are extremely comfortable, the showers are great and most of all, the AC works PERFECT! You can set the temp where you want. So for those of you who do not want AC or not much, you can have that or if you are like me ( and the days we were there it was almost 100 degrees!) you can set it lower freeze yourself out if you like!!!! The rooms have safes and small refrigerators. The breakfast is served everyday on the top floor on a roof overlooking Old Sorrento. Just beautiful. At night you can go up there and sit out if you like. And they leave wine, after dinner drinks, water, ice, etc for those who may want to indulge. This is done on the honor bar system. I cannot say enough about this place. For the price you get all of your bang for the euros you spend here. I have lived in Italy for 20 years so know well many hotels. Take my word on this one folks. WELL worth it and more. There only have 5 rooms so book in advanced.
There is also access by elevator just a few steps from the hotel a beach with lidos. We used the beach called Marameo beach. We spent each day there, ate there, etc. It was wonderful!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Montefusco Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magi House Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magi House Relais

Address: Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani 56, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: £76 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magi House Relais is located in the historical centre of Sorrento, in Via Padre Reginaldo Giuliani, in one of the most characteristic "alleys" of Sorrento. A strategic position: you need neither a car nor public transportation. Walking from our relais you can go everywhere in Sorrento. The wonderful cloister of San Francesco and the Villa Comunale overlooking the sea are also located 50 meters from the entrance of the relais. Also, thanks to the new lift located in the Villa, you are only 50 meters away from the beach/port. Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento, is located 100 meters away from Magi House. All of our rooms, aparments and suites are new and equipped with all the comforts that guests need for an enjoyable stay. The furnitures are extremely modern especially in our gem, the Nettuno suite, which has a private outdoor Jacuzzi on the terrace, the ideal place to spend relaxing moments with your partner or the family. If you wish to organize excursions around Sorrento, avoiding the stress of the car, the location of our relais is also strategic: Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples can be reached by train using the Circumvesuviana line, while Positano and the Amalfi Coast can be reached by bus, leaving from the bus station located only 400 meters away. You can reach Capri and Ischia by ferry and hydrofoil that depart from the Marina Piccola, a few minutes walking distance by public elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magi House Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magi House Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing