We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big fans!”

Old Taverna Sorrentina
Ranked #114 of 280 Restaurants in Sorrento
Price range: US$0 - US$64
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big fans!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Last meal in Sorrento, it was delicious. We had taken their cooking class a couple days prior and couldn't wait to try the restaurant. The owners/family are great and we had an amazing time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusieS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    32
    12
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little watering hole”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Enjoyed the service and the pizza and the prices were very good. The owner and his son were welcoming and provided a good service. We stopped here most days on our way back to the hotel. A good position on the bend to see tourist and locals passing by

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 56Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2week stay at old taverna b&b”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband & I stayed at old tavern b&b, were made most welcome. The room was spacious.clean & typically Italian. William & his wife Maria, wrer most hospitable. The staff were excellent very pleasant, nothing too much trouble,however, the so called solarium on the rooftop was something to be desired. It was very neglected eg. tables and chairs were weather beaten, flowers in the pots had been neglected. We personally felt it hadn't been used for purpose for sometime. My husband & I went up to the so called solarium 3 times only to find dog poo around! I think it was a project that had not taken off. It is absolutely nothing like it portrays in the photos. Sorry, but another pitfall was the breakfast! As paying guests we would have liked to sit inside for breakfast, but instead had to sit outside at a table only big enough for 2 cups of coffee. All we had for breakfast for 14 days was 1 croissant! Very disappointing. Would not spend 2 weeks there again, but ok for overnight stay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Pub Grub? No, much much better than that!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Way down in the “Drains” beyond Tasso Square, the prominent Guinness sign is the most obvious landmark as you approach.

We wanted a casual night and expected “pub grub” but were in for a surprise. A couple of tables virtually in the road outside looked uninviting but inside the place is larger than you might think. The welcome was warm and friendly and as we settled down with a beer to study the menu we began to realise there was more on offer here than we expected.
Octopus salad was an excellent starter, followed by Spaghetti Seafood and Calamari (squid cooked whole , which we prefer to the usual sliced). A nice cold Falanghina wine at Euro 22 was comparable to many we have had at twice the price.

Service was excellent throughout and would put many expensive restaurants to shame.

As we were getting ready to leave the place was filling up with Italian families who seemed to be regulars. They know a good thing or two!!

Total cost of dinner for two was Euro 70 probably the cheapest mel we had in Sorrento.
Highly recommended, if you want really good food in a casual setting give this one a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MonsieurTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canvey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

This place is easy to walk past , I'll try my best to direct, if you walk down the lanes from church tower keeping monnalisa on your right it is the next alley on your left ( I think ) worth checking out , simple fare but well done the usual menu pasta pizza fish etc but the charming staff and lovely setting made this a great place to eat, the tiramisu was stunning , the prices compared to other lesser places was surprising as it was far superior.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curvanord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Taverna Sorrentina also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Old Taverna Sorrentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing