We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel Au Rivoli for 3 nights in September 2012 (just now getting around to writing my reviews). We had originally booked at their sister property Hotel Sorrento City but were moved to Hotel Au Rivoli as the room we had booked was unavailable for some reason or another. I actually think I prefer the location of Hotel Au Rivoli as it's located right in the old center which was nice. My only complaint with our stay was the bathroom in our room as it just had a tub, no shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2012

Our stay at Hotel Au Rivoli was pleasant, yet average. Our room was huge. We booked a quad room as we were traveling with our two small children and they actually had their own room. The breakfast was not all that great. The staff was very friendly and immediately took care of some problems we had with our room. The hotel gets an average rating because it lacks some personality, did not have adequate hot water and breakfast was lacking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwoodlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Rivoli is a small hotel only having eight rooms but they are very clean and smart as is the rest of the hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly even if their English isn't all that good. Two excellent restaurants nearby are da Gigino, which is just around the corner and up the street to the next piazza is Sedi Dominova which is rated on Tripadvisor as three stars but the elegance, cleanliness and food should really make it 4. Anyway, there is no way you could starve in this lovely city. Stay at the Holtel Rivoli and enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanPiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Staff very firendly and helpful. Room ideal for our stay - clean and tidy. Good breakfast buffet. Nice small traditional style hotel down the back streets. No on-site parking but the hotel arranged for our parking in a garage 5 mins away which was perfect. Can't fault it at all and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My favorite person that I met on my last trip to Italy was Yolanda at Hotel Rivoli in Sorrento. This ancient building was remodeled with excellent taste and includes a number of beautiful antiques on every floor. The outside of our hotel room window faced a beautiful medieval church bell tower, that doesn't go off too early in the morning (7AM). The staff is friendly and Yolando fixed us up with a small boat to visit Capri. Wandering around the city in the evening was fun, especially if you like to eat the great southern style cuisine and drink "Limoncello" for an after dinner drink. We stayed here a couple nights as a jumping off point to visit the Amalfi Coast, begin here. The value was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Our hotel was on 2nd floor with nice little balcony. Very clean and comfortable and bedding and towels spotlessly clean. All staff very friendly particularly the two girls on reception who were always willing to give help and advice on travel, weather and days out etc. This is just a small hotel with only 8 bedrooms but ideally located for all areas of Sorrento and I would be happy to recommend to anyone visiting Sorrento.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We were given a room on the top floor - the room was small but not tiny, and well appointed. Soon we noticed there was a lot of noise coming from the air conditioning units on the roof. When I asked about it the woman at the desk seemed not to know about it and, in any case, told me there were no other rooms available. The following day we asked for and got relocated to a room one floor lower. This room was tiny with barely room for our suitcases. We had to put one in front of the door. Also this room, unlike the first, had a bathtub with telephone shower which I am not fond of. Towels were of the linen style variety and not very effective, but the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean.
We later discovered that the noise was from a malfunctioning AC unit which was fixed the next day.
Location was ideal for exploration of Sorrento and for ferry trips to the Amalfi Coast and Capri. Parking was 20 Euros/night and in a garage several blocks away - but the parking guy was very nice and didn't charge extra when we took the car for day trips.

Room Tip: Our GPS took us right to the front door of the hotel - where cars are not allowed - we had a harrowi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnAndTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
998 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Sorrento

Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 16, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £103 - £534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rivoli Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jeweler in the heart of Sorrento, Hotel Au Rivoli is situated in a beautiful building belonging to the XII century, overlooking the sea, close to Piazza Tasso, the port and the train station, where leave also the busses to reach the Amalfi Coast. It is a good starting point to make all the excursions and discover the surroundings like Pompei, Paestum, Herculaneum and the islands of Capri and Ischia.Completely renowated, all the rooms have a balcony facing the historical centre and are equipped with the best comforts. The roof garden on the terrace, offers a panoramic view of the Gulf of Naples and the Sorrento Coast.The Relais Hotel Sorrento Rivoli, Sorrento Hotel,is surrounded by some typical workshops where you can feel the flavours of Sorrento, where the famous Torquato Tasso was born.Our guest can feel the true atmosphere of the city, taste the typical dishes of the Napolitan Cuisine only walking along the narrow streets of the historical centre or having a drink on the balcony of the Hotel Rivoli.Our young and qualified team, able to advance every demand of its customers, will help you with kindness and experience to discover the Sorrentine peninsula and to leave an unforgettable memory of your tailor made holiday in Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing