We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, great service”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The small hotel was in a great location, was very clean and had great service. I found it reasonably priced for the area. The front desk helpers, Martina (pm) and Amalia (am) were very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast with rolls and juice...worked perfect for us. I would definitely stay here again (and hope that I get a chance to go back!)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    151
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
106
170
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

spent four nights at Au Rivoli with our two grandchildren last week. No complaints. Central location, clean & tidy, all staff were very helpful & breakfast, although an issue for some reviewers, was pefecctly acceptable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GED50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This small boutique hotel is the perfect place for a week's stay. It is down a little walkway, just 3 mins from the central plaza tasso and 7 mins from the main bus/train station. There is a lot to do in Sorrento: beautiful Sorrento craft stalls, scarves/wraps a plenty, pottery etc. Eating places are all over the place, tucked away in alleys, or on the main streets. Most prices are similar: E8 pizza/pasta, E6 salad, E12 + fish. You are not pushed into having more than one course if you are not hungry and they always give you free bread in a basket (delicious). Although the hotel appears quiet, at night there is a lot going on with regards to bins being emptied and bells ringing and chatter, but if the double glazed window is shut, none of that is a bother. There is air conditioning in the room if necessary. The rooms are lovely, clean and bright with a large ensuite. Rooms are cleaned daily. The staff are very helpful and Amalia, our main receptionist was always ready to give advice and wish us well on our day. The breakfasts are fantastic (contrary to other reports) - cereal, fresh fruit, home-made croissants made by Giovanni, cakes, meats, cheeses, bread, yoghurt etc.
From Sorrento you can go anywhere cheaply: Capri island (one hour boat trip), Amalfi coast (one hour bus ride), Pompei and Herculanium (45 minute train journey for E3), Vesuvius (45 minute train journey) - then take a trip bus/lorry to the top.
We would love to come back to Sorrento and indeed Hotel Rivoli and we would recommend it to families, couples or friends - a week is the best amount of time, so that one site can be done in a day, rather than two. We came in April and the weather was perfect - sunny and warm, but not blazing, in the 60s (15 degrees centigrade).

Room Tip: Room 101 is good - lovely size double bed with plenty of space in the room and a lovely big ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drcoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

For starters the location of the hotel is very central, next to piazza Tasso (everything is within walkig distance). It is a very nice boutique hotel, with descently sized rooms, nice decoration, well maintained and very very clean(!!!). The stuff is very friendly, and helpful. One minus is the breakfast --the variety is poor, but within that price you don't even care :) So, what else would you ask for?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel Au Rivoli for 3 nights in September 2012 (just now getting around to writing my reviews). We had originally booked at their sister property Hotel Sorrento City but were moved to Hotel Au Rivoli as the room we had booked was unavailable for some reason or another. I actually think I prefer the location of Hotel Au Rivoli as it's located right in the old center which was nice. My only complaint with our stay was the bathroom in our room as it just had a tub, no shower.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Our stay at Hotel Au Rivoli was pleasant, yet average. Our room was huge. We booked a quad room as we were traveling with our two small children and they actually had their own room. The breakfast was not all that great. The staff was very friendly and immediately took care of some problems we had with our room. The hotel gets an average rating because it lacks some personality, did not have adequate hot water and breakfast was lacking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwoodlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Rivoli is a small hotel only having eight rooms but they are very clean and smart as is the rest of the hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly even if their English isn't all that good. Two excellent restaurants nearby are da Gigino, which is just around the corner and up the street to the next piazza is Sedi Dominova which is rated on Tripadvisor as three stars but the elegance, cleanliness and food should really make it 4. Anyway, there is no way you could starve in this lovely city. Stay at the Holtel Rivoli and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanPiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Sorrento

Property: Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 16, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rivoli Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jeweler in the heart of Sorrento, Hotel Au Rivoli is situated in a beautiful building belonging to the XII century, overlooking the sea, close to Piazza Tasso, the port and the train station, where leave also the busses to reach the Amalfi Coast. It is a good starting point to make all the excursions and discover the surroundings like Pompei, Paestum, Herculaneum and the islands of Capri and Ischia.Completely renowated, all the rooms have a balcony facing the historical centre and are equipped with the best comforts. The roof garden on the terrace, offers a panoramic view of the Gulf of Naples and the Sorrento Coast.The Relais Hotel Sorrento Rivoli, Sorrento Hotel,is surrounded by some typical workshops where you can feel the flavours of Sorrento, where the famous Torquato Tasso was born.Our guest can feel the true atmosphere of the city, taste the typical dishes of the Napolitan Cuisine only walking along the narrow streets of the historical centre or having a drink on the balcony of the Hotel Rivoli.Our young and qualified team, able to advance every demand of its customers, will help you with kindness and experience to discover the Sorrentine peninsula and to leave an unforgettable memory of your tailor made holiday in Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing