We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location but a bit noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rivoli Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent location but a bit noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here in March for a week and were very divided on this place. The hotel itself is in an excellent location in the middle of Sorrento - 10mins walk from the port, 5-10 mins from the main train station and bus, and restaurants and shops all minutes away. The rooms were ok, no frills but comfortable and clean. The breakfast was average, but enough to start us off for the day and the staff were knowlegeable of the area and professional. The price was reasonable for the area.

Our biggest problem was the noise. Of course being in the middle of Sorrento you would expect noise from outside, even being a quiet street so that was not the issue. The problem was not this but the noise from reception which came straight up to our 1st floor room. The phone has the LOUDEST ring I've ever heard on a phone which seemed to ring constantly from about 7am to 10pm. Also about half way through our stay a family moved in next door and the children insisted on running around and shouting outside our door. It's a shame because we came back to Sorrento for a relaxing holiday as we did all our siteseeing last time we were here.

I'd recommend this place if you're going for a day or two but if you are staying longer maybe stay outside of Sorrento as I think a lot of the hotels in the town may be similar having read the reviews on TA.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traitor101666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    141
    33
    2
    4
See reviews for
97
160
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The location is very special - on a charming street in the old part of Sorrento.
It seems that you turn back in time - narrow street, some traffic by scutters and one(1!) car in a week.
On the corner there are two trattorias(at Gigino's we ate for 6 nights) and a church.
On the parrallel street you can find various stores(limoncello, leather products, gelaterias, restaurants etc) and you can explore all day.
The hotel is small(around 8 rooms) with very nice and clean rooms. There is a lift and stairs.
At the reception there are Angela and Teresa. Both of them are Italians and can help you very much with information. By the way - thank you both for your reccomendations.
We had some kind of appartment with 2 rooms, 2 TVs, balcony and one bathroom. Beds were very confortable and there was enough space for lugagge. In the room the WiFi was working fine at a very good speed.
Breakfast is at the last floor(basic stuff) and you can have the meal on the roof of the hotel(interesting panorama).
You can reach the port fast(in 15minutes by walking). Trainstation is at 15minutes by walking too.
We and our baby had a wonderful time there.
We went to Capri, Napoli, Positano and Amalfi.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a street view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snakebyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located. Two minute walk to the centre, Piazza Tasso, the walk is really pleasant through tiny and narrow streets filled with delicious shops.
The hotel is really peculiar has got a beautiful wrought iron stairs that runs in the middle of the hotel leading to the different rooms.
We stayed in a four bed room (quadruple), with two separate rooms and a bathroom. Rooms were really clean. The negative point was the breakfast not very rich offer, but the coffee was made with moka ( a typical italian coffee machine- Bialetti) and it was really delicious.
The staff was really nice and helpful. Because is impossible to park in Sorrento they provided us the name of valet parking very efficient and polite. It costed 18 euro per day.
Sorrento is a very elegant little town on the Costiera Amalfitana from a there you can easily reach Amalfi, Positano, Ravello. Wonderful places not to be missed.
If you are planning to go during Christmas vacations you should not miss the "Nativity Live" Presepe vivente. Is an entire little village rebuilt where you can walk in and see the typical activity like the butcher, the fishmongers, … and the Nativity scene. Great!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Clean room,nice bed,quiet position,lovely breakfast spread,very helpful staff.
DOWNSIDE: no bar area. Nice to have a nightcap and a chat to other guests at the end of the day ,This way you often pick up good tips for places to visit,restaurants etc,,,,but was good value and I
would highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Davede2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Good hotel in a good location. Staff during the day were excellent with excellent english and very helpful at arranging transportation. The hotel was well located in historical area close to shops and restaurants. Night staff not so helpful and noisly talked on skype in foyer which went straight up into our room on first floor. Bathroom was annoying with a shower over bath but no shower screen. Purchasing a coffee machine would greatly enhance breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so noise from reception does not bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PGB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattituck, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

What a great find!! As soon as we walked in we had a great feeling about it. This hotel was charming, very clean and comfortable, and offered a nice breakfast spread and free wifi. Our room also had a small balcony and there was also an outside patio with table and chairs that we enjoyed breakfast at in addition to the main inside dining area. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great value too!! We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LEMalone25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is located an easy walk from the train station in the narrow, quaint streets of Sorrento. Close to the numerous little restaurants and all of the tourist sites. Hotel was quiet with a small common area on each floor and nicely appointed. There is a small elevator if you don't want to walk up the glass spiral staircase. Our room was spotless but nothing fancy. Nice large bathroom and big tub. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was spectacular -- well laid out with amazing selection of pastries, plus nice meats and cheeses. Quiet spot -- this smaller alley doesn't have much traffic. Couldn't find a better location for visiting the many little shops. Great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Sorrento

Property: Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 16, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rivoli Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jeweler in the heart of Sorrento, Hotel Au Rivoli is situated in a beautiful building belonging to the XII century, overlooking the sea, close to Piazza Tasso, the port and the train station, where leave also the busses to reach the Amalfi Coast. It is a good starting point to make all the excursions and discover the surroundings like Pompei, Paestum, Herculaneum and the islands of Capri and Ischia.Completely renowated, all the rooms have a balcony facing the historical centre and are equipped with the best comforts. The roof garden on the terrace, offers a panoramic view of the Gulf of Naples and the Sorrento Coast.The Relais Hotel Sorrento Rivoli, Sorrento Hotel,is surrounded by some typical workshops where you can feel the flavours of Sorrento, where the famous Torquato Tasso was born.Our guest can feel the true atmosphere of the city, taste the typical dishes of the Napolitan Cuisine only walking along the narrow streets of the historical centre or having a drink on the balcony of the Hotel Rivoli.Our young and qualified team, able to advance every demand of its customers, will help you with kindness and experience to discover the Sorrentine peninsula and to leave an unforgettable memory of your tailor made holiday in Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing