We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in the heart of Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Halmstad, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice stay in the heart of Sorrento”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Rivoli is a little friendly hotel in the old parts of Sorrento. The place has a excellent location with everything close by. Breakfast is more than OK. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. Would easily go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mats B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    156
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
111
182
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is just a little jem, right in the heart of Sorrento, wonderful pubs and restaurants
We had a family room on 2nd floor, very clean and a superb chambermaid - she was so attentive.
Tearesa on reception was the most helpful, friendly and informative person, a real assett to the hotel. Well done and thanks to all who made our holiday a wonderful experience

Room Tip: Our room was street facing, but still quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinnp884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

very nice hotel, perfect location, very spacious and clean rooms.
we had a family room with a large double bed room and a twin bed room .
the staff is really friendly and helpful.
breakfast with a lot of cookies and cakes.
a lot of pubs and shops nearby

Room Tip: the family room is really very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Enjoyed being in the heart of the action in Sorrento, with dinner and shopping just around the corner. Very friendly staff, very clean and great free wifi. Easy walking to the harbour and the main sights.

Room Tip: A balcony is great for drying the washing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SueAu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here in March for a week and were very divided on this place. The hotel itself is in an excellent location in the middle of Sorrento - 10mins walk from the port, 5-10 mins from the main train station and bus, and restaurants and shops all minutes away. The rooms were ok, no frills but comfortable and clean. The breakfast was average, but enough to start us off for the day and the staff were knowlegeable of the area and professional. The price was reasonable for the area.

Our biggest problem was the noise. Of course being in the middle of Sorrento you would expect noise from outside, even being a quiet street so that was not the issue. The problem was not this but the noise from reception which came straight up to our 1st floor room. The phone has the LOUDEST ring I've ever heard on a phone which seemed to ring constantly from about 7am to 10pm. Also about half way through our stay a family moved in next door and the children insisted on running around and shouting outside our door. It's a shame because we came back to Sorrento for a relaxing holiday as we did all our siteseeing last time we were here.

I'd recommend this place if you're going for a day or two but if you are staying longer maybe stay outside of Sorrento as I think a lot of the hotels in the town may be similar having read the reviews on TA.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traitor101666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The location is very special - on a charming street in the old part of Sorrento.
It seems that you turn back in time - narrow street, some traffic by scutters and one(1!) car in a week.
On the corner there are two trattorias(at Gigino's we ate for 6 nights) and a church.
On the parrallel street you can find various stores(limoncello, leather products, gelaterias, restaurants etc) and you can explore all day.
The hotel is small(around 8 rooms) with very nice and clean rooms. There is a lift and stairs.
At the reception there are Angela and Teresa. Both of them are Italians and can help you very much with information. By the way - thank you both for your reccomendations.
We had some kind of appartment with 2 rooms, 2 TVs, balcony and one bathroom. Beds were very confortable and there was enough space for lugagge. In the room the WiFi was working fine at a very good speed.
Breakfast is at the last floor(basic stuff) and you can have the meal on the roof of the hotel(interesting panorama).
You can reach the port fast(in 15minutes by walking). Trainstation is at 15minutes by walking too.
We and our baby had a wonderful time there.
We went to Capri, Napoli, Positano and Amalfi.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a street view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snakebyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located. Two minute walk to the centre, Piazza Tasso, the walk is really pleasant through tiny and narrow streets filled with delicious shops.
The hotel is really peculiar has got a beautiful wrought iron stairs that runs in the middle of the hotel leading to the different rooms.
We stayed in a four bed room (quadruple), with two separate rooms and a bathroom. Rooms were really clean. The negative point was the breakfast not very rich offer, but the coffee was made with moka ( a typical italian coffee machine- Bialetti) and it was really delicious.
The staff was really nice and helpful. Because is impossible to park in Sorrento they provided us the name of valet parking very efficient and polite. It costed 18 euro per day.
Sorrento is a very elegant little town on the Costiera Amalfitana from a there you can easily reach Amalfi, Positano, Ravello. Wonderful places not to be missed.
If you are planning to go during Christmas vacations you should not miss the "Nativity Live" Presepe vivente. Is an entire little village rebuilt where you can walk in and see the typical activity like the butcher, the fishmongers, … and the Nativity scene. Great!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#19 of 100 in Sorrento
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Sorrento

Property: Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 16, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rivoli Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jeweler in the heart of Sorrento, Hotel Au Rivoli is situated in a beautiful building belonging to the XII century, overlooking the sea, close to Piazza Tasso, the port and the train station, where leave also the busses to reach the Amalfi Coast. It is a good starting point to make all the excursions and discover the surroundings like Pompei, Paestum, Herculaneum and the islands of Capri and Ischia.Completely renowated, all the rooms have a balcony facing the historical centre and are equipped with the best comforts. The roof garden on the terrace, offers a panoramic view of the Gulf of Naples and the Sorrento Coast.The Relais Hotel Sorrento Rivoli, Sorrento Hotel,is surrounded by some typical workshops where you can feel the flavours of Sorrento, where the famous Torquato Tasso was born.Our guest can feel the true atmosphere of the city, taste the typical dishes of the Napolitan Cuisine only walking along the narrow streets of the historical centre or having a drink on the balcony of the Hotel Rivoli.Our young and qualified team, able to advance every demand of its customers, will help you with kindness and experience to discover the Sorrentine peninsula and to leave an unforgettable memory of your tailor made holiday in Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing