We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday in the centre of Sorrento. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Santa Lucia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Holiday in the centre of Sorrento. ”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from spending a glorious week in Residence Santa Lucia staying in Casa Sorrento. Our accommodation was simply excellent as were all the facilities on site and the hospitality we experienced was wonderful. The property is located 10 minutes from the centre of Sorrento (by foot) with on site parking and a swimming pool. In fact our experience was that good that we have already rebooked for next year. Thanks to Luigi and Tonino for a wonderful time.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philorllolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived from the Circumvesuviana train depot, a 15 minute walk gently uphill, we were greeted by the entire family. Gino, Tonino, their two dogs Stella and Sarah, and the rest of the family were gathered outside the family home at the entrance of the property.

We toured the grounds, saw our cottage, and were delighted that it exceeded our expectations. The grounds consist of several separate cottages, terraced hillside property, with a beautiful pool area, lemon trees, hammocks, patio area, and a "party room."

Our cottage, the Serrento room, was far larger than we initially expected, with two bedrooms, two large bathrooms, a living area and kitchen area and windows all around overlooking lemon trees and flooded with light. All rooms have beautiful Italian tile on all the floors.

As our room was being readied, we walked down to the center of town, past a beautiful green chasm of an abandoned old mill. In the center of town are many lively bars and restaurants, and delightful alleys, pathways, and hidden cafés and gardens.

Back in our room, we had time to relax before heading back down for dinner. The room was extremely quiet and the only sounds we could hear were chirping birds and occasionally neighborhood dogs. It's a great place for relaxing, sleeping, sitting and reading, and preparing breakfast while planning the day. The residences is close to all activities, within a 15-minute walk, including Marina Piccolo for ferries to Capri and Naples. And it is so much more peaceful than staying right in the center.

Gino and Tonino offered suggestions for restaurants, wine, and day trips. We stayed six nights and did day trips to Pompeii, Naples, and Capri. Naples and Capri are easily accessed by ferry, and Pompeii easily accessed by the Circumvesuviana on a train. Don't miss having dinner and drinks on Marina Grande at sunset! Originally we planned an extra day to go to the crater of Vesuvius, but opted to spend an the day enjoying the yard instead.

This location is ideal for families, and especially for groups and for planning a party including a wedding reception. If you really want to get away from it all and relax, without being too far away from activities and sites, and experience a local family's hospitality this is an excellent place to spend at least several days. We stayed six nights and five full days; we could've spent at least a couple more.

Tips:
Bring the following: Toilet paper, soap, washcloth, dish soap, paper towels, and breakfast food including coffee. (The residence does offer board, but we opted to be independent.) There is a simple espresso percolator and we found a YouTube video for its operation. There is a supermarket down the block within a five minute walk.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jameyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Residence Santa Lucia consists of a number of self contained apartments arranged in a beautiful citrus grove/garden with a swimming pool. In April this meant the gorgeous scent of orange blossom although only the kids were brave enough to try the pool - brrrrr!

The garden is perfect for kids - lots of room to run around, swings, hammocks and the pool obviously - with a gate at the bottom of the driveway meaning it feels really safe and secure. There are also 2 dogs who are really friendly and willing to play all day!

It's perfectly located at around 10 minutes walk into the main square (say 15 minutes to the train station) and tucked away from any scooter noise.

We stayed in the Ravello which is not boutique accommodation - much more "rustic". The spiral staircase when we got there was a bit unnerving - quite a long way - so only choose that if you can haul your suitcase up and are relatively steady on your feet! Nice to have a high level terrace to get the views though.

We got there late and the manager Luigi helpfully ordered us a pizza delivery (hungry teenagers MUST be fed now!) which was immensely helpful.

The accommodation was basic (and I had to point out that some bulbs weren't working and an extra quilt was grubby) but mainly well kept. The equipment in the kitchen was a bit lacking for a family holiday so I didn't do any cooking at all - a nice break for me but a little expensive to be eating out every night on a family holiday!

They were friendly and helpful (with the usual Italian laid-back-ness) and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place for a family with kids because they can very safely roam without supervision and burn off some energy!

Room Tip: Only choose the Ravello if you can cope with the spiral staircase! The view is lovely though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEP-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Broken fridge, so nothing was kept cool, Broken microwave, Ant infestation over kitchen worktops. We spent all our money eating out, what is the point of booking a self catering accommodation when it is not possible to cook for ourselves. Also our flight was not for many hours so our cases were kindly looked after by the owner, unfortunately he thought it was ok to leave our belongings in the communal garden???? also we were not warned about the horrendous spiral staircase, not much good when you have a knee condition. Also there was a lack of kitchen utensils and no peace by the pool either where one was continually bitten by ants. 900 euros for 5 nights what a rip off. The accommodation is clean other than the ants and there is air conditioning units, basic tv only a couple of channels in english though and there is a rooftop patio with table and chairs (4) but no sunshade so it gets very hot.

Room Tip: We were in roof top accommodation, but there is a spiral staircase if you are young and fit no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have just returned from 10 days staying at the Santa Lucia apartments. We were getting married in Sorrento and it provided a fantastic self catering option for family ans friends.

On arrival the pool was being filled for tbe start of the season and on seeing that we had children in our party they worked really hard to get it completed quickly.

The accommodation is lovely. Everything you need without the technology overload wed have in the UK. Lovely and rustic. It is a 5 minute walk from the main square and Sorrento itself was a dream location for our wedding.

What made our time was the family that own it. They are fantastic. Gino and Tonino are brilliant. They threw us a pre wedding dinner for 30 of our friends and family. Made pizzas in their oven and took the time all week to give us advice, tips and just a few fun stories.

We had a fantastic time a d will definately return!

Thank you all

Bex, Joe and William

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJWestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Residence Santa Lucia was a quiet and comfortable haven only a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento central. Antonio and 'front of house' man Gino were fabulous hosts with the latter providing valuable info on sites and tours - especially for the boat trip to Capri and Herculaneum. He also put on gastronomic delights for his guests on BBQ and Pizza nights in the garden -you can safely skip lunch! We stayed in the Capri apartment, a one bedroom plus loft unit overlooking the main garden area, which was very comfortable. It is a leisurely 10 minute walk to the centre of town and station (15 euro by taxi) and supermarkets are just around the corner. The pool was a welcome sight at the end of a long hot day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatLarryMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence Casale Nunziatina
0.5 mi away
Villa Elisa Casa Vacanze
Villa Elisa Casa Vacanze
#3 of 65 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giardino Sorrentino
Giardino Sorrentino
#18 of 65 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
1878 Sorrento Guest House
1878 Sorrento Guest House
#47 of 65 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
#21 of 130 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa De Angelis
Villa De Angelis
#60 of 130 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Santa Lucia

Property: Residence Santa Lucia
Address: Via Santa Lucia 23, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Residence Santa Lucia 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Santa Lucia is located a few steps away (about 450 metres) from main square of Sorrento (Piazza Tasso) in a quiet famhouse recently redecorated and surrounded by a beautiful garden with lemon and orange trees.The Residence is composed of independent apartments or rooms with all availables comforts; delicious terrace-solarium, garden with barbecue, gazebo, swimming pool with sunbed and large private parking. It's ideal for your holidays in full relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Residence Santa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing