We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Santa Lucia
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Slice of heaven”
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Approaching the residence you would be forgiven for being a little worried about the location but on arrival those reservations will vanish. The fact that the residence is a short walk (5 - 10 mins from Piazza Tasso) turns out to be a godsend and not a problem. The tranquility of the location is well recieved compared to the hussle and bustle of the Piazza Tasso area (we stayed in Palazzo Di Guardati on our wedding night and although a lovely hotel it was quite noisy early in the morning due to the sheer amount of tourists in Piazza Tasso).
The villas themselves are set within a lemon grove which is a lovely setting. There is a pool with ample sun loungers, a gorgeous solid wooden table with bench seating either side that would have definitely been our wedding reception venue choice had we not already organised it prior to the holiday. There are hammocks, swings, rooftop solarium and another outside eating area also.
Inside the villas (we had Capri and Amalfi) you get everything that you need. They are clean and well set out with TV, decent showers, kitchenette areas etc. Nothing more to say really.
What makes the stay such a pleasure (besides what is mentioned above) is the staff and especially Gino. He went out of his way to help make our stay a memorable one and he needn't have done as within 15mins of arriving, myself and my newly appointed wife had already decided that we were going to return next year.
We loved it and as it says in the title.............

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank no22er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed at the Santa Lucia for the 1st week of May & it was perfect. We stayed in the bungalow (gallo) at the back of the grounds & it was so peaceful. We travelled with our 20mth old & my parents & the property was plenty big enough with 2 big bedrooms & bathrooms (amazing showers but no baths). It was also recently refurbished. Piazzo Tasso is only a 10 minute walk but the property is surrounded by lemon & orange groves so it feels as though you are in the countryside. The swimming pool is unheated but even at the beginning of May the weather was warm enough to warrant a dip & was wonderfully clean. The owner Toninio & his family are very welcoming & will help in any way they can. We hired a car from the airport which was fine & the driving not as bad as we had feared (although the property was not particularly easy to find!). There is plenty of parking within the grounds & we did the Amalfi drive several times with no problems. There was also amazing public transport if you don't want to drive. We worried about taking such a small child with us but need not have as she was welcomed into all the restaurants & children were well catered for. We would definitely go back, we feel luckily to have found such a great place that offered everything we needed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spokesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Just returned from 7 days in Villa Casa Sorrento. The pictures really do not reflect the beauty of Residance Santa Lucia.
Casa Sorrento was large enough for a family of 5, the air con worked a treat, the pool is large enough when all villas are full and the grounds are beautiful. The whole place is extremely tidy and Antonino and his family cannot do enough for you! We will be returning in 2 years time as we enjoyed our holiday that much.

There are two small supermarkets within 3/4 mins walk and and a larger one about 10 mins walk. Although the villas are 10 mins from Piazzo Tasso it is very quiet.

I would recommend this complex to anybody, families, couples etc It has everything....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blade17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Just back from a week in Residence Santa Lucia and it was super. We were there for a family wedding (14 of us in total) and we took 3 of the apartments. The place was so perfect for us, we were so relaxed and felt right at home. It is brilliant for children who can run around and be free, which they couldn't do in a hotel. The owners were so helpful and friendly and made us feel so welcome, they did everything they could to accommodate us. The gardens and pool are so pretty, we basically had it to ourselves. The Residence is about a 10 min (max) walk to the town, but you feel like you are in the countryside, it couldn't be better. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay for anyone who appreciates authentic Italian living with all the tourist facilities close by. It was a wonderful retreat and we would definitely go back. Like the previous review said, it's like a hidden gem, but should be shared, cos it's so great!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We have just returned from a fabulous week in Sorrento. The Santa Lucia apartments were a perfect hideaway from the busy Sorrento town. Our apartment was just what we needed-2 bedrooms,2 bathrooms, kitchenette and living area.We did not need a large living space as the outdoor area is so tranquil with plenty of areas for sitting and relaxing and a wonderful shaded eating area. The whole place was kept so clean and tidy and the family who run it are so helpful and friendly. They go out of there way to help you in any way they can. It was like a home away from home except much hotter with beautiful sunshine every day!! The pool was our saviour and the kids made friends with the other families that were staying. The place is very close to Sorrento centre and shops so we would spend the evening wandering through the streets and buying our essential gelato(ice-cream!). We did not need a car as the trains were all we needed to get to Pompeii which is a definite must to see.
All in all we had the most stress free holiday and definately plan to return. We would certainly recommend this to others although we want to keep it quiet as it is a true Sorrento secret!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aligCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

My friend and I have just returned from our third visit to Residence Santa Lucia ( our 4th holiday there is already booked.!!)
It is just the most relaxing place ever. The gardens surrounding the apartments are full of orange and lemon trees - and the apartments are so well laid out that there is never any noise . During our stay, the swimming pool was very rarely used by anyone else - so we had it virtually to ourselves .
It's about 8 minutes walk to Tasso Square, in the centre of Sorrento - with lots of great shops and restaurants . If you are self catering, the two shops at the end of Via Santa Lucia provide everything you could possibly want - lots of very fresh vegetables and fruit - the shops are open from early in the morning until late at night .
Antonino and his family are wonderful, very helpful and friendly - and the whole area is very secure and safe for children , the access being via electronic gates .
It is a very easy walk to both the bus station, and the train station - and you can get everywhere very reasonably by public transport .
I would not hesitate to recommend Residence Santa Lucia - having had three holidays there already, and a fourth booked for October .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suki45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I have just returned from a trip to Sorrento, Italy. We had such a fabulous time staying at Casa Sorrento that I feel compelled to write a review about the experience.

We stayed in a purpose-built cottage (Casa Sorrento) which is one of four purpose-built cottages on the owner's property. The property is located at 23 Via Santa Lucia approximately 500 meters from the train station at Sorrento (5 minute walk). The proprietor is a man called Antonino Coppola who lives on the property with his wife and 3 kids.

Since there were only three other cottages, it never felt crowded on the property. In fact, having other families staying at the same time was a definite plus. It gave our kids some instant playmates with whom to burn off their excess energy either running around the large garden areas or swimming in the pool.

The cottages vary in size and will accomodate couples or larger family groups. There is a small outdoor pool which is unheated but kept clean daily. There are no close, over-looking properties. The cottage we stayed in was comfortable, warm, and well-equipped (showers only - no baths). The views out of the window are of many orange and lemon trees laden with fruit + the pool and vegetable garden. Although located close to the center of Sorrento (5 minute walk), it was quiet and restful - just what we needed for our holiday.

The weather in April was fantastic. Loads of warm sunshine - enough for us to want to swim in the pool.

Sorrento provides enough attractions on its own to keep you in the town for at least a week. The shopping is good, the restaurants many and varied. If you are into self-catering, then there are two small stores close to the property (100 meters) which sell everything you could possibly want for the week. They stay open very late nearly every day (20.30 hrs).

If you are into hill-walking, then ask Antonino for maps of the marked routes into the hills around Sorrento. This area is absolute heaven for walkers - lots of narrow paths and steep hills with wonderful views. Almost worth going just for the walks.

If you tire of Sorrento, then there are always the standard attractions of Pompei, Herculaneum and a dozen other historical sights. Not forgetting Vesuvius itself.

Another attraction is the good public transport in the area. You definitely do not need a car to get around and I would strongly urge you not to bother. Expensive, difficult to park and driving in Italy is an experience not to be repeated too often.

Casa Sorrento was definitely a real find. Try it. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
3 Thank MarkSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sycamore Hill
Sycamore Hill
#78 of 138 in Sorrento
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Santa Lucia

Property: Residence Santa Lucia
Address: Via Santa Lucia 23, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Residence Santa Lucia 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Santa Lucia is located a few steps away (about 450 metres) from main square of Sorrento (Piazza Tasso) in a quiet famhouse recently redecorated and surrounded by a beautiful garden with lemon and orange trees.The Residence is composed of independent apartments or rooms with all availables comforts; delicious terrace-solarium, garden with barbecue, gazebo, swimming pool with sunbed and large private parking. It's ideal for your holidays in full relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Residence Santa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing