We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, poor food and arrogant staff ”
Review of Artis Domus Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artis Domus Relais
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, poor food and arrogant staff ”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant could be wonderful. A great location with a beautiful building and gardens BUT the staff are arrogant and lack basic customer service ( no smiles, taking plates away before people have question and basic bad manners)

It's a shame but avoid a go to other much better places on town.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    78
    47
    35
    38
See reviews for
57
115
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Did not stay but enjoyed the lovely feeling of dining al fresco in a nice garden setting. The starter and main courses were very good. But the wine and desert were bad. Wine very bad.... Service was good and the bill was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but ate outside at the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and we ate great pizza, salad and bruschetta - 3 adults, 3 kids and less than €50. Lovely gardens with plenty of toys for the children to play with including a trampoline.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nick32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a great place to stay for a few days if you want to tour the Amalfi coast.
When we arrived the vibe was just right, the staff most polite and helpful. Being self catering you can save by doing "your own thing".
However the food served in the garden is also a great option, as it is not expensive and the variety is wonderful.
The situation is just off the centre of Sorrento town , so most things are just a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konsoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We rented apartment for family of 4 people in May 2013. The Artis Domus Relais is an absolute gorgeous villa surrounded by a huge garden at the end of the main shopping street. We did not expect huge dining room with modern kitchen, 2 beautiful bathrooms and extremely nice balcony. Master bedroom was spacious, with very comfortable king side bed and private beautiful decorated bathrooms. The rest of slipping beds were not as comfortable as Master bedroom. One small bed was in sitting-dining room another was not very comfortable sofa bed. I was surprise to see that Artis Domus Relais ranked #17 of 37 Specialty lodging in Sorrento, but soon realize that most of the people give lover rank to the restaurant, not to the villa. We loved location and quality of the villa and highly recommend this property for family with children.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnaTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were enticed to come in for a late lunch by the lovely gardens, lots of different seating areas, a hammock, bean bags, beautiful trees, very lovely. The food is decent, nothing special but a salad or pasta is only about 6-8 euros. Coffee was great, cheap too. The service is pretty terrible... there were only about three tables seated when we went with two waiters who stood doing nothing, and just far enough from the tables that you couldn't get their attention.

I would suggest coming here after lunch or in the afternoon for a coffee or drink relaxing in the quiet gardens.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We did actually go here twice to be fair, the second time was worse than the first and we seemed to be surrounded by other customers who were having various reactions to poor service. The food was ok, not fantastic but cheap. The service was not really engaging at best and incompetent at worst. On our first visit, it was the drinks that were wrong on our second both drinks and food. We had to ask more than once for the to correct things. Others seemed to be having a similar experience though were more vocal than us. From talking to locals it seems to come alive at night where it is a watering hole for the youngsters. The garden is nice and this could be a lovely place if they improved the food and service. A place to avoid if you're after a magical afternoon, ok if it's hot, you just want a it down and some ok pizza for cheap.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RussandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magi House Relais
Magi House Relais
#5 of 139 in Sorrento
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Tasso
Palazzo Tasso
#19 of 100 in Sorrento
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sorrento Apartments
Sorrento Apartments
#2 of 71 in Sorrento
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
#26 of 139 in Sorrento
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residenza Il Campanile
Residenza Il Campanile
#44 of 139 in Sorrento
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artis Domus Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artis Domus Relais

Property: Artis Domus Relais
Address: Via Fuoro 85, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Artis Domus Relais 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artis Domus Restaurant, Bar and Realis is your choice of realx, green oasis of tranquility carved in the center of Sorrento. Restored a few years, the former residence of the poet Saltovar, which even then was a meeting place of the Sorrentine is now a restaurant, bar and for those who decide to spend a few days here in Sorrento can choose to stay at one of the small apartments rented to 'interior of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artis Domus Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing