We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious hospitality in a prime location”
Review of Divinahouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Divinahouse
Ranked #50 of 144 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Vittorio and Maria went out of their way to welcome us to Sorrento and to their home. Lovely, clean room in a simple clean house in the heart of Sorrento. Generous breakfast (croissants, pastries, good coffee, fruit, yogurt) every morning while chatting in broken Italian and English with Maria. Vittorio, her son, has good English and answered all of our questions. The B & B was recently renovated, so everything is new and clean. It was a little hard to find, but most shop owners in Sorrento speak English and were able to point us in the right direction. Note: the hotel name is not on the property, so just find the address and ring the button that says Divinahouse. Also, note that you can sometimes hear the singing from the church next door as you wake up in the morning. I loved it, but some people might not.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Singergirl1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

I dont know if this B&B still goes under the name "Divinahouse", there was not a sign of this anymore? We met our friendly host Carlo only once, had to make a phonecall for him and wait for a while until he came to let us in. Room was nice and comfortable with a french balcony, good air-condition and soundproofing. As a suprise our bathroom was across the corridor and breakfast was total self-service deal in a cute kitchen, we missed "Mama" from previous reviews.. Room-service did a good job every day. Great location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank File101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

What a delightful place to stay in downtown Sorrento! Spacious & beautiful rooms with never-tiring "people-watching" views from the balcony! Warm & generous hospitality from Vittorio & his Mama, offering great tips on food & travel, homemade treats & the famous "rum-baba" & delightful conversation! Truly a home away from home at a place we will defintely return to! Can't wait!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

At first glance, we weren't so sure - after all, no one had heard of Divina House, and we had a rough time finding it. BUT, once we did, we were charmed. Vittorio is a wonderful host and speaks English very well. His mother, Maria, is a wonderfully sweet lady. She speaks VERY little English, yet somehow we managed to communicate. The B&B is in their home, which is why no one could tell us where it was by name (Mapquest it before you go, and you'll be fine!). It was off the beaten path just a bit - quiet, yet close to the town center. We had a beautifully decorated, very clean room with our own bath, fridge and small balcony. We absolutely loved it, and we would definitely recommend it. We WILL stay there again! WONDERFUL!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelergoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My husband and I spent 4 glorious days in Sorrento. Maria and and her son were wonderful hosts. The location was amazing - one block away from the main square... It's a small B&B completely renovated with 4 rooms. Ours was lovely with a little french balcony. Maria took great care of us and was always there if we needed anything. She made our stay at Divina House and Sorrento very special...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The guesthouse is in a perfect location in the heart of Sorrento, only a few strides from the public terrace overlooking the bay of Naples, with quick access to the Piazza Tasso and the harbour. The three rooms are immaculate: beautifully furnished, with modern quiet air conditioning. Our room looked over the street and had a small balcony, perfect for people watching, but with the street noise that's inevitable in Italy: not noisy bars or heavy traffic, just intermittent scooters and cars. This wasn't a problem, however, as the double glazed windows shut out any noise when we wanted.

Divinahouse is run by Vittorio, with the help of his mother, Maria. They're both extremely friendly and helpful, providing us with timetables, recommending places to eat, giving us advice on places to visit. Vittorio speaks good English, but Maria has little, though this doesn't stop her communicating!

Breakfast is an intimate affair in the small kitchen, with Maria providing the usual fare of coffee and croissants, but with little Italian extras such as gateau and rum babas; be prepared to be well fed.

In summary, a great place that we wouldn't hesitate recommending to anyone. Thank you for your hispitality, Vittorio and Maria.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dunky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divinahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divinahouse

Address: Piazza Francesco Saverio Gargiulo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: £67 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divinahouse is situated in the historic centre of sorrento in an antique building of the seventeen hundreds which has been completely restored recently.the sensation of travelling back in time is felt as soon as you enter the door.the walls of the building are attached to the beautiful church of st. Francis.the villa comunale panoramic terrace above the sea is only a few steps away; from here you go down to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Divinahouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing