We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a treat”
Review of Palazzo Abagnale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Abagnale
Ranked #30 of 134 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a treat”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay at this small boutique hotel in Sorrento. The furnishings are smart and modern, but the service is almost old-fashioned. Staff were all courteous and happy to go out of their way to assist us. The restaurants/pizza cafes they recommended were all good. The breakfasts served each morning were really delicious and set us up for the day. One of our twin rooms was quite small, but the room I had at the top of the hotel (up a narrow set of stairs) was really comfortable. It could be hot in summer though. While a little difficult to find, the hotel was well-situated, surrounded by interesting shops, pastry cafes, etc, and walking distance from the railway station, even with suitcases on rollers. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I think that top bedroom would be hot in summer - I didn't need to use the heating, in January.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    179
    41
    19
    25
See reviews for
118
333
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Beautiful rooms, superb location (5 minute walk from train station, 1 minute from main square, 1 minute from supermarket), delicious breakfast and the most amazing staff. Thank You for everything. Jacob, Danka and Marcin Chorostowscy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chorostowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear Jacob, Danka and Marcin,

We miss you all! It was great to have you here and to see the happiness of the little Jacob everyday!

We wait for you here again.

Kisses,
Valentina Cioffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My husband and I spent three very wonderful nights at Palazzo Abagnale.
Everything was just perfect , from our very swish black and white suite, to super friendly and helpful staff, to the buffet breakfast (home baked focaccia and fruit loaves, and coffees to order), even the housekeeping was awesome.

If we ever make it back to Sorrento (which I hope we will one day- it is such a charming city and we ran out of time to see all that we wanted to see), we would definitely stay at the Palazzo Abagnale again.

Thank you to Elio for your super friendly service and your Italian lessons, and to the rest of the team. Your professionalism and friendliness set the hotel apart from many others that we stayed in during our travels in Europe.

Room Tip: We had a suite , so this gave us a bit of extra space and represented excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Cherlene,

Thank you for your wonderful words. We really enjoyed have you here with us.
Now you are part of our family and we really hope to have you here in the next future.

Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed in this place between 09/01/13 to 11/01/13. I booked for 4 people and I stayed in Green room. Room was clean and had enough space for my family.
It's near the station and really great location and breakfast was nice.
And the staff!!!! They are sooooo kind and nice.
I should go back to Sorrento :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jooseon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
We really loved to have you with us! It was a big pleasure to meet you.

Thank you for your words and we really hope to have you here again in the next future.

A warm hug from all the staff of Palazzo Abagnale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed in this place between 02/01/2013 to 06/01/2013 in a so called triple room ( BLUE ROOM ) which was was small compared to the photos in the website ,the third bed was a sofa bed which was was extremely uncomfortable. We had difficulty in locating the hotel as it comprises of a number of rooms over shops on the high street accessed by a narrow staircase via which one has to carry their luggage, no lifts.We encountered an unclean room with hair on the bed sheets which my wife pointed out to the reception. No clean bedding was provided till the next morning.
The breakfast is very basic for the price.The service is atrocious as the receptionist, maids and cooks are one and the same people.The shower is dysfunctional and floods the bathroom.No toiletries are provided daily. The furniture is cheap plastic
On the final day we came to the breakfast room at 0805 hrs, the room was dark and there was nothing ready. We waited patiently for over 20 minutes but there seemed to be no urgency in serving us any breakfast despite them being aware that we had a bus to board for the airport at 0900 . We then asked Marica,Mariana and Stephana to pack us some breakfast which also fell on deaf ears.When we lost our cool we were offered 10 Euros as compensation for 3 adults which we did not accept.Mariana resorted to name calling and was extremely rude.
Surely not a hotel for families or couples . A place that is sufficient for back packers at an exorbitant cost.
The gentleman who comes in the morning is an extremely nice person and tries to help. Wifi is good. Good location.
Do not fall into the trap of booking this property as the website is a con, you will find many decent places in Sorrento for a lower price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abhijoy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Mr. Abhijoy,
We are really sorry to read these words from your part.

You booked a triple standard room that is the room you get. A room of 28 metres squares equipped with TV sat, direct phone, heating, safe, minifridge. During your stay you never said nothing about the room. We could give you a free upgrade in a deluxe room.
You are complaining about the plastic furnitures. We are sorry if you do not like plastic but above all the furnitures of the famous architect and designer Philippe Starck "KARTELL" . All the furnitures are very expensive and exclusive, it is the style of our hotel.

Palazzo Abagnale is located on Corso Italia, 164, the main street of Sorrento, few metres from Tasso Square and it is clearly indicated on our entrance door. We really do not understand the difficulty of finding it.
We helped you with your bags for the first steps we have to reach the reception, than you took the elevater to go into your room.
As you can read from all the previous reviews all our guest are happy about the cleaning of the hotel and of the rooms.

We have 3 people working at the reception and 3 maids, one for the breakfast and two for the rooms.

As regards the breakfast it is very strange that you are speaking about basic breakfast since we have cold and hot milk, tea, american coffee, italian espresso, cappuccino, cereals, yogurts, differents tastes of fruit juices, differents jams, nutella, fresh croissants and paistries, fresh breads,boiled eggs, wurstel, ham, cheese, salami, italian pizza, butter, home made cakes, fresh fruits and crackers. Is it a basic berakfast? Besides you were very very happy that everyday we prepared a fresh cake and hot chocolate milk for your daughter.

At the end regarding the day of your departure, we had no electricity when you came at 08.05, but 5 minutes later all the lights were on and the breakfast was ready, in fact your daugther was eating a cake. Since you said you were in a hurry our receptionist proposed to go with her at the bar downstairs to have breakfast paying the bill for you. You refused and our maids prepared a bag for you with eggs, fruits and other thing to carry away with you, but you were so angry that you left the eggs on the reception desk and the mandarins in the stairs.

We are very happy that your room is clearly advertised on our website, the pictures are real and our website is not a con like you were saying otherwise how you can explain all the good reviews we have from all other guests?!
We are sorry that you did not like our modern style and taht you considered that Eur 60.00 per room per night for a triple room in the centre of Sorrento is expensive.

In any case we will take in consideration some of your words even if we do not agree, but of course not the offensive one.
Warm regards,
Valentina Cioffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gedera, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

First I must say that the hotel is amazingly beautiful, and more importantly the service was great . We paid in advance for one night and we stayed in an innovative and beautiful room. In the morning we enjoyed a luxurious breakfast and just did not want to leave. Luckily there was a spare room in the structure adjacent to the hotel and we were happy to stay for another night. The second room was huge and had an ancient romantic style. it was an amazing experience of comfort, beauty, and especially excellent service - the staff was always happy to help in any way, and made ​​efforts to ensure that we will have a pleasant experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayZAAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allinsrl, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you so much for your words!
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we wait for you in the next future.

Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had an odd, at times frustrating and maddening, and eventually nice experience with Palazzo Abagnale. My wife and I spent Christmas 2012 in Rome and Sorrento with our 3 month old baby. We were booked in to stay at the Palazzo Abagnale from December 31 - January 4. Having had Palazzo Abagnale booked through our travel agent and having researched it online, we were certainly excited about our stay.

When we showed up in the 31st, the receptionist was kind and as helpful as she could be through her broken English. She suggested she would walk us to our room which was a block away. Odd, we thought, but at this point we were of the mind that the Palazzo had a few properties close by.

We were walked about 2 blocks (with suitcases and stroller) and shown through a somewhat dingy door into a dirty lobby area of what looked like an apartment complex. We made our way up to the room and were led into a very plain looking 'suite' style room with kitchenette, sitting area and bedroom.

It was clear that this was not part of the Palazzo Abagnale property. Indeed there were "Corso Italia Suites" cards in the room which made it clear that we had been checked into an entirely different hotel. The windows opened out at windows of other properties, drying laundry, AC units, etc. On top of that, there was significant mold in the room. The bathroom had an area with a good amount of mold above the toilet (behind your head if you're sitting!). There was mold in the main sitting room where the wall meets the ceiling and more mold on the ceiling of the bedroom.

We walked the two blocks back to the Palazzo Abaganale office and explained our concern/frustration and insisted on a different room. We were told they had nothing. The woman at the desk explained that her boss would be in in the morning and he could help. She also explained that he had better English. Alas, we were forced to stay in the moldy Corso Italia Suites room for a night.

The following morning we returned to the Palazzo office and spoke to said boss. He was a kind and charismatic man but again told us there was no ability to move into the Palazzo. He ultimately gave us three choices:
1. We could stay another night in Corso Italia Suites and then two in the Palazzo Abagnale.
2. We could move to a third 'B&B style' hotel for one night and then into the Palazzo Abagnale.
3. We could move to a third 'B&B style' hotel for our remaining three nights.

Wanting out of the Corso mold room, we chose option 2. We hauled all of our stuff about 4 blocks this time - to the B&B. It was a clean room at least.

We finally got into the Palazzo Abagnale on our third night of four. To be fair to them, the room was exceptional, clean and spacious and we enjoyed being there very much. There was free wifi, it was centrally located and the staff were friendly.

It is a shame, though, that our visit to Sorrento was tainted by the hotel's booking inadequacies. We spent our 4 nights in 3 different hotels, despite having been booked (and fully paid) for months at the Palazzo. It was an immensely frustrating situation. The moves effectively killed a day of our stay in the city and tainted our vacation to be sure.

Would I recommend the Palazzo? Absolutely. If you can be sure that you're getting in there. This practice of hotel-shifting is sketchy and dishonest and it is a shame that they didn't communicate this in advance. We did think about just leaving and finding a new room at a new hotel but were concerned about $ and, honestly, we'd been excited about going to the Palazzo Abagnale.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller499290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
949 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sorrento Flats
Sorrento Flats
#6 of 134 in Sorrento
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Abagnale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Abagnale

Property: Palazzo Abagnale
Address: Corso Italia 164, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Abagnale 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Palazzo Abagnale - located in an historical building in the centre of the town. The staff will receive you at the first floor where the reception and the breakfast room are located. From the second to the third floor you’ll find the rooms, just redecorated in a contemporary style. From the classic revisited style to the Pop Art, each ambiance is characterized for elegance and love in details. All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Abagnale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abagnale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing