We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Centrally Located Place”
Review of Palazzo Abagnale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Abagnale
Ranked #32 of 139 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Centrally Located Place”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

What a little gem of a place. Whilst not the Ritz, this Hotel is modern, really clean, offers a breakfast choice that is more than adequate with the friendliest of staff & couldn't be better situated central right on the Main Street. Only 2 minutes walk to the bus/train station for airport transfers & only 10 minutes in other direction for the harbour for boats to visit the beautiful island of Capri.
We were allocated the attic room, which on first arrival felt very small, but within a short time we realised it was totally adequate, with a really good sized ensuite. There is a door leading onto a large roof terrace solely for use by this room only, complete with lovely outdoor furniture & has lighting for night time use too. It would be wonderful in the warm weather.
The only negative to this room was the lack of a window. Although you can have the door open for ventilation, unfortunately we had serious torrential rain/ hail for the whole stay so was unable to have the door open much. Although the weather was wet, it was warm, which left the room very stuffy. But that was the only negative.
I would definately stay here again & definately recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Derby,

Thank you for your review and for your wonderful words about our place.

We are happy tht you could enjoy the terrace of your room and that you will reccomend us to your friends.

We really hope to have you here in the next future.

Ciao,

Valentina Cioffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    179
    43
    19
    24
See reviews for
120
337
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Palazzo Abagnale after a week in Rome. Although the room wasn't especially large, I was amazed at the way it was set up. The bathroom had the neatest shower I had just about ever seen, with all kinds of massage jets in addition to the main shower. The room was decorated in kind of a royal blue on white and had a cool mural of Marilyn Monroe behind the bed. Whoever did the decorating in their rooms had a wonderful imagination! The people at the desk were very helpful and there was a nice breakfast every morning. It was located within a block of the main plaza in town and there was much to see and do close by. The decor of the whole place was beautiful, and within easy walking distance of the train (and bus) station. Plenty of restaurants and bars close by, and I should mention the price was very reasonable (although I was there in the winter months.) Nonetheless, I'll be returning to this hotel in the future!

Michael L

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Micheal,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about Palazzo Abagnale and all the staff.

We always do our best to make our guests happy and your nice words are what we want to read.

We really hope you can come to enjoy Sorrento and Palazzo Abagnale in summer time.

See you soon,

Valentina Cioffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have just returned from a long weekend in Sorrento, and stayed at the Palazzo Abagnale hotel on the Corso Italia, the hotel is situated approx 100 yards from the Piazzo Tasso, within walking distance of the old town, new town, port, station etc. Which , given the price of taxis, is a godsend.
The rooms are clean and spacious ( for Italy!), the breakfast is good, fresh coffee, made to order, the usual continental fare, with the addition of fresh cakes, apples pie, pastries that are constantly replaced by the staff, who it must be said are extremely friendly, helpful and polite, they make the hotel experience complete are a credit to the Abagnale.
I fully recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Tip, If you intend to visit Pompeii, don’t bother with any expensive excursions, walk down to the train station, buy tickets from the shop ( 4 of us cost 17.6 euros return!), get the train to Naples and half an hour or so later, get off at Pompeii Scavi, the entrance gate is 50 yds. to the right and cost 11 euros each entrance, it really is as easy as it sounds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul5895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. I really enjoyed my stay there. The staff are very good . Friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and comfortable. Very clean . Free wifi which was nice . Also use of a PC in the room and lobby. The hotel is above the Armani store. There is a locked entrance door which u have to buzz to gain entrance. We hired a car. There is a discounted car park for the use of the hotel approx 700m ( quite a walk with luggage ) up the street. We had a slight prob here as they keep ur car keys to move the car to park it. On collection there was a scratch on the back bumper. We were worried that we'd be charged by the hire co for this damage , and garage typically denied all knowledge. Turned out ok as we were not charged but something to think about . I wouldn't leave my keys with a garage again. I'd pay extra to park up myself. Parking expensive @ 18 euros per day (15 discounted). Driving is an experience and wouldn't recommend it unless u r a very confident driver. The roads are bad, mopeds overtaking both sides , very aggressive impatient Italian,drivers. I was massively car sick due to bendy roads :-(
Anyway back to hotel ! The location is excellent just off the main square . On the main shopping street . The breakfast is adequate .
A few tips to the hotel that would have improved our stay.
1. Better pillows. Pillows are important . A few more would have been nice and softer ones even better.
2. More information for guests eg a note on the PC to "sign on as guest to use " a small thing but if the PC is on the windows password it's unclear how to signin with out a password . A small sticker would suffice.
3. At breakfast there are 3 large pots , one coffee , one hot milk etc how are we supposed to know what's in them ? A small card in front of each would be an easy solution.
This was a really good hotel. I would stay there again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sybiltheswan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will do our best next time you come to Palazzo Abagnale in order you will be happy in total for the service received.

Regards,

Valentina Cioffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Readington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Sorrento - and this hotel could not have been in a better location!! It was perfect! Quite litterally 'steps' off of Piazza Tasso. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was very nice and had plenty to offer each morning.
The only drawback was that unbeknownst to us - the tour company we booked thru, put us in a standard room. The room was clean and served it's purpose for our stay - it even had a large private terrace with a lovely view of Mt Vesuvius - but we were a little disappointed that we were not in one of the beautiful rooms shown on the website.
We would definitely stay at the Palazzo Abignale again - only next time we will be sure to book a "deluxe" room.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a deluxe room - NOT a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauradids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Spending my 22nd birthday in Italy was made even better by my stay at this hotel. They are the friendliest and most helpful people I've ever come across. To be surprised by a cake and sparkler on the morning of my birthday was amazing! They made it my most memorable birthday ever!!
The black and white room we stayed in was beautifully decorated with everything you could need. Gorgeous bathroom with lovely big windows and views.
Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Sorrento-

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAbagnale, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Abagnale, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi Nessa,
It was a plesure to have you and your mother with us. We are happy that we made your birthday so special, your smile that morning was the proof.

We really look forward to have you here in the next future.

Thank you and ciao,

Valentina Cioffi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long drive. The hotel was clean, bright and well located just off the main square in Sorrento. Our room was on the corner of the third floor. Possibly a really nice one in the summer time. However, it rained the whole time we staying in Sorrento and the nice double doors leading onto the balcony area leaked. We had to leave a towel to soak up the water. As a consequence, the room was damp. As with seemingly all twin rooms in Italy, it had tiny twin beds. Breakfast was grand, staff were overall very friendly. Otherwise a nice place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aislinn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#71 of 100 in Sorrento
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sorrento Flats
Sorrento Flats
#6 of 139 in Sorrento
902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emily Suites
Emily Suites
#14 of 139 in Sorrento
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vhome
Vhome
#7 of 139 in Sorrento
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Abagnale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Abagnale

Property: Palazzo Abagnale
Address: Corso Italia 164, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Abagnale 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Palazzo Abagnale - located in an historical building in the centre of the town. The staff will receive you at the first floor where the reception and the breakfast room are located. From the second to the third floor you’ll find the rooms, just redecorated in a contemporary style. From the classic revisited style to the Pop Art, each ambiance is characterized for elegance and love in details. All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palazzo Abagnale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abagnale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing