We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
386
193
50
20
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
193
50
20
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square train station green room boutique hotel central location no elevator each morning street noise amalfi coast third floor excellent location rooms were very clean small balcony corso pompeii port naples
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

They were very nice, personally and professionally. I was sick and they were kind enough to take me to the hospital and watch over us during our stay. You could not ask for anything more. I would definately come back to this hotel on our next visit.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly_Litteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Sure, the actual Hotel Abagnale looks like a great hotel in the heart of town, steps from the trins. But beware that they put many guests into their "Annex": a 20 minute walk, carrying your own luggage to the other end of town, situated actually on the outskirts of town. All the services promised, i.e. WiFi, minifridge, soundproof rooms, LCD tv, free breakfast and everything else they state does not apply at the annex. This place has a bed and a tiny bathroom, and paper thin walls and that is it. We tried to leave after the first day, stating that this place was clearly misrepresented, and they said we prepaid in full and that they would call the police if we tried not to pay for the next 2 nights. We even offered to pay half the next 2 nights to be really cooperative and they STILL threatened us. So aggressive, and just really ruined the Sorrento part of our trip. So disappointed with their service and customer service. Will never go back there again.

PS-They don't clean the rooms for three days, in both the "actual" abagnale nor the annex.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We booked this hotel for two nights through venere.com, but nowhere did it specify that the annex was actually a fifteen minute walk from the central location of the hotel itself. Not much use advertising with location and great view from the balcony when you disappoint your guests by putting them up in a damp and less than clean room in a building without staff at reception.

The staff at the main hotel when we came to check in were not very helpful at all and just kept repeating that it DID say on THEIR website that the annex was not part of the main hotel. The location itself didn't matter so much in a small town like Sorrento, but we were expecting a decent standard hotel and needless to say were disaappointed. Also, parking in Sorrento is somewhat of a nightmare, and the staff at checkin were unable to tell us the location of the closest municipal carpark to the annex, ("Sorry, i'm not sure") so we ended up having to drive back and park by the main hotel after all, having dropped our bags off at the annex.

As for the standard of the room itself:
- the drains in the shower were almost totally clogged and when showering we stood ankledeep in water
- the cleaning was not done properly during our stay
- we had to ask for another roll of toilet paper as we were only given half a roll
- the A/C had only one setting (freezing cold), and the stream of cold air was directed straight towards the bed making it uncomfortably cold. Also, it was very noisy. Fortunately, it was not too hot during the night so we were able to turn the whole thing off, but this would have been a problem had it been only slightly warmer.
- we were able to hear the people in the room next door cough, the walls were so thin (on the positive side, due to the location of the building there was no noise from traffic or people at all)

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellinKat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

we stayed for 5 nights and the location could not be better. Inspite of being on one of the main streets in sorrento our room on the third floor was really quiet. Room was spacious, really comfortable bed, lots of space and huge bathroom.
only slight downside was the haphazaed nature of the breakfast. Ths staff seemed to be unable to ensure that there was a regular supply of coffee, hot water bread etc. I don't think that the staff are hotel trained as every little issue seemed to case them to stress out! However, breakfast over the road in the Bar Rita which is used by locals is a great alternative option.
we would definitely go back.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkAwayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The staff stayed back very late until i arrived into Sorrento as my flight was delayed into Rome. They were extremely helpful throughout my 2 nights with recommendations and I was also upgraded to a very large and beautiful room.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiriaki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews