We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorrento Sorrento So so so Sorrento”
Review of Palazzo Abagnale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Abagnale
Ranked #31 of 147 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I stayed in an apartment part of Palazo Abagnale - which is next to the swanky new building. I had such a retreat over the 5 days I was there. It was quiet, great bed, a wee kitchen where I could make dinner if I really wanted. There is a supermarket just down the road and its in walking distance from the train.

The staff were simply beautiful to me and their cheeryness was catching.

Its a great location to go to Pompeii, Capri and the Amalfi Coast and the staff will be more than helpful to assist you on your daily jaunts.

Its located near all the reastaurants and when you pop out the big door you are in the middle of Sorrento and yet inside its as quiet as.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pugletina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

They were very nice, personally and professionally. I was sick and they were kind enough to take me to the hospital and watch over us during our stay. You could not ask for anything more. I would definately come back to this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly_Litteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Sure, the actual Hotel Abagnale looks like a great hotel in the heart of town, steps from the trins. But beware that they put many guests into their "Annex": a 20 minute walk, carrying your own luggage to the other end of town, situated actually on the outskirts of town. All the services promised, i.e. WiFi, minifridge, soundproof rooms, LCD tv, free breakfast and everything else they state does not apply at the annex. This place has a bed and a tiny bathroom, and paper thin walls and that is it. We tried to leave after the first day, stating that this place was clearly misrepresented, and they said we prepaid in full and that they would call the police if we tried not to pay for the next 2 nights. We even offered to pay half the next 2 nights to be really cooperative and they STILL threatened us. So aggressive, and just really ruined the Sorrento part of our trip. So disappointed with their service and customer service. Will never go back there again.

PS-They don't clean the rooms for three days, in both the "actual" abagnale nor the annex.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We booked this hotel for two nights through venere.com, but nowhere did it specify that the annex was actually a fifteen minute walk from the central location of the hotel itself. Not much use advertising with location and great view from the balcony when you disappoint your guests by putting them up in a damp and less than clean room in a building without staff at reception.

The staff at the main hotel when we came to check in were not very helpful at all and just kept repeating that it DID say on THEIR website that the annex was not part of the main hotel. The location itself didn't matter so much in a small town like Sorrento, but we were expecting a decent standard hotel and needless to say were disaappointed. Also, parking in Sorrento is somewhat of a nightmare, and the staff at checkin were unable to tell us the location of the closest municipal carpark to the annex, ("Sorry, i'm not sure") so we ended up having to drive back and park by the main hotel after all, having dropped our bags off at the annex.

As for the standard of the room itself:
- the drains in the shower were almost totally clogged and when showering we stood ankledeep in water
- the cleaning was not done properly during our stay
- we had to ask for another roll of toilet paper as we were only given half a roll
- the A/C had only one setting (freezing cold), and the stream of cold air was directed straight towards the bed making it uncomfortably cold. Also, it was very noisy. Fortunately, it was not too hot during the night so we were able to turn the whole thing off, but this would have been a problem had it been only slightly warmer.
- we were able to hear the people in the room next door cough, the walls were so thin (on the positive side, due to the location of the building there was no noise from traffic or people at all)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellinKat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

we stayed for 5 nights and the location could not be better. Inspite of being on one of the main streets in sorrento our room on the third floor was really quiet. Room was spacious, really comfortable bed, lots of space and huge bathroom.
only slight downside was the haphazaed nature of the breakfast. Ths staff seemed to be unable to ensure that there was a regular supply of coffee, hot water bread etc. I don't think that the staff are hotel trained as every little issue seemed to case them to stress out! However, breakfast over the road in the Bar Rita which is used by locals is a great alternative option.
we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkAwayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The staff stayed back very late until i arrived into Sorrento as my flight was delayed into Rome. They were extremely helpful throughout my 2 nights with recommendations and I was also upgraded to a very large and beautiful room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiriaki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We arrived three hours later than we intended but there was no problem with check-in. We were told that our room would be several blocks down the street in an apartment building (annex)...I was a tad disappointed but not surprised since I had read reviews that some of their rooms were down the street. It was almost 10 p.m. and we were a bit scared at first because we went into a dark courtyard and up steps to the 2nd floor but we were pleasantly surprised at the enormous room! The balcony opened up onto the main shopping street and I felt like I was on Bourbon Street in New Orleans. The apartment was clean and had a mini kitchen with bowls, utensils, etc. I loved our location although it was farther from the train station than the main hotel. This is a great price and a nice hotel...they only cleaned once every three days but that wasn't a problem. Can't wait to go back. Yes, it was loud in the evenings but I enjoyed hearing the night life under our window.
One negative: I thought we got breakfast included but they told us we didn't in what we booked through Expedia.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLPProsper_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Room Sorrento
Sea Room Sorrento
#18 of 147 in Sorrento
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Magnolia
La Magnolia
#34 of 147 in Sorrento
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Kalea
Maison Kalea
#9 of 147 in Sorrento
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#16 of 147 in Sorrento
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Abagnale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Abagnale

Address: Corso Italia 164, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: £54 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Abagnale 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Palazzo Abagnale - located in an historical building in the centre of the town. The staff will receive you at the first floor where the reception and the breakfast room are located. From the second to the third floor you’ll find the rooms, just redecorated in a contemporary style. From the classic revisited style to the Pop Art, each ambiance is characterized for elegance and love in details. All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Abagnale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abagnale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing