We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa La Contessina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our family vacation at Villa La Contessina was fabulous. The villa is amazingly beautiful and was perfect for our needs. We travel with my 87 year old mother and it is difficult to find villa that is suitable for her mobility needs. Not only was this villa perfect for that reason since it has an elevator and a shower stall not a tub in the bedroom but each bedroom had its own bathroom and the location allowed us to walk to shops and delicious restaurants. My mother was able to walk to both shops and restaurants. The villa is also close to the marina. Anastasia, the owner, was so unbelievably helpful during the planning stages as well as while we were guests. Always available and helpful. Her mother prepared an outrageously delicious buffet of local dishes upon our arrival. We couldn't even decide which dish was our favorite! This villa is perfect on so many levels. I highly recommend this as the ideal vacation spot. The location, the hospitality, the beauty of the house and it's garden. We loved every minute and hated to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smangel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had planned a small family reunion (8 adults) - for some of us it was our first trip to Italy, so having a great location and comfortable accommodations was high on our need list. The Villa was perfect - 5 separate bedrooms, all with baths, and a fantastic kitchen/dining room area, all with beautiful tile work and impeccably maintained. The outdoor areas were large, key-controlled, and well landscaped - there is a large, tiled area with more chairs and tables so you can relax or take your meals outside. The villa was literally only steps from the local square and a look-out area, and easy walking distance to the main shopping/dining areas and the train station. The owner, Anastasia, was very welcoming and generous with her time and advise - incredibly, she and her Mother delivered a full buffet meal on the first night just to welcome us! I can't imagine a better home base for a vacation in Sorrento - whether we were touring the Amalfi Coast, traveling to Pompeii, seeing Capri, or taking the train to Paestum, we were always happy to return to this oasis. I can't imagine returning to Sorrento without staying here.

Room Tip: 4 bedrooms are upstairs, which can be reached by stairs or a small elevator. Two of those rooms offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at the villa with 4 adults and 2 children and had a wonderful time. The pictures can barely do it justice, and the 'hosts' are better than long lost family.

We arrived to a wonderful buffet of food that served as a perfect welcome to the villa and the area. The location of the villa is perfect - with the outdoor amenities of a hotel with the privacy of our own home. In addition, the layout of the villa proved to be child-friendly as there was no internal staircase and the garden had just the two steps and was completely gated. We loved the visiting cats, the ping pong table, and the smell of jasmine permeating everything. The villa is also adorned with such lovely ornaments which added so much to the ambiance.

The only 'issue' we had is that at the hotel/tourist facilities across the street there was an event every night. So we were serenaded with dance music and revelry while we enjoyed the garden. Having said that, it wasnt really disruptive, we made a game of guessing what the event was, and the shutters on all the windows ensured that the noise didnt reach us when we were sleeping.

Anastasia and her family were more than welcoming and focused on our comfort - even bringing us another set of keys when we didn't realise we already had two. Greeting us with leaving sweets for my girls on the last day. And finally, having left behind an iPod, Anastasia let me know even before we got to the airport and has shipped it back to me without a question.

Having stayed in villas in both Italy and France, I would highly recommend this as a particularly wonderful find. No disappointments and only highlights and positive surprises. Oh, and did i mention the sea views from the bedroom balcony on the upper floor?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Villa la Contessina was our highlight of our month long trip! We rented the entire villa and when we arrived we were greeted by Anastasia and her mother who had prepared an amazing Italian dinner for all of us! I had read all the reviews and looked at all the pictures and just hoped I had found a good spot for our large group but I never imagined it would be as outstanding as it was; the most lovely and helpful host, the best location in Sorrento, and a beautiful villa and garden to relax. Sorrento is one of my favorite towns in Italy to vacation and we will never stay anywhere else. Honestly, if you ever have a chance to stay there DO, you will fall in love with it too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2happy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Imagine booking a place over the internet to house your entire family for your destination wedding in Sorrento, Italy with only a few pictures to some blind faith. Then imagine showing up and walking into a beautiful oasis that not only met your expectations, but redefined what it means to be on vacation. We spent an entire week and could not have been happier.

Villa La Contessina was everything we could have ever hoped it could have been for our family's stay in Sorrento. Just steps away from the beach, a quick walk to the port and two blocks from all the shopping you could ever hope for, Villa La Contessina was simply perfect. Anastasia, the Villa owner and her mother are the sweetest people in the world and they went out of their way to make sure our every need was met while we were there.

Our family made hundreds of memories in the astoundingly beautiful courtyard, drinking wine and enjoying salumi over conversation. When we return to Sorrento one anniversary in the future, you better believe we will be calling Anastasia and booking again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeezyMelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Villa la Contessina is just an incredible place to stay. I have never seen anything better in Sorrento!
The Villa has a wonderful location (3 minutes walk from Sorrento main square), and at the same time is in a very quite place, and very close to the sea. There is a beautiful garden, which is very unusual similar places in Sorrento, and the staff is very friendly and extremely kind.
Now I know why everyone dreams to come back to this place, and everyone wishes to stay longer! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contess, Proprietario at Villa La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013
Google Translation

Grazie grazie mille!
Cordiali saluti
Anastasia Del vecchio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Villa La Contessina was such a find! Great location, room and value-for-money. A very hospitable host in Anastasia, we wish we could stay forever!

Location

Just a minute’s walk to Piazza Tasso, Sorrento’s main square and hive of activity. Just opposite the villa is a tourist info desk.

Just steps from the villa are a few restaurants and pizzerias. A minute’s walk to villa comunale for a great view of the sunset and where you can take the lift down to one of the marinas. A longer 10 min walk to Marina Grande for the restaurants there. But ferries to Capri or Positano depart from a different marina, which is a short walk down slope and stairs from the villa. Also a minute’s walk to the pedestrianized shopping streets!

About 7 minute’s walk on flat ground to the train and bus station.

My only gripe is there’s a road outside the villa with vehicles going up and down from the port, so there is an occasional honk. But nothing too bothersome in view of the great location. There is a church nearby and you’ll hear the bells ring either 30 or 40 times (I lost count) at 7.15am, but it’s not loud.

Villa

The villa has a lovely garden with loungers and a hammock. The pictures you see online are exactly what you get. There are also some orange and lemon trees on the property, a reminder that you’re in Sorrento.

We only had a room and didn’t have access to the main living room or kitchen, but it definitely looked very charming and homely.

Room

We took one of the rooms with a terrace on the second floor (the room is called Capri). It has a pretty big terrace by my standards, with a couple of arm chairs. Some view of the sea and sunset. It is amazing to wake up to birds chirping every morning.

There is a lift up to the second floor and Anastasia helped us bring our luggage up via the lift.

The room itself is comfortable, with a bed decently sized for 2. The room is not big, but comfortable enough for 2 with large suitcases to move around. There is a small breakfast table and a couple of chairs too. Anastasia had prepared some stuff for us to get started, with milk and juice in the fridge, and water, bread and some snacks on the breakfast table.

In-room safe, good wi-fi and international news channels, great to catch up on what’s happening around the world.

Bathroom has a shower, WC and bidet. There are thoughtful touches with a pouch containing lip balm, sachets of shampoo and body wash.

Because we didn’t need the rooms to be serviced daily, we got a discount.

Anastasia is a very hospitable host. She speaks good English especially considering it is not her first language. She kindly picked us up from the train station on the evening that we arrived. Upon arrival at the villa, she helped orientate us and had a map with good restaurants and sights marked out by her. We loved her suggestions on restaurants! And oh, there were welcome shots of limoncello too.

We stayed four nights at Contessina and would not hesitate to return again. We had earlier booked to move to Villa Adriana for better sea views, and were sad to leave Contessina.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juzatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contess, Proprietario at Villa La Contessina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Juza, Thank you for having written to Trip Advisor.
I check all your information and i'm glad to read all the positives things that you mentioned.
Thank you for having chosen Villa la Contessina for your holidays.
Best wishes
Anastasia Del Vecchio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,374 reviews
0 mi away
La Piazzetta Guest House
La Piazzetta Guest House
#1 of 76 in Sorrento
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Elisa Casa Vacanze
Villa Elisa Casa Vacanze
#4 of 76 in Sorrento
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sorrento Apartments
Sorrento Apartments
#2 of 76 in Sorrento
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Contessina

Address: Via Luigi de Maio 38, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range: £500 - £672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the get-away of your dreams? Then Villa La Contessina is the ideal vacation spot for you! The Villa is nestled within an ancient park in the heart of the historical sights of center city Sorrento. In the Villa’s luxuriant gardens, you can breathe the heady perfume of nature which envelopes you there during every season of the year. You will savor the smells of citrus and olive trees and of the centuries’ old regional flora.Ideally located, The Villa is just a short walk away from the center of Sorrento. As you take a pleasant and quiet jaunt through the city’s quaint back alleys, you can pop in and out of the specialty shops and eateries to hunt for good buys and enjoy the city’s distinctive culinary delights.Nearby, you’ll find the port of Marina Piccola, from which hydroplanes leave every day of the week. Like many before you, you will be captivated by Sorrento’s charm and enraptured by the city’s uniquely evocative atmosphere.You may reserve the whole villa or for regular bed and breakfast accommodations.Check in from 4.00 PM to 7.00 PM - check out until 10.00 AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing