We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$345
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
US$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$270
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$1,066
US$892
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
US$307
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cesare Augusto(Sorrento)
US$228
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
39
12
3
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
12
3
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking schoolgelatoimperial suiteplace to stayexcellent locationmarialuggagesorrentinoapartment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Great place to stay and a great location, nice rooms, nice restaurant and Maria is a lovely host. Extremely helpful with all the local tips and tricks. Make sure you check out William's gelateria next door... amazing! We also did a cooking course in his little kitchen which was fantastic, using beautiful fresh food to create some amazing traditional dishes, a great way to spend the arvo and night. Highly recommended for a few nights in sorrento

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliansOnTour12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This was my second stay. I can't say enough about the immaculate and comfortable rooms, the warmth and generosity of Maria, Theresa, Nino, Luigi and all the family who make this such a special place.
Even though the Sorrento season had not officially begun when we checked in, Maria, as usual, went out of her way to welcome us-helping us connect with a wonderful and friendly driver who picked us up a the Naples airport to Luigi preparing fantastic pizzas for us even though the restaurant was not yet officially open. We stayed for 6 nights and we were treated exceptionally well. Overall, the place to stay if you are looking for a central Sorrento location.

Room Tip: Expess your need to Maria.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed 5 nights in the suite Antico Sorrento. It truly was the most beautiful suite we have ever stayed in. The B&B appears new and everything is sparkling clean. This particular suite has frescoed ceilings. Ceilings are very tall and the suite is spacious.. The floor and bathroom are tiled with traditional patterned tiles. The furniture is high quality antique. The bed seems larger than a king with an excellent, firm mattress. The bathroom is very nice with excellent water pressure and all the hot water you need. There is a kitchen set-up in an armoire. We did not cook but made coffee and tea. It would be difficult to make a full meal, but there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. There is a great bakery right across the street. The B&B is over a restaurant owned by the same family, and the street is a busy pedestrian street in the old center. The location was ideal. We slept with the double-paned windows closed and were not bothered by noise. The couple who run the place are Maria and William and they are both very warm, friendly and helpful. We hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blossoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

If you scroll down the page of review to the one on Sept. 22nd 2010, it was bang on. But I will elaborate on further disappointments. Firstly, this is NOT A BED AND BREAKFAST. They aren't even open until 10:30am for anything! No breakfast included!After you have trucked your suitcases down a narrow, dark, trip-trappy alleyway, you stumble across a building playing loud cheesy Italian music on a repeat loop. Our room was roomy but damp. The beds are like sleeping on very hard cardboard. I'm not sure which was worse, the loud music repeating every 20 minutes outside our room, or the screaming baby heard through the very thin wall in the adjacent room which was only separated by our room with a dresser (that was locked and not even useable!). We could hear them whispering next door. To top it off next morning I was awoken very early to renovating across the alleyway which was very loud. We also discovered an ant parade in the room the next morning...unbelievable. But the worst part was that you don't feel like a guest, but like a walking ATM. We were consistently harassed the by the restaurant next door to have dinner there, buy his drinks, etc. We couldn't even come and go to our "B&B" without getting harassed. It was very uncomforable. Finally Sorrento overall was big disappointment. It is such a tourist trap and tacky. We did take a great day trip to Capri which was great. Do not stay here or in Sorrento for that matter.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank theislanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Maria, our host, was a gem. Nothing was too much trouble for her and her family!

Access to the accommodation is level via a lift, or you can take the stairs. However you may have difficulty driving into the street as it's very narrow and often pedistrian-only access. It's located in the old part of Sorrento, and consequently is surrounded by toursity shops and is quite busy. Sorrento, although not as beautiful as other cities in the Amalfi Coast, is easily accessible and has good access via boat to the other smaller towns.

Our room was above the street (which is busy and noisy) but we didn't hear a thing through the double-glazed windows. Air con worked well. Newly renovated bathroom that was large and very clean. Comfortable beds and pillows. Breakfast was a bit average, but there's a great deli right across the road that we ate at instead. We also ate the restaurant, but it wasn't very good; you get what you pay for. Overall an enjoyable experience, and if I went back to Sorrento, would stay here with Maria again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emahamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews