We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B
Ranked #74 of 145 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Gorgeous room smack back in the middle of Sorrento. Its a B&B, so no real facilities but if you want to be right in the middle of things its a great place to stay at a decent price.

Just to note: Although its on a busy lane right in the middle of town the large double glazed doors means you don't hear a think.

Will stay here again if we are back in Sorrento

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2IrishTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed here with my partner in April; it was a third time visit to Sorrento and the Old Taverna is by far the best accommodation we've stayed in.

Each of the rooms are different and are furnished in traditional Italian styles, we loved our 'Amalfi' room with its beautiful tiled floor, and original art work.

The Taverna itself is a B&B, but Maria and her family also own and run the Taverna, the Gelato bar and the Cookery School at the street entrance. They are also an absolutely mine of local information.

I don't believe you will find a better host than Maria in Sorrento and she with her lovely family made us feel 'adopted' and the fact we are returning next year, speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Choose your own room on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here as a solo female traveller at the end of my Europe trip and was so happy I chose this as my last stop. The helpful and kind nature of William and Maria was something you don't often get to experience. I travelled during the off/Winter season and they were so helfpul with suggestions of places to visit. I completed my stay with a one-on-one cooking class that I cannot recommend highly enough, a MUST if you stay here.

Room was perfect with comfortable bed, huge bathroom and amazing little balcony to look over the Sorrento alleyways.

Highly highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Great place to stay and a great location, nice rooms, nice restaurant and Maria is a lovely host. Extremely helpful with all the local tips and tricks. Make sure you check out William's gelateria next door... amazing! We also did a cooking course in his little kitchen which was fantastic, using beautiful fresh food to create some amazing traditional dishes, a great way to spend the arvo and night. Highly recommended for a few nights in sorrento

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliansOnTour12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This was my second stay. I can't say enough about the immaculate and comfortable rooms, the warmth and generosity of Maria, Theresa, Nino, Luigi and all the family who make this such a special place.
Even though the Sorrento season had not officially begun when we checked in, Maria, as usual, went out of her way to welcome us-helping us connect with a wonderful and friendly driver who picked us up a the Naples airport to Luigi preparing fantastic pizzas for us even though the restaurant was not yet officially open. We stayed for 6 nights and we were treated exceptionally well. Overall, the place to stay if you are looking for a central Sorrento location.

Room Tip: Expess your need to Maria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed 5 nights in the suite Antico Sorrento. It truly was the most beautiful suite we have ever stayed in. The B&B appears new and everything is sparkling clean. This particular suite has frescoed ceilings. Ceilings are very tall and the suite is spacious.. The floor and bathroom are tiled with traditional patterned tiles. The furniture is high quality antique. The bed seems larger than a king with an excellent, firm mattress. The bathroom is very nice with excellent water pressure and all the hot water you need. There is a kitchen set-up in an armoire. We did not cook but made coffee and tea. It would be difficult to make a full meal, but there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. There is a great bakery right across the street. The B&B is over a restaurant owned by the same family, and the street is a busy pedestrian street in the old center. The location was ideal. We slept with the double-paned windows closed and were not bothered by noise. The couple who run the place are Maria and William and they are both very warm, friendly and helpful. We hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blossoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

If you scroll down the page of review to the one on Sept. 22nd 2010, it was bang on. But I will elaborate on further disappointments. Firstly, this is NOT A BED AND BREAKFAST. They aren't even open until 10:30am for anything! No breakfast included!After you have trucked your suitcases down a narrow, dark, trip-trappy alleyway, you stumble across a building playing loud cheesy Italian music on a repeat loop. Our room was roomy but damp. The beds are like sleeping on very hard cardboard. I'm not sure which was worse, the loud music repeating every 20 minutes outside our room, or the screaming baby heard through the very thin wall in the adjacent room which was only separated by our room with a dresser (that was locked and not even useable!). We could hear them whispering next door. To top it off next morning I was awoken very early to renovating across the alleyway which was very loud. We also discovered an ant parade in the room the next morning...unbelievable. But the worst part was that you don't feel like a guest, but like a walking ATM. We were consistently harassed the by the restaurant next door to have dinner there, buy his drinks, etc. We couldn't even come and go to our "B&B" without getting harassed. It was very uncomforable. Finally Sorrento overall was big disappointment. It is such a tourist trap and tacky. We did take a great day trip to Capri which was great. Do not stay here or in Sorrento for that matter.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank theislanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B

Address: Via Fuoro 23, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range: £87 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its genre, the Old Taverna Sorrentina, is situated in an old 18th century palace, now completely restored, offers visitors all kinds of gastronomical specialities typical of a tavern, and also offers rooms in order for you to experience the culture and ambience of the historical centre of Sorrento.Don’t miss the opportunity to spend your holiday with us or try some of the specialities from the Sorrento area in the heart of its historic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing