We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, expensive and uncomfortable beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B
Ranked #73 of 138 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed, expensive and uncomfortable beds.”
Reviewed 17 September 2010

After reading the reviews we decided to book for a week looking forward to some comfort. We had booked the Regina suite and was told that it would be extra per night if we wanted to use the kitchen utensils which we thought we wld get since we were paying 100euro per night already!?compared to what other hotels offered this was disappointing they didn't deliver on what was promised on the website.The breakfast was poor with a small selection of choice.the beds were the biggest disappointment, two single hard beds pushed together, but in the photo came across and advertisted and a large king bed.The sheets and towels were old and smelt of old cigerette smoke. Other than that, it was a good location with many stores, but noisy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovebuncha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    11
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed in Old Taverna a few weeks ago and had a wonderful time. Maria and her family were so helpful, kind and friendly. The room was really spacious with a large bed and plenty of storage space - we also had a balcony which was a great bonus. Breakfast was good, just simple coffee with toast or crossiant. Really reasonably priced and in a perfect location. If I am lucky enough to visit sorrento again, I will definately stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roisinm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

What a wonderful ,unexpected treasure ! Wonderful location right in the old town section of Sorrento. Beautiful rooms that are kept very clean. The family that runs this B&B are so accomodating and friendly. A real Italian family that treat you like you are part of their family during your stay. Another bonus is the Taverna below the B&B which is also run by the same family , which has amazing food and the gelato is the best we had tasted.
Thank you Bill and Teresa for such a great stay. We will be back..

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravel55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stumbled upon this place while visiting the actual bar and decided to stay there for a few nights. The rooms were quite beautiful and very well-done and the B&B location was very convenient. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed at the Old Taverna Sorrentina and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms are a large, immaculate, very nicely decorated and best of all equipped with air conditioning which is a huge plus in 90+ degree weather.
The B&B is located in the histroric district of Sorrento on a beautiful narrow street filled with stores and restaurant and the beach is only a five minute walk away. We enjoyed the area so much that we skipped out on a day trip to Amalfi in order to continue exploring Sorrento.
Also, the hotel was kind enough to hold on to our luggage on our check out date, to allow us to conveniently visit the city until it was time to catch our train.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sndsnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

This family owner bed and breakfast is one of the best we have stayed at anywhere! Fabelous family cooking great food and always friendly. Large clean rooms and we always felt at home. The location is also superb if you like to stay in the narrow steets of the town and get the original atmosphere of Sorrento life.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bergenser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed for 15 nights, B&B. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The food was freshly sourced and imaginatively cooked by chef/patron William in the authentic local style. All the staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful with advice on interestng places to visit and how to get there. Front of house man was Antonio, who had a sharp but witty sense of humour combined with true Sorrentino charm.
All in all, a place with character and individuality - not to be missed

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanceSLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Irma
Villa Irma
#86 of 138 in Sorrento
23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sycamore Hill
Sycamore Hill
#78 of 138 in Sorrento
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sorrento Inn Guesthouse
Sorrento Inn Guesthouse
#40 of 138 in Sorrento
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
1878 Sorrento Guest House
1878 Sorrento Guest House
#50 of 70 in Sorrento
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
#39 of 138 in Sorrento
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B

Property: Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B
Address: Via Fuoro 23, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its genre, the Old Taverna Sorrentina, is situated in an old 18th century palace, now completely restored, offers visitors all kinds of gastronomical specialities typical of a tavern, and also offers rooms in order for you to experience the culture and ambience of the historical centre of Sorrento.Don’t miss the opportunity to spend your holiday with us or try some of the specialities from the Sorrento area in the heart of its historic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Taverna Sorrentina B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing