We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to eat”
Review of Syrenuse

Syrenuse
Ranked #122 of 280 Restaurants in Sorrento
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“fantastic place to eat”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

right in the middle of piazza Tasso, friendly staff, lots to choose from on the menu, the food was great. Would recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Littlecalfuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    244
    161
    84
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat with good prices”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The staff were very nice, the drinks were strong and the food was good. In particular, we liked the pizza Tasso. We were presently surprised at the high quality of the food as the prices were very reasonable and they clearly cater to a lot of tourists. My one complaint is the patio area was filled with smokers and the smoke kept blowing into our area inside the restaurant. However this is a problem all over Italy/Europe so not a fault of this particular place. We will go back unless we can find a nice place with fewer smokers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mconerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“touristic and not too friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we had an aperitif here, just once, because the staff was so uninterested, sort of harsh and arrogant, that we found it unpleasant. - The drink was ok, was overpriced. - There are much nicer and better places to sit and enjoy an early evening drink, i would say...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank penelope44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Waste of time and palate. ”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Great location in Piazza Tasso, with sub-par tourist food and poor service. We weren't sure about eating here as it was full of what looked like a tour group, but we had time to kill before checking into our hotel. They did seat us on the side patio, which has a nice view. The spaghetti carbonara was terrible, but it could just be that we'd come from very good food in Rome. We've made better at our house, with ease. The pizza margherita was average, and the dough was incredibly chewy and thick, even by Napoli standards. To top it all off, service felt rushed, and they brought us the check and said we should provide a 10% tip for "the boys". We declined, and realized we should have read other TA reviews which mention the same thing. Sorrento doesn't have much, but they do have better.

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location - reasonable prices”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Unlike some establishments in Sorrento -we were allowed to share a pizza here. There is free wifi for patrons. We visited twice - the food is good and reasonably priced for the location. There is a Good choice of drinks, the hot chocolate is very nice whilst the Syrenuse cocktail was delicious. We've reduced the score because the service can be a bit brusque - We were served our mains whilst we were still eating our starters. We've been in Sorrento a week now and this bar is always busy which indicates it is doing something right.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Syrenuse also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Syrenuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing