We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

To celebrate our 10th anniversary, my wife and I were looking for something special and this hotel was brimming with goodness. It had been a long day with hanging around the airport, the flight and drive to Sorrento but we were in awe when we got out the car and had a nosey around the hotel. The holiday brochure doesnt do this place justice! As for the staff, from the cleaners to the management, everyone was so friendly and helpful, we didn't want to leave.

Don't believe what you see on Google Earth - these photos were obviously taken during the renovation phase.

It location is on the fringe of the old town on a quiet street, the main entrance is metres away from a small square/park with exceptional views across the bay where you can watch the sunset every night.
We paid for a side room view which provided a lovely view of the same square as well as the hotels own beautiful gardens; traffic noise is negligible.

I feel really guilty that we did not spend a night in the bar area as I have never in all my life seen anything like this before but Sorrento is even more beautiful and staying indoors would be a crime.

During our wanders around Sorrento, we looked at other hotels but none compared to La Favorita - even other tourists wandering by and gasped.

While my wife took some convincing to stay here, due to the price, you get what you pay for and we don't regret a penny.

Unforgettable!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphDocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear Sir.,
We are very pleased to read that you found something special as the Grand Hotel La Favorita. for a such important day as your Wedding Anniversary
Thank you for your positive commenton our hotel and we do agree to you that the sunset enjoyed from our hotel and from the smal square opposite to our hotel is something really exclusive.
We hope you come and stay by us in a nearest future and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    188
    37
    9
    10
See reviews for
322
952
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We have just returned from a week in Sorrento staying at The Grand Hotel La Favorita.Before travelling I read all the reviews about this hotel and thought that it could not possibly be that good--but it was.The location was just perfect. The hotel was absolutely spotless and our room number 318 was exquisite with views over the bay.The pool was fabulous and was kept in good order by Luigi. The breakfasts were a delight and Roberto was absolutely charming.Carmine and Antonio on reception were always there to help and nothing was too much trouble.Even the lady who cleaned our room always had a smile.I cannot wait to return and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for a charming and relaxing experience. We will be back soon!
PS Carmine--we do hope you enjoyed the biscuits! Andrew & Linda Quayle

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aandrewlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Quayle,
Your biscuits were really squisite, thank you!
We are pleased to read that your experience at the Grand Hotel La Favorita has been charming and relaxing, we are pleased to add that its perfect location, its delicious breakfast and its friendly staff made your experience superb.
We hope you come and stay by us soon and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I would happily recommend The Grand Hotel La Favorita to anyone wanting to stay in Sorrento. The hotel is ideally situated just a short distance from the Piazza Tasso, giving an easy walk to the restaurants and cafes in and around the Square. The decor is tasteful, the rooms are spacious, the gardens with their orange trees are beautifully maintained, the roof top pool area has a wonderful view of the coast and everything was spotlessly clean - their website has lots of photos. The staff were excellent, in particular the concierge service was superb, helping with all queries, meaning we did not need to speak to our tour rep once during our stay. Thanks to Antonino we were able to keep our room for a few extra hours so we could make the most of our last day in Sorrento.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemoncrunchcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Dear Sir.,
We read your positve comment on our hotel and we thank you!
We are pleased you appreciated the tasteful decor of our hotel, its spacious rooms and its gardens beautifully maintained.
We hope you come and stay by us for your next holiday and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2011

After very careful consideration and research of the hotels in Sorrento for a romantic week away we settled on la favorita and booked, via Thomson, in August 2010. We were due to arrive on Fri 27th May but the afternoon before we got a call to say that the hotel was double booked . Thomson said that the hotel had only just told them of this. We have a number of issues with Thomson on their handling of this problem but the fact remains that 9 months after booking the trip the start of our holiday was ruined by this late change . We spent the first two nights in the Grand President hotel which couldnt have been further from the kind of hotel we would have chosen. To the credit of La Favorita they transferred us by car two days into our trip citing technical problems as the reason we were messed about. During our stay we spoke to a number of people who had faced the same problem including wedding guests and this is why we write this review. There seems to be a recurring pattern which the hotel really needs to address if it is to gain the loyalty of guests when they return to this beautiful place. No one in authority apologised to us, the reception staff were really pleasant but didnt seem to appreciate just how much hassle this had caused us.
Now for the positive things about the hotel. The public rooms were gorgeous, the food really good and the service excellent. We found the pool staff and bar staff very good and liked the touch of the courtesy room . Its hard to criticise the hotel when we eventually arrived. We too expected better drinking glasses in the room and thought that there was quite a lot of noise especially in the morning when the cleaners seemed to start dragging trolleys around without much care for sleeping guests. That said the cleanliness of all areas cannot be faulted and we would love to stay in the hotel again if we had confidence that our booking would not be changed. The score for service reflects the late change and is only up to 3 to reflect how good things were when we eventually arrived.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceandColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are sorry for the trouble caused to you during your stay at our hotel. Taking for granted that our guests' comments, either positive or negative, are well accepted as they all represent for us a continuous way to improve.

Do not hesitate to give us another opportunity by coming and staying by us once again and in the meantime please accept our best regards.


Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I've never written a review before on tripadvisor (but used them so many times to help us find hotels), but I felt compelled to do so, as this hotel was absolutely wonderful. We've stayed in some lovely 5 star hotels (Le Sirenuse in Positano, for example), and this was right up there with those hotels. The place was such a gem. The staff were wonderful and always at our assistance. They were friendly, always with a smile on their faces.
When I originally booked our reservation, I soon thereafter asked to see if we could upgrade our room and inquired as to the additional cost. Well, we were upgraded alright, but at the exact same price as our original reservation!! Thank you Carmine!!
The pool is fabulous, the restaurant yummy and the rooms were delightful. The room was well appointed and spotless. We overlooked the garden, which was delightful. We could smell the honeysuckles! The rooms were quiet at night (just close and lock the windows and "poof" instant quiet. These windows were completely sound proof!
Wednesday and Saturday evenings brings wonderful music to the hotel! We were so lucky to have Pearce Brosnan stop by for a drink while we were there!!
Everything at La Favorita is done with pride and love.

This hotel is not to be missed. It is so well-located and well-appointed. It should be a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annpepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Sir.,
We thank you for your positive comment on our hotel.
We are very delighted to hear that your experience at our hotel has been absolute wonderful as you were in a 5 star hotel, with a fabolous pool and a delightful garden.
As you experienced we are pleased to give to our clients a free up grade when it is possible
We hope you come and stay by us for your next holiday and in the mean time we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We wanted a hotel that was centrally located, but not on a busy road, that offered us the option of bed & breakfast (as many of the hotels seemed to only offer half board) so that we could go to all the lovely restaurants that Sorrento has to offer in the evening. We found this all with the La Favorita Hotel. There were numerous restaurants within a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and the station is only a 10 minute walk away for day trips to Pompeii, Herculeum and Naples. The hotel is down a quite road so you don't have the hum of traffic constantly going past your window.

The hotel itself is very stylish and contempory - the rooms were of a good size and we had a huge bed! We had a room overlooking the gardens which was nice. There is a pool on the roof of the hotel which will be lovely in the summer (but it was too cold to go swimming when we were there in April!). Definitely worth going up on to the roof just to admire the views. The breakfast was amazing! You could pretty much have anything you wanted - bacon & eggs, fruit, even cake!

I would definitely recommend the La Favorita.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the hotel gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Sir.,
We are pleased to hear you had a lovely time at our hotel and that you particularly appreciated our stylish and contempory hotel, its good location at only 5 minutes walk from many Sorrento's restaurants.
We thank you for your positive comment on our hotel and your opinion on its quite road: how wonderful is to spend a holiday far from the caotic life of the city!
We hope you come and stay by us as soon as possible and in the meantime we profit fo the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

One of the reasons we chose La Favorita was down to location as we wanted to be near the heart of Sorrento so we could try the many restaurants and trattorias that we'd read so much about and we certainly weren't disappointed on that score. The hotel, whilst in a reasonably quiet location, is just minutes away from the hubbub of the city. The hotel itself is a reasonable size but still contains a lot of character which is sometimes absent from the larger branded or chain hotels. All the staff were polite and friendly and always helpful and didn't appear too upset or amused when we tried our pigeon Italian on them! Would thoroughly recommend staying here. The hotel has only recently been renovated (last year I believe) and as such everything is still very clean looking. The rooms are a decent size, we stayed in a side view road which has views over the gardens and, if you stand on a chair on your balcony, you can glimpse the sea. If I did have a gripe it would be that the bed was slightly too hard for my liking but that certainly didn't spoil our holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms was road views get sun on their balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlePPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Sir.,
we read your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!
You are perfectly right: when we are on holiday and we stay in a fantastic hotel as ours, it seems that the time flies more quickly that it normally does!
We thank you for your opinions on our quiet location and our polite staff.
We hope you come and stay by us in a nearest future.
In the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Property: Grand Hotel La Favorita
Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing