We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time back and brought friends with us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead,UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd time back and brought friends with us”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The title says it all. We stayed at La Favorita last September, just the two of us, and loved it so much that we invited friends, American and English, to join us in June for a week. Still not disappointed. Paid extra for a front bedroom which was so much better than the side room views. The staff had not changed and gave us a very warm welcome back. We have also recommended this Hotel to other friends who have booked. It is positioned in a perfect spot for views and being near everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room, but be prepared to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Sir.,
We read your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!
We are pleased to hear that you have chosen again our hotel for your 2nd time back to Sorrento and that you brought friends with you.
We do agree with you that our hotel has a perfect location near to everything and that is a perfect spot for wonderful views.
We hope you come and stay by us again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,409
    192
    38
    10
    10
See reviews for
330
989
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with a beautiful garden setting. How can you beat having breakfast outdoors surrounded by lemon and orange trees and flowers in full bloom? Lobby is modern and beautifully furnished. Staff were friendly and helpful. And Sorrento is a living postcard. Our only complaint was wifi, supposedly in-room, but not in ours. Even in the lobby areas reception was poor, fading out at times. We had to change our log-in ID and password several times. And there were other guests we met in the lobby with the same problem. Hotel staff tried to help, but there was only so much they could do. Improve this, and a five star rating is forthcoming.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seniormo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We received your comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to receive such good impressions on the Grand Hotel La Favorita and we are sorry for the poor Internet, but now it has improved.If you do not trust, come and see! So please come and stay at our hotel once again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We loved the hotel. It is in a great location in the historic quarter and within easy walking distance of everything you need. The staff were very welcoming and everything was hassle free. The bedroom and facilities were excellent and the roof top pool and bar meant that you could enjoy a relaxing day in the hotel without feeling that you had to always be on the go. The staff were very helpful and efficient and always had time to answer any questions or give advice on what to see and where to go. They make your stay special. The charges in the Hotel were reasonable, drinks and food were of very good quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Sir.,
We read your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!
One "Great" is ok, 2 "Great" are more then ok but 3 "Great", leaves us astonished: thank you again.
We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our great location, our great staff, our great rooms and we are pleased to know that our great hotel makes your stay a special one.
We really hope you come and stay by us once again.
We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

we loved this hotel....couldnt really find fault and we have stayed in some great hotels previously....we were given a free room upgrade without asking.....the hotel is spotlessly clean with classic italian hand painted tiles everywhere.....the breakfast in the garden was a joy...lots of selection and all fresh......the roof top pool area has fantastic views of vesevius and of the duomo next door......this hotel is in prime position for a walk up and down the lanes of sorrento, and all the marinas.....the staff were very professional and courtious....there is also a courtesy room for showers if you have a late flight..nice touch..we will definately be back..... pete and kate ...warwickshire

Room Tip: we were upgraded without asking.....the best rooms are to the garden and the road views...definately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petemcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Warwickshire,
We read your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!
We are pleased to hear that you remained particularly impressed by our hotel style, its classic italian hand painted tiles; its breakfast, its fantastic view and its garden view rooms.
We particularly appreciated you classified our hotel in prime position.
We hope you come and stay by us once again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I regret to write that this review because I really wanted to like this hotel. It has many glowing ratings and I was prepared to be impressed. The hotel does have many good qualities unfortunately, it does not live up to the hype.

We stayed here for 5 nights in July 2011. We had 2 adults, and 4 kids, ages 17, 15, 7, and 4. We took two rooms, a Jr. Suite and a regular room. Cost was 380 euros/ night for the Jr. Suite and 224 euros/night for the regular room. Expensive, but then Sorrento is expensive.

On the plus side, the hotel is new with a beautiful interior. It is beyond clean, is pristine, and everything sparkles. The location is excellent. And there is a nice panoramic view from the rooftop pool and bar.

On the downside, promises from the hotel website are not kept:

- Don't come here if you want to use the internet. They promise free internet but what you get is a 1-hour voucher for internet service. When you use this up you have to go to the front desk and they print you another voucher. You get a single 1-hour voucher per day. Beyond that it will cost you six euros per hour. The service itself is VERY slow. The front desk will try to tell you this is "typical" for Sorrento, but go to many of the cafes and you will find much faster (and free) wireless service.

- Don't get a Jr. Suite. Ours looked looked nothing like the pictures on the web site. It was small, just beds really. The regular room we got was quite large, I consider that a better deal.

- Avoid the pool if you have kids under 10 years old. There is a decent pool on the roof. A bit cold, no shallow end, all the same depth, but kids love it. Unfortunately, they don't love kids. Our kids were in the water, making some noise, but no more than any other 4 or 7 year old would. And a rather surly pool guy came by to tell us to keep it down! This was the middle of the afternoon mind you. I asked him if there had been a complaint from another guest and he said no, I guess they were just bothering him.

- Don't come here if you like things quiet at night. On the hotel web site they make a big deal about their sound-proofed rooms. But both our rooms were extremely loud, right over a bar next door. We could hear music, yells, even just conversation. Did not get quiet until after midnight. We have kids so at least we are used to some noise, and we were OK. But this was loud make sure you are OK with this.

- Don't expect fast or efficient check-in. When we arrived around 2:30pm our rooms were not ready. So we went up to the rooftop to wait. They said they would come and tell us when they were ready and bring up the luggage. No one ever did. So we eventually went to the rooms ourselves. No luggage was ever delivered, we had to go to the lobby to ask for it. (Note that the pre-check in process was actually very good. Booking, reservations were all handled as quickly and reasonably as you could hope).

- Don't expect a sea view from your room. There is really none to be had. The hotel has 3 levels of rooms, and sea views are blocked by a bigger hotel across the street. There are some partial views to be had from some side balconies, but if seeing stunning views of the bay of Naples from your room is a priority look elsewhere. (The rooftop view is much better, in fact quite impressive. The hotel across the street blocks some of the sea view even from there, but there is enough of the sea and land and city to make it a great place for a sunset drink).

- The staff is a mixed bag. The guys in the breakfast room were universally friendly. I found the front desk and telephone staff to be non-smiling, and a bit defensive, but they can help if you coax them. The pool staff was not friendly at all. Requests were mixed as well. We asked one night for extra pillows and got them right away. We called another night for an extra towel and no one ever came.

- The roof-top restaurant is a nice environment, but the food and service is so-so. This is, of course, totally subjective. But there are many, many good restaurants within a 5 minutes of the front door. Some are wonderful, and I recommend you venture out and explore.

Sorrento and the whole area is of course fantastic and we had a good time. The hotel itself was fine and, in general did not detract from our trip. I hope we come to Sorrento again but next time we will look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Travel567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Sir.,

we read your comment on our hotel: we are really sorry to learn that you were disappointed of your stay but what we mostly regret is that you did not inform us of your dissatisfaction whilst you stayed by us.

Our hotel has 85 rooms and they are all large and nice, they all have balcony and nice view. The Junior suites as the one you stayed in has the privilege to have a bigger terrace with side sea view. Your Junior Suite is exactly the same as the one shown on our Web site.

As regards our hotel staff, they daily do their best to satisfy all our guests exigencies. You should know that the 99% of comments they daily receive is positive.

We daily try to get all the rooms ready for our guests' arrival; anyway the check in time is at 3.00 o'clock p.m. so it could happen that one room could be not ready for 2.30.

What we normally do with our guests is to offer a Welcome Drink they could tast in our swimming pool area.

We never promise free internet but we always specify to our guests that we offer one hour internet free and that for security reason it's better to change password every day.

We are definitely sorry we were not able to satisfy all your needs and requests but as hotel we have to respect all our hotel guests' wishes: we understand that you wish your children to amuse themselves and to play all the time but we have to avoid all our guests'complaints we received for children noise either from the hotel lobby either from the swimming pool area.

Our hotell has no swimming specifically for children but it has just one swimming pool which is at the disposal of everybody: you should consider that among our guests there are people who wish to relax themselves and not to be continually disturbed by children water plays.

We are sorry to hear that you wouldn't choose our hotel but if you come to Sorrento again, we hope you give us another chance.


We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Just returned from an amazing week at the Grand Hotel La Favorita.
I don't often put pen to paper but I feel compelled to share with you the amazing time my boyfriend and I had.
The hotel is beautiful, spotless and runs like clockwork. The rooms are amazing, we had a small balcony overlooking a garden and water feature. The bedroom had an enormous bed, which was very comfortable, a huge bathroom with bath and seperate double shower, a safe (free of charge) that had a socket inside to charge your phone or mp3 and a mini fridge. The most outstanding feature were the electric shutters that covered the windows (which you could open and close from your bedside!) they blocked out any daylight, so much so we missed breakfast twice!!!
The staff were so friendly and welcoming I couldn't fault them at all.
We only booked bed and breakfast so to experience all the wonderful restaurants Sorrento had to offer, the breakfast was good with plenty on offer.
My only regret is that we only stayed 7 days!!!
Well done La Favorita ***** 5 star

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0lidayqueen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Sirs.,
How we could ignore your comment on our hotel, thank you!
We are very pleased to hear that the week you stayed at our hotel has been amazing as they have benn amazing all our nice and enormous bedroom, our huge bathrooms and our comforatble rooms.
We really appreciated your consideration of our hotel as a five stars hotel.
We hope you come and stay by us once again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

From the minute our taxi picked us up from Naples and drove us down the coast to Sorrento we knew we were in for a treat, the hotel couldn't be better placed for Sorrento and the surrounding areas. The rooms are immaculate, we stayed in a Deluxe Double and it was wonderful with a sea view from the Balcony. Roberto, the Maitre D, was great as were all the pool bar staff, the breakfast was what you would expect.

A wonderful, wonderful, wonderful place.

(we liked it!)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Sir.,
We read your comment our hotel and we thank you for our hotel to be as "a have of peace and beauty".

We are pleased you had a wonderful holiday that goes beyond your expectations.

We hope come and stay by us once again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Property: Grand Hotel La Favorita
Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing