We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed here in room 134 for 2 blissfull weeks in july 11. Had a lovely garden view with balcony overlooking orange & lemon trees. The bedroom was spacious & nicely decorated with a lovely bathroom & was kept very clean by the maid service. Accomodation is B&B though the hotel does have a lovely rooftop restaurant with views of the sea & volcano ! Service was exceptional. Breakfast was always a delight though my wife did struggle to meet the 10 am deadline on a few occasions. Only thing I could suggest for improvement would be a tea/coffee facility in room. Highly recommended & would love to return .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D28boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

How we could thank you for such a positve comment on our hotel: a really faultless hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our well maintened garden with its lemon and orange trees; our nicely decorated bedrooms and above all our exceptional service.

We daily try to do our best to make our guests' stay a memorable and pleasent one.

We hope you come and stay by us once and once again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,285 - 1,291 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

Spotlessly clean, generous sized room, massive comfortable bed, balcony - we had a great time. A member of staff came and rescued us when we got stuck in the Sorrento one way system (and the centre of town is closed by the police at 7pm) after a long days drive in our own car. They could not have been kinder and more helpful. Nice to see restaurant and front of house staff who take such pride in offering high quality, courteous service. We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B00Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We received your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time at our hotel and that you remained impressed by the kindness and helpfulness of our staff and by our hotel's high quality and courteous service.

We really hope you could come and stay by us once again.

In the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you oru best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Beautiful new hotel. georgeous grounds and rooms. Still working out electrical problems in the room I stayed in, but overall, great location.
Staff were great . Close to shopping, restaurants. Great breakfast buffets. Beautiful bathrooms.
Bonus surprise -Nice rooftop pool and bar

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We read your postive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you got in love with our fantastic hotel and that you to come back again if only to admire again its gorgeous grounds and rooms and to be helped and satisfied by its great staff.

Please, maintain your promise: be our guest once again and very soon.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My wife and I stayed from 17th July to 24th. We thought the hotel was immaculate throughout, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend it to other couples wanting to stay in Sorrento. I do agree with other reviews though about the lack of sunbeds around the pool for the size of the hotel. We experienced 2 days where there were no available beds to lay on. Some towels were just positioned on the beds all morning and the people did not use then until the afternoon. I would recommend the hotel putting a sign up stating that sunbeds cannot be reserved. The other gripe I had was the recommendation of the 'O Parruchio' restaurant which belongs to the same hotel company. We were recommended to go there by the duty manager and reserved a table. The setting is very good, but unfortunately the service was poor, the food was bland, our wine was corked and all this for a very expensive final bill. Would not recommend the restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186229Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We read your positve comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to know that you had a great time at our hotel and that you enjoyed its fantastic location.

We do agree with you that the sunbeds on the roof top area could not be reserved; we thank you for letting us know eventhough we kindly inform you that it is well advertised at the swimming pool area that our guests are not allowed to reserve the sunbeds.

We remained perplexed that your experience at the restaurant O'Parrucchiano was not very good: most or even all of our guests that stayed at the restaurant O'Parrucchiano remained all satisfied and happy for its food and its high service. We will inform the management of the restaurant of the happening.

We hope you come and stay by us once again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damaino
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We spent a lot of time looking for a lovely hotel in Sorrento & we were not disappointed. La Favorita is in a fantastic position, near to all the shops, cafes & restaurants. Our room faced the gardens & had a side sea view,it was very clean. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly & helpful. We walked to Marina Piccola from the hotel which took about 20 minutes (Down hill going but a steep walk back up) & caught a boat to Capri (If you intend to go to the Blue Grotto make sure you queue for that boat as soon as you arrive in Capri, as the queues can get very long). We took a train to Pompeii, (Train station about a 10 min walk from hotel) would suggest you get a map of Pompeii from the gift shop cost 2 euro as it is easy to get lost.

Room Tip: Request garden facing room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirl1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We read your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased that you had a great time at our hotel and above all that you did profit of its great location, in the heart of the historical centre of Sorrento, in order to visit all the nearby shops.

We hope you come and stay by us once again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you all of our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel §Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We had a booking for this hotel which we were really looking forward to staying in. The day before we were due to stay we received an email saying we had been moved to another hotel due to mould problems in our rooms. The hotel they moved us to was fine but I really wanted to stay here as the reviews are fantastic and the location is great. We booked 5 months in advance. After a bit if research on the web I have read many reports that they often overbook and move people to other hotels

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We do apologize with you for not having had the possibility to accomodate and welcome you at our hotel.

We really trust in your comprehension in uderstanding the difficult situation we found in all the times we are not to be able to accommodate all of our guests.Anyway we always do the best for them, reserving our guests in a nice hotel of the same category or even of a better category, where we should also pay the difference.

We kindly invite you to come and stay by us again and we promise you we will do our best to make your next stay a memorable one.

Looking forward to hearing from you again, we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We have just spent a week at the Favorita booked through Thomson Holidays.
The reviews on Trip Advisor played a big part in our choice of hotel and I must admit we were not disappointed. The hotel (and Sorrento) were wonderful. However bearing in mind the cost I would have been very disappointed if it hadn't delivered. I think we got what we paid for.

The room we had (number 308) was sea facing and from the floor plan of the hotel in the room it is one of the bigger rooms in case anyone wants to request it. You don't get a full sea view but we knew that.

As everyone says the breakfast was lovely - more than enough to chose from and you can eat it outside on the balcony or the garden terrace - a lovely start to the day.

The only minor criticism is about the pool area and the old issue of sun beds. Most days we did manage to get a bed when we wanted one but at least twice all the beds appeared taken (towels on them) but no one using them. We asked the pool attendant if they weren't occupied could we remove the towels but were told that wasn't the hotel's policy. There raen't a lot of beds for the size of the hotel and perhaps it is only in peak season that there are problems. However we observed on a number of days people who put a towel on a bed, stayed for half an hour , disappeared and in some cases didn't come back until late afternoon or not at all. The other slight gripe was the pool closes at 6.30pm and at that time, on some days, it was only just getting comfortable to sit out. My husband would have liked to stay longer.

Overall a wonderful holiday we will remember for a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chappers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We read your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to read that you had a great time at our fantastic hotel.

As regards the sunbeds on the pool area we are sorry you did not find them available anyway it is well advertised on the pool area that guests are not allowed to reserve sunbeds.

We kindly inform you that from the 1st of July 2011 the swimming pool closes at 7.30 p.m.

We hope you come and stay by us once again and looking forward to welcoming you, we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £138 - £846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing