We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$490
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$587
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$262
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$535
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Vue D'Or(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$502
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$486
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$584
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$511
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,824)
Filter reviews
1,825 results
Traveller rating
1,560
203
39
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,560
203
39
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolpool attendantstunning hotelbay of naplesfive star hotelperfect locationour honeymoonlemon and orange treesdeluxe roomlovely balconybreakfast was excellentthird floorpastrieswould highly recommend this hotelhead waiterthe air conditioningloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,333 - 1,338 of 1,825 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We have just returned from a 6 day stay in Sorrento where our daughter got married with 21 guests at The Cloisters of which 12 stayed at some stage at this hotel.
La Favorita is a brilliant hotel for the following reasons
- spotlessly clean
- modern rather than "chintzy" deco , still keeping in style with location
- beautiful views& breeze from the roof terrace & pool
- large public areas ,so although the hotel was full, it never seemed crowded
- peaceful oasis in the heart of Sorrento
- 10mins walk from station or jetty, 5 mins from central & historic part of town & cloisters
- excellent service & friendliness by all staff at all levels- bar,pool,room,breakfast etc
- great buffet breakfast
- fair priced lunch menu on pool/terrace
- direct,good communication from the management during the booking phase for the drinks reception from the UK & during our stay

La Favorita was not booking wedding receptions when we booked our dining venue last year (it is now !) but we did ask for a drinks reception of Prosecco & Canapes after the Wedding in the garden/bar area which was beautifully presented and a great place for photos with all the orange & lemon trees and cool in the shade.Sea views are available all over Sorrento so for photos, the greenery was a nice change and the garden terrace/bar large enough to hold large group. The bar is amazing to look at, a big WOW factor -

Whilst we were there we saw another 3 wedding parties using the roof/pool terrace for their wedding reception meal.

The hotel worked very well for us, if I had to critique anything it would be that 2 of our guests could not get booked in, and were transferred to the hotel across the road for their 3 day visit, but as they were part of our party they were allowed pool towels etc to use in our hotel to be with us during the day.

All I would recommend is to book early, this hotel is quite different in style from the norm in Sorrento and getting booked up very quickly. Many tourists who find the hotel by chance just come in & take photos, we were asked by an American couple what our rooms were like as they saw it by chance and wanted to book in.

Room Tip: Check before booking about sea
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeedds1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We received your brilliant comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased that you remained good impressed by everything regarding our hotel: it is a clean hotel, a modern one, it offers faboulous view over the Gulf of Naoples, it has large public areas so it does not seem to be crowded even when it is fully booked, it has an amazing bar and a very helpful and friendly staff.

We hope you come and visit us once again.

In the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mr. Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the garden and roof top areas were a great place to relax. The only down side was the bar and restaurant on the first floor, stunning decor but due to the weather being too hot these areas were not used at all, just the roof top terrace, a real shame as it looks great in the brochure and even better in real life. Shouldn't be advertised in the brochure if it can't be used! Some staff were very helpful & some were not as attentive, great location though!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasond94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We received your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased you had a great time at our hotel and you enjoyed of its great location.

We do agree with you that the bar area on the 1st floor is a very nice one but its use does not depend on us: most or better all of our clients prefer the roof top bar area to the bar area on the 1st floor. We are in due to satisfy the majority of our guests eventhough we are surely glad to satisfy who as you wish to stay on the first floor. So upon some of our guests' request our bar staff will be pleased to move from the roof top to the 1st bar floor.

We hope you come and stay by us once again.

In the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you all of our best regards.

Mario Damaino
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is very lovely and a great value for the money. The location is very convenient to all of the shopping and restaurants. A ten minute walk from the train station. The marina for day trips to Capri and Ischia is also a ten minute walk (steep walk--all downhill getting there. Coming back, it's a bit of a hike. There is however a lift, that for one euro will take you back up -- walk towards the "beach" area and look for the signs. -- Well worth the money for me! The roof top pool has the best view imaginable of the bay. Breakfast was the nicest of all the hotels we stayed at. You can eat indoors or outside in the beautiful garden area surrounded by lemon and orange trees. The wait staff headed by Roberto are always pleasant and professional. If I return to Sorrento, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Anniversarycouple86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We read your positive comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you had such a lovely time at our lovely hotel with its perfect and convenient location at only few minutes from train station and Sorrento terminal ferry.

We hope you come and stay by us once again if only to take advantage of the best view imaginable of the bay that our roof top terrace offers.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mr. Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Favorita, right in the heart of Sorrento and were well looked after whilst we were there by the staff. I particularly enjoyed the stunning roof top pool and we used our balcony a lot.

What let the hotel down in terms of points is that, when you book a room with 'sea view' you expect to be able to see more than just a sliver of the sea. And the decor was an aquired taste. Nevertheless we did have a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliehickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Sir.,

We read your positve comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, that you loved its perfect location right in the heart of Sorrento; that you appreciated the view from your room on our perfectly maintened garden and that you remained impressed by the hotel's decor of an aquired and high taste.

We hope to welcoming you again and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Location : the hotel is situated in the old center of Sorrento which is the best location ever. You are in Piazza Tasso (the main square) in under 10 min. Restaurants, shops, bars.. all at your fingertips. Plus there is a truly wonderful view of the bay just a few steps away where you can enjoy the sunset every evening (you can even sit on a bench as there is a small park right there). Location points : def. a 10 !

Rooms : I wanted a single room and most of the time what you get is a dingy room somewhere as far away as possible, with no views at all. Not at this hotel. I got a very spacious room (I thought I would need a GPS to find my way to the bathroom) with balcony and side view of the sea (I have to admint that this was an upgrade due to an overbooking the first night but I did not mind :-). Wonderful ! Bathroom was fantastic with all modcons. There is a bar right outside but the rooms are extremely well isolated (never had this anywhere else) so you don't hear a thing. There are also electronic shutters. You don't even hear anything in the rooms next door which is amazing. Cleaning is done once, sometimes twice a day. There are plenty of towels, a robe, slippers, shampoo, a nail file, etc.... very friendly cleaning lady (at least the one on my floor which was the 1st floor). There are tiles on the floor instead of carpet which is great. The bed matrass is very hard though, prob not for everyone but that's just a minor thing and I still slept well ! Airco also works very well !

Food : the hotel only offers breakfast included in the price. You can have lunch if you pay and you can book dinner on Wed and Sat on the roof top (which is really nice as it's with music.. except when there is a lot of wind!). Have to say that the price for the dinner is quite high for what you ultimately get (30 Euro not incl. drinks). We did not have lunch there as there are so many nice little restaurant to check out (try La Lanterna !). Breakfast is very good, lots of choice ! Very nice dining room and you can sit outside which you really should do.

Swimming pool : is on the rooftop and as long as there is not too much wind, it is simply wonderful ! The views are splendid. The pool is not too big and has the same depth everywhere (1m40). A little less interesting for children but then this hotel - in my opnion - is not very suitable for children.

Staff : cannot say enough. Very friendly, very helpful in all areas. I speak Italian but I noticed that they all speak English. This hotel has mainly British guests (for now).

Negatives : just one. The Internet is not FOC which it should be in such an expensive hotel. There really should be free WiFi everywhere.

On the whole, I would definetely recommend this hotel to everyone ! It is expensive but if you can afford it, then by all means do. It is one of the best I have ever stayed in (and I am not the easiest customer to please :-).

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony or seaview.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy4665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

We received your nice review on our hotel and we would to thank you.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and we will share all your positive impressions with all our hotel's staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in a nearest future, we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews