We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This brilliant hotel made our wedding reception unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
JimmyOx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This brilliant hotel made our wedding reception unforgettable!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

On the 16th of May 2012 we had our wedding reception at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and they made sure that it was everything we could have wished for. We met with the Manager and his team when we arrived in Sorrento and they couldn't have been more helpful with the planning of the event.

Our ceremony was in the late afternoon and afterwards we were due to arrive at the Hotel to have our drinks reception in the beautiful Garden Terrace and then on to the rooftop for our meal. We received a call from the hotel at around 9am on the morning of the wedding to notify us that the owner of the hotel (Enzo I believe?) had checked the weather forecast and that there would be high winds in the late afternoon/evening and advised us of an alternative location (the wonderful dining room with marble floors and chandeliers) for our meal. We decided to go with their advice and we were not disappointed! If we had stayed the course and had the reception on the rooftop it could have really spoilt the day as the winds did pick-up. This made it cold later in the evening and it wouldn't have been possible for us to enjoy our meal or dancing! So thank you so much for checking for us!

The cake that was provided by the Hotel was absolutely outstanding and everyone commented on how delicious it was. Throughout the night the staff were tremendously helpful and polite, we even managed to coax a few of them into a little sing-along and a dance.

We couldn't have asked for a better venue or more attentive staff and we would really like to thank everyone for all of their efforts on the day. With special thanks to the head chef, Mario, Roberto, Antonino, and Enzo.

We would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking to host an event (Wedding or otherwise) in Sorrento, the hotel is beautiful and will definitely not disappoint.

James and Caroline

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your brilliant comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are really please to hear that you enjoyed your Wedding at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and that you particularly appreciated our helpful and polit staff.

We hope to welcoming you again, possibly on your first Wedding Anniversary and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best and kindest regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    190
    38
    10
    10
See reviews for
324
975
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Overall we were disappointed with this hotel. It has a lot of great reviews here, but we later realized that a lot of the reviewers received a special (low) rate.

There are so many things I want to mention, so I'll just make a list.

Pros:
- The bar area (on the second floor) is large and nice, and the two bartenders who were there throughout our stay were very attentive and friendly. And they let me practice my Italian!
- The rooftop pool had a view and seemed like a relaxing place to hang out. Unfortunately the pool and bar closed at 6:30pm and 7:00pm, respectively, making it difficult for us to enjoy it since we were out most of the day.
- The breakfast buffet had a large selection and the food was tasty.

Cons:
- The room smelled like sewer. When we let the hotel staff know, nothing was done to fix the issue.
- The room decor was....interesting....and not at all our style. This definitely is not a huge deal, but it doesn't help!
- We paid for a sea view but had absolutely no sea view. I'm still extremely confused by this.
- The hotel advertised free wifi, but we learned that it was only one hour free per day (of course we learned this after we activated it the first time). This was a huge inconvenience for us because we hadn't done too much planning beforehand (we were busy with the wedding). The weather was wet and rainy for much of our time in Sorrento, and we couldn't even check the forecast!
- The breakfast food was good, but the juice was not fresh and the water they served was very gross. I couldn't even stomach the tea. Also, all 3 mornings we were denied window seats because larger parties might come in and want to sit there. This was really frustrating because there were large tables throughout the area, not just near the window.
- They had a private party at the restaurant during the lunch hour, which forced us to order room service and pay extra (it was pouring rain and we just came back from an outdoor activity, so we wanted to eat at the hotel). Not sure why they don't serve ANY food at the bar. It turns out that the bartender is the one that delivered the food...
- The morning we left, we wanted to ship something back home and needed directions to the Mail Boxes, etc to get packing material. The hotel staff was not helpful, but we had a general idea from when we had internet the night before. As a result, we walked there and back (it was very far away) and we were worried that we wouldn't have time to pack before check out. We asked for a late check out and we were told that they didn't have anyone coming into our room that night. So, he said we could have extra time, if we gave a good review on Trip Advisor! What? I just laughed and we took the extra 30 minutes.

We definitely won't stay here again. If we had received a low rate, it would have been better (it appears that the reviewers were actually staying for the same amount of time, and paid our per night price for their total stay). We expected a sea view room and better attitude from the hotel staff. Next time we are in Sorrento, we will stop by the bar and order a delicious drink from the wonderful bartenders! (but stay somewhere else)

Room Tip: If you want a sea view room, make sure you are on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vinhoverde7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review on Trip Advisor leaves us very perplexed. Please, let us know when exactly you stayed at our hotel.

It is mentioned October; we inform you that just one Wedding took place at our hotel in October and it was exactly on the 26th of October 2011.

It was an English Wedding and it consisted of only 18 people: it seems very strange that you were not allowed to enter our restaurant with a so low Wedding guests’ number!

Late October represents for us a period of low rooms’ occupation: it seems very strange that we gave you no opportunity to change of room or upon your request to upgrade you in a room with a better view.

As regards the late checkout request, there was surely a misunderstanding with our staff but we assure you that we were glad to offer you a late check out as we normally do with our guests according to our availability.

It is true that last year we used to offer just 1 hour Internet complimentary but acknowledging our guests’ dissatisfaction about this service, we inform you that from this year Wi-Fi is entirely complimentary.

One more thing, we assure you that the reviews addressed to our hotel and written on Trip Advisor are all true, they are written by our guests, plenty satisfied of our service and without being promised to receive as you say "a better rate": most of our hotel’s guests are booked through Tour Operator, Travel Agencies and Internet Channels.

We hope you give us more chance to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best Regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Returning to Sorrento we wanted a centrally located hotel with bed and breakfast. This classy hotel ticks all the boxes. Staff are friendly and very helpful, immaculately turned out and very efficient. The hotel is spotless and there is always someone cleaning. Rooms very comfortable with slippers and dressing gown, the usual toiletries and some:- bath gel, body lotion, shampoo and conditioner, shower cap and a little package with a couple of cotton buds, cotton wool, emery board and an hair tie. Plenty of storage space, could have done with a few more coat hangers - but that's a complaint I have about most hotels. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in, other than my own. There was a small mural painted on the ceiling - nice touch. I would say that it more than deserves the 4*deluxe rating. It is equal to some 5* hotels but it hasn't got a spa or gym so perhaps that's a minus for some. The pool area on the roof has fantastic views and due to being high up is quite peaceful. The breakfast was very varied, being a yogurt, fruit and meusli person, I would have liked to have seen a variety of nuts, eg sunflower, pumpkin seeds, fresh fruit - bananas, grapes, pears, figs?? Not local to Sorrento, but they did sometimes have british sausages (pleasing my husband) and he loved the bacon and eggs. We loved the lobby decor, the white leather furniture, crystal droplet light fittings, the wood inlay furniture and the ornaments, something catches your eye everywhere you look. The bar area was just as striking, it also had crystal lighting and white leather furniture but with a different soft furnishing colour scheme, which was very restful, there is a wall with feature lighting- quite mesmerising. Didn't find the price of drinks that much different to the bars in the surrounding area, likewise the food. Should we return to Sorrento, we wouldn't hesitate staying here again. A highlight of our holiday - we ate at Il Buco near the Teatre Tasso, well worth a visit, prepare to spend the night there, so go early, the food is sublime, the service attentive and friendly, well worth every Euro we spent - it was our 'last night' treat, wish we'd gone earlier because we would have eaten there more often! Went on trips to Capri and Amalfi organised through Thomsons, two very informative and friendly Italian tour guides, Connie and Sian (North Walean mum, Italian dad) - worth going, thoroughly enjoyed, two great days out.

Room Tip: we had rooms to the back of the hotel, although the view wasn't good, we weren't effected by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsj210960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We received your brilliant comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you particularly appreciated our efficient, friendly and helpful staff. We are happy to hear that your eye has been caught by our hotel's ornaments, wood inlay and white leather beauties
.
We really hope to welcoming you again in a nearest future and in the meantime, we profit of the occasion to send you our bes tregards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lavant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to this lovely hotel and enjoyed it as much as the last time. The decor throughout the hotel is fantastic and very elegant. The bedrooms are superbly clean and comfortable - a special mention for the wonderful shutters which darken the rooms completely and enable you to have a perfect nights sleep! The breakfast buffet is amazing with so much to choose from. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We received your faboulous comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed for a second time your stay at our hotel and that you remained particularly impressed by our hotel's fantastic and elegant decor.

We really appreciated that you wouldn't want to stay anywere else in Sorrento than in our hotel and we hope to welcoming you very soon for a third time.

We profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here in May with a tour group and it was outstanding. It's a great hotel with a beautiful garden, rooftop pool and outstanding views of the bay of Naples. The room was large by European standards and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When our key didn't work in the door upon check-in, one of the staff immediately attended to the problem and escorted us up to the room to ensure that it worked properly. It's one block from the steps down to the port and beach and just a few blocks from the main square. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We want to thank you for sharing your time with Trip Advisro to write such a good review as the one we received.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you remained well impressed by our beautiful garden and by the outstanding views from the roof top area over the Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.

We really hope to welcoming you again in a very nearest future.

In the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

La Favorita is only three years' old,immaculately presented, and the staff are very nice indeed. Every request received prompt attention. It is also in a convenient central location: you can easily walk to the central square, the historic area, the harbour, the little fishermans beach area, the train and bus station, and numerous restaurants. This suited us very well on our first visit to
Sorrento.
Some minor problems we had were to do with unseasonable weather during our stay. It went from very warm to cool and rainy - which seemed to upset the air con in our room, for a while , making it either too hot or too cold. However this was sorted after some computer reprogramming by the staff.
The only other thing I didn't like was the rather over bright lighting in the public areas - the ambience could be even nicer if this was more subtle... But this is just a personal view.
On sunny days there is a beautiful rooftop pool, sunbathing area, and snack bar to enjoy with fabulous views.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room which was a good size and nice and quiet. We paid extra for a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloth-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Valued Guests.

We have received your brilliant review on our hotel and we want to thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel La Favorita and that you particularly appreciated our central location.

We hope to welcoming you again in a very nearest future and in the meantime we profit of the occasion to send you our best regards.


Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a week in this beautiful hotel. Everything was immaculate and the staff were very helpful. The room was gorgeous and had a wonderful painted ceiling. This is a really first class hotel, wonderfully situated - treat yourself.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteandElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
favoritahtl, Direttore at Grand Hotel La Favorita, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We have received your nice comment on our hotel and we thank you!

We are pleased to read that you had a fantastic holiday at our "First class" hotel and we really hope you will come back again in a nearest future.

In the meantime please accept our best regards.

Mario Damiano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Favorita

Property: Grand Hotel La Favorita
Address: Via Tasso Angolo | Piazza Vittorio Veneto, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Favorita 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel La Favorita is a new recently inaugurated hotel surrounded by lush Mediterranean gardens. A hidden gem situated in the heart of historical centre yet only a few steps away from the most stunning terraces of Sorrento wich offer a spectacular view of the bay of Naples and Sorrentine Peninsular.The Hotel'scomforts structure and professional staff, will ensure our guests a most enjoyable and rememberable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing