We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Piazzetta Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Attractive rooms, right next to the convent area and the view over the sea. Close walk to all the shops. This was a great choice for staying in Sorrento. We had the grey room and it was very spacious and comfortable

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ScreenNameMissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    102
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
81
227
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at La Piazzetta Guest House in September 2013, during 3 nights, to visit the nearby Amalfi Coast and other gems in Catania. Overall, the location is superb: only 2 minutes from the main square in Sorrento in one direction, and 2 min from great views on the other side. It is also a relatively simple 10 to 15 min walk from the bus station.
The rooms are lovely - a good design effort was made. There is also an in-room safe, which came quite handy. We had view to an internal patio/parking lot, but I guess there are rooms with street view.
Breakfast is included in the rate, and is served in a little cafe at the street level.
However, you need to consider the following caveats if you plan to stay here:
1) The hotel per se occupies 2 floors in a historic building, but not the ones near street level, and there is no lift/elevator. You need to climb 2 flights of stairs to the reception, and from there you may need to take another set of stairs to get to your room. Needless to say, this can be inconvenient if you have heavy luggage with you.
2) The reception is not permanently open, and the actual hours it remains open is less than a full working day. We were lucky to arrive at a time when it was open. Thus, make notes of the times and phone numbers in case you don't have such luck.
Overall, I would recommend this to young people carrying relatively little luggage on them.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room at the reception level, to limit the amount of stairs you need to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ucanonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Family of 5 stayed in the purple room. The room was spacious and clean (though some of the kitchen equipment, like the microwave, looked like it hadn't been cleaned between guests) and it looked exactly as it did on the website. Check in was a breeze (note: you have to press the buzzer to get into the building and then climb a flight of steps to get to reception, which is just a desk in the hallway with rooms right off that hallway). There isn't someone at the desk 24/7, but there is a custodian always around. The location is great -- one block from the water, one block from the main square. We love Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank snookies608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked into La Piazzetta having hated the first hotel we booked on our trip to Sorrento and so wished we had stayed at the La Piazzette for our whole trip!
We had a apartment, very clean, beautifully designed well equipped, great shower, Fab mezzanine bedroom,
La Piazzetta is right in the centre of Sorrento with lovely resturants and cafe at our doorstep and very close to the lovely bathing decks at the port,
I pasted over this place when I was first booking hotel for our trip because I wanted a pool, trust me you don't need a pool in Sorrento,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpttb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed in the green apartment which overlooked a courtyard with full length windows and although there wasn't a view it was lovely and cool and away from the street noise. Extremely comfortable large bed and sleeping area and plenty storage. 2 tvs but no English speaking channels and ladies - bring your own hair dryer as the wall mounted one wasn't efficient . The sleeping area is reached by a narrow spiral staircase so not suitable for elderly or those with very young children . A 3 min walk to the elevator taking you down to the shoreline with lovely cafes and the ferries . Right on the Piazza Tasso with a great selection of restaurants nearby and the lovely little cafe directly outside to enjoy breakfast and watch the world go by. 10 mins walk to train station to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum . Value for money and will definitely return and recommend to friends .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingScot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at La Piazzetta for 5 nights, and it was a welcome change from our other hotel experiences of Rome, Florence and Venice. Great central location! Exceptionally clean, and efficient. We are 3 ladies travelling together, and we felt very safe and secure. Valentina and Raul were more than gracious, helping us with our heavy luggage, and making suggestions on what to do in town. We did take Valentinas advice on hiring a boat charter to take us to Capri, and it was well worth the $. La Piazzetta was clean, modern and affordable, and since there was a grocery store a short walk from the hotel, we were able to eat in most every meal. (We experimented with cooking the Italian food that we had the first week we were roving Italy). Even though La Piazzetta is located on a busy interchange, you can shut the doors and shutters and it is surprisingly quiet. Some nights of the week, we would open the patio doors and listen to the music and singers entertaining the restaurant down the street...what a bonus! Flat screen TV's and WiFi were available, even though we couldn't understand Italian TV. I would HIGHLY recommend La Piazzetta to anyone wanting to stay in Sorrento. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cskerbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you want to feel like a part of Sorrento this is the place to be. This place is very hard to miss being located on one of the central piazzas and it offers everything you need. Some people complain about carrying a chain with 3 different keys but I think it gives you a charm and a feeling of living in this town and not just visiting. The rooms are spacious, bathrooms are good size and the view is amazing. The breakfast included a choice of scrambled eggs, eggs and bacon, sausage and something else making it limited but fulfilling. Any choice came with a croissant, glass of juice and a choice of coffee or tea providing a nice start to our days. The staff was very friendly and eager to print boarding passes which helped a lot. Overall this was a great place for our trip allowing us to be centrally located to all the restaurants, shops and views!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piazzetta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piazzetta Guest House

Property: La Piazzetta Guest House
Address: Via San Francesco, 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — La Piazzetta Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in "Piazza Sant'Antonino", right in the historical centre of Sorrento, "La Piazzetta Guest-House" offers rooms and apartments equipped with all comforts and decorated with great attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Piazzetta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing