We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYO Pillow”
Review of Diana City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diana City
Ranked #32 of 138 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BYO Pillow”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Good Parts:
Being on the main street, the hotel was easy to find.
I actually messed up our booking, and emailed them to say we were arriving a day early. Thankfully they were able to accommodate us at short notice, and for that we are extremely grateful. For that alone, top marks for service, especially in a town where good service wasn't easy to find.
The room was clean, colourful, and decked out with essentials like a refrigerator and tv.
This was the cheapest place we stayed in our 3 weeks in Italy, and we thought it was good value.

Things to be aware of:
Diana City emailed me afterwards offering a discount for friends staying with them in the future, but only if we reviewed their hotel. I'm not saying that's a bad thing by the way.
The bed was hard, and the pillows were like a sack of marbles.
Stairs. It's on the second floor, and there's no lift. Keep it in mind if you have health issues, or a lot of luggage.
The breakfast basket made me decide to go without and wait for lunch. Even the coffee was just a pod for their machine, which I couldn't be bothered figuring out -because I hadn't had my coffee. :-)
The Hotel is only staffed when they're expecting guests to check in or out. Not an issue if you have access to a phone though, as they give you a contact number.

Overall:
Good value for money. I'll bring my own pillow next time though. ;-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carvin2010, Proprietario at Diana City, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear guest,
thanks a lot for appreciating the cleaning and the colours of my rooms, this is very important to me! I'm sorry that the pillows were too hard for you but each person has their own habits and would be difficult for us to satisfy the needs of everyone but we try!I'm also sorry that you not enjoyed the breakfast basket, it does not let you do a big breakfast but you can eat thanks it something quickly at any time! I really hope you will come back in my Dianacity, it will be a pleasure to have you as still guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    80
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
92
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Fantastic appartment on the main street just opposite the hospital.Friendly staff and superb and roomy appartment.Clean,large and just awesome

Room Tip: Always try for the appartment as the rooms a little smaller.Heaps of room and a little outside sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poodlz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carvin2010, Proprietario at Diana City, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear guest,
thanks for the wonderful comment to my apartment, you have described it perfectly! I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here by chance, as we found it while out walking. Luckily they had a room for the 2 nights we needed.
I was a bit concerned, as it was in front of the hospital, but luckily for us, there were not too many emergencys those nights...so no noisy sirens.

The room was very good size and they provide a great little breakfast basket.
The Coffee machine & microwave in the comon area are a great touch.
The staff, Claudia & Rosa, were so helpful and informative, a real pleasure to meet.
If we did not have other plans, we would have stayed here for even longer.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sikaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We had arrived in Sorrento and our initial apartment could not accommodate our full stay. So we had to move out after 2 nights to return later. My husband and I walked thru the lanes to find us a back up plan and hold and behold, we found a gem by pure chance! Diana City suited our budget, the comfort and cleanliness was tops! The only thing I was concerned with was street noise but in all honesty, did not bother us at all. You could hear a little but after a long day of sight seeing and a lovely bottle of wine, what noise? The reception staff was warm, lovely and to add, gorgeous. A bit of a bonus for my husband as she was truly helpful in everyway with sight seeing and restaurants options. It was a B&B but they had a lovely breakfast basket with basics to start your day and a small kettle to make your teas. Now for the coffee drinkers, they had a communal expresso machine to help with your addiction!! The shower was tiny but heaps of hot water and they had basic toiletries if you had none or was running low. We left them this morning and would have stayed longer but we wanted a small kitchennette to cook.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMSM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is a good small value hotel in a great part of Sorrento, about a 10 minute walk from the train station. The hotel itself is pretty small; my guess is about 10 rooms total. The triple room that we had was big, though the bathroom was smallish, though fine. This is not a Bed & Breakfast, though they do supply small baskets of toast, Nutella, jam and orange juice. The location is quite good as it is along the Corso Italia, the main street through Sorrento. It is right across from the hospital, which can occasionally be noisy (due to Ambulances), but no more noisy than anywhere else along the Corso Italia. If you want a quiet place, you’ll need to get into one of the neighborhoods away from the Corso. The staff is great and very helpful in providing ideas for sightseeing. Diana City is a good choice for those who want to be at the heart of Sorrento for a good price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orvieto, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Diana City was a terrific experience. Beautiful place in a beautiful city. Everything was cozy, clean, and had a quaint bed and breakfast character.

The receptionist lady was incredibly nice and helpful and genuinely cared about our stay. She even personally introduced us to the owner woman who was also very nice. We could tell this was a very friendly atmosphere, we were like guests in their home rather than just kids crashing on a bed.

The B&B is right on the main street, Via Corso Italia, a little bit far from the center Piazza Tasso, but still a decent location.

We would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone visiting Sorrento. A terrific experience in paradise!

Room Tip: If approximately 5 people, ask for the apartment upstairs (fully furnished, kitchen, private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The hotel itself is fine. A helpful manager and good rooms. However, we had to pay 20€ for parking our car overnight, since there is no on-site parking option.
Consider this before you book.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiansander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Sorrento Relais
Sorrento Relais
#23 of 138 in Sorrento
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison San Paolo
Maison San Paolo
#46 of 138 in Sorrento
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
B&B Casa Reale Sorrento
#26 of 138 in Sorrento
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#14 of 138 in Sorrento
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green House Sorrento
Green House Sorrento
#25 of 138 in Sorrento
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Parco Verde B&B
Al Parco Verde B&B
#27 of 138 in Sorrento
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana City

Property: Diana City
Address: Corso Italia 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Diana City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking on the main street of Sorrento, in a strategic position for your travel along the Sorrento peninsula Sorrento and the Amalfi coast, the b&b Sorrento Diana City is located in the heart of the Sorrento nightlife, close to beaches, typical restaurants, cinemas and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Diana City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing