We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Sorrento, Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Elena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Elena
Ranked #40 of 124 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved Sorrento, Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Casa Elena was quite nice. Elena offered a warm welcome and good customer service. While there was a language barrier, Elena is skilled in finding a way to communicate. She offered some nice personal touches, such as driving us to dinner after our late arrival. She was gracious in meeting our needs, even when we woke her up the first night! Her property is beautiful, as is the town of Sorrento. It is a great home-base for exploring the coast and accessing Naples or Pompeii. It would be best to have a car when staying with Elena, as she is off the beaten path a bit, and the bus that goes to her place is infrequent and unreliable. However, we did not mind this at all. The views are worth the hassle, and we were willing to make it work in order to get away from the tourist crowds. I would suggest learning a few Italian words before visiting Elena.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank emily111182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We had two nights at this lovely b&b/apartment - it was everything you needed and better still out in the mountains above Sorrento. The location was amazing and Elena was such a warm and friendly person (very limited English but that never seemed an issue) and it was lovely to try some homemade Limoncello which is waiting the fridge for you :)

If you are using public transport which we did, you have to be prepared for the buses being late/not running etc - however we had no problems and just walked between Casa Elena and S.Agata (25 mins uphill there and 20 mins downhill back - there is a bit of road walking and would recommend a torch) From Sorrento, you need to take the bus for S.Agate via N.Verde to get to the b&b - the tourist info place in Sorrento has the timetable (make sure you ask for the non Amalfi timetable, the buses are more frequent)

As there is the ability to cook we found an amazing fresh pasta shop in S.Agata down a side street opposite the supermarket - a must!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaI0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Casa Elena is situated high above Sorrento. The views of the bay are amazing. Elena's garden is perfectly manicured and grounds are impeccable.

The rooms are perfect. The practicality of having a bedroom and a living area was perfect for us. The room was clean and very well maintained.

Elena is an amazing hostess to say the least. She went out of her way to make my husband and I extremely comfortable. We arrived late, after 10pm, Elena was waiting for us. We asked her where to eat and she recommended Il Borgio (which is great). Elena supplied us with umbrellas and then next thing we know her son is waiting to drive us to the restaurant. He then made sure that they knew to being us back to Casa Elena after dinner (they have a complimentary car), We felt that welcomed during our entire stay.

There is a bus stop right outside of Cass Elena. The bus times are not quite what they appeared on paper. I would recommend a scooter or car if you are able. We did manage using public transport and walking however.

The minor inconveniences were well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ffweste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I would rate our stay in Casa Elena as the best decision we made during our recent trip to Europe May 2013. This cozy little apartment hotel is one of four units that Elena rents, and is surrounded by Elena's majestic garden. The property sits atop a mountain, about four miles from the city center and from the room you have a view of the magnificent Mediterranean sea, vineyards, lemon trees, fabulous flowers, and Mt. Vesuvio as the cloud cover clears in the afternoon. Our room was equipped with a small and practical kitchenette. Signora Elena, even placed coffee and an Italian coffee maker, which for me, was heaven. I need to drink coffee in the morning. One other surprise this hotel is less than a quarter mile away from one of the best restaurants we visited in Italy, Il Borgo. At Casa Elena we found personal treatment and care for details. Both my husband and I rate this "albergo" as exceeding expectations for the price and we highly recommend it. Siamo molto grati a Elena per il suo servizio eccellente!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilleyJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We loved our stay at the Casa Elena. It was very peaceful and beautiful. We especially liked that our room came with a little kitchenette and that was very useful for keeping on budget. The garden is absolutely beautiful and the view is extraordinary. We loved waking up every morning to the calling of birds and roosters. It was very relaxing. We wish we could have stayed longer but unfortunately we didn't have more time off. The room was very clean and had all the amenities that we required. As well, Elena the hostess was very welcoming and kind. We highly recommend this accommodation! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mexico346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Our two night stay was everything we wanted-comfortable,relaxing,wonderful views of the bay of Naples and Sorrento from the garden and roof terrace with willing and friendly hostess.Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Casa Elena is a hidden gem located high in the hills above Sorrento. We stayed there for 5 nights with three small children. The kids really enjoyed playing in the lemon grove and using Elena's metal watering cans to water the grass and plants. We also enjoyed sitting on the rooftop deck sipping local wine, limoncello and munching on cheese. For getting into town, you either take a bus which comes around every 30-40 minutes, take a 30 Euro taxi ride or walk. The walk takes arouns 30-40 minutes down a very pleasant but steep hill. I would not want to walk back up with three kids in tow! We used all forms of transportation. I would recommend a rental car if you want to have the most flexibility. Spring is the best time to go to enjoy the fantastic cool weather and there are fewer tourists. A great base to visit Amalfi Coast (150 Euro private taxi), Mount Vesuvius (Train to a shuttle at Ercolano) and Capri (daily boats).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbird38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Sorrento Relais
Sorrento Relais
#26 of 124 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa De Angelis
Villa De Angelis
#61 of 124 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.9 mi away
L' Arancio In Fiore
L' Arancio In Fiore
#67 of 124 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
B&B DolceVita
B&B DolceVita
#47 of 124 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Pane
Villa Pane
#48 of 124 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Monica B&B
Villa Monica B&B
#2 of 124 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Elena

Property: Casa Elena
Address: Via Nastro Verde 74, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Elena is a holiday flat located in the wonderful Sorrentine Peninsula, the Country of the Mermaids. The Structure has 3 mini-flats of 40 mq, very comfortable and country, with En-Suite WC. A huge garden, with small tables and barbecue, surrounds the building, conferring an aura of tranquility and serenity, that you may find in few others places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Casa Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing