We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of B&B DolceVita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B DolceVita
Ranked #53 of 130 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I went on a short European tour to France, Czech Republic, and Italy in August 2012, staying at B&B DolceVita for 3 nights, and it was probably my favorite of the trip. First, the hotel is in the perfect location on a busy street (but not so loud that you're unable to sleep), walking distance from the train station (where buses also are), from the main square, from main attractions, and ferries (to Capri, etc.) and beaches and with many restaurants and shops in a close vicinity. Ettore is such a kind and helpful host and he even gave me a 15 minute "orientation" when I first arrived, explaining all about the inn, the area, recommended restaurants, how to get to Pompeii, Mt. Vesuvius, Capri, etc. Although the B&B accepts credit cards, we needed to go to his cousin's B&B to use his machine--a little unusual but it didn't take long and was really a nice walk to see the nearby area. The room was incredibly comfortable with A/C, 2 balconies overlooking the fun street below, a huge and beautiful bathroom. I'm so glad I stayed here and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LER627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolcev, Proprietario at B&B DolceVita, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Wow , thanks a lot for all nice things you told about BB DolceVita !!!! I really hope , day by day to do a good job and to help my guests to enjoy them holiday here in center of Sorrento. About credit cards , from about October 2012 we accept AGAIN every credit card directly in the BB. Yes last year i had ugly discussion with my former bank about the expensive fees they applied . i had to find an alternative way, but now everything is solved. Thanks again for your undestanding !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    30
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
102
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

On my first night in Sorrento, also Good Friday, I fell and broke my ankle. Etorre, the owner of Dolce Vita came over at 11:00 PM to help with the challenge of getting to the hospital when the streets were jammed with people from the Good Friday procession. We took his advice and left for the hospital the next morning. He flagged down a car and spent the entire day with us at the hospital, even wheeling me through the streets of Sorrento in a wheelchair back to the B and B. the care and professional treatment from Etorre and his staff means I cannot wait to come back to Dolce Vita to enjoy his grandmother's house. It is in a perfect location in the center of town, has all that is needed, and Etorre goes above and beyond the basics.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyAW9217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at Dolce Vita in mid October. Since I first booked in Feb this year, the owner, Ettore, was extremely prompt in replying to all the queries I had. When our train was delayed for several hours on the day of arrival, Ettore was extremely kind in waiting for us till rather late and assuring that it was OK. The B & B was conveniently located on a street that is lined with beautiful shops and restaurants and within-walking distance to the harbour (to catch the fast ferry to Capri), the Circumvesuvianna train station (to Pompeii, Herculaneum, etc), the bus station to the Almafi Coast and the laudromats. Our room was fantastic, spacious, clean and very reasonably priced (only 60 Euro per night, compared to the 110 to 126 Euros for our accommodation in Rome, Venice and Florence); the bathroom was large by our standards. Our room faced the colourful street, making us feel that we were really on a holiday; strangely, though the street was busy, the room was very quiet once we shut the the double-glazed sound-proof windows. It would be nice to have kettle or cups in the room so that we could make coffee; however, it was not a real problem since we could buy fantastic coffee and pastries just downstairs in the Cafe (for less than 2 euros). What made our stay memorable was Ettore, the perfect and friendly host who was was attentive and patient; though he does not live in the B & B, he seemed to be always around to ensure that his hosts' needs were promptly attended to. My friend and I agreed that of all the destinations we visited in Italy, Sorrento came up tops due to a large part to Ettore's helpfulness and his fantastic B & B. We will definitely stay at this place when we visit Sorrento again! (By the way, if you want a free-&-easy 2-week itinerary covering Rome, Sorrento, Florence, Venice and Milan, I would be most happy to share it with you --- about what to do, where to dine, where to day, how to move about and what passes to get). Ciao! Chris

Room Tip: choose a room that faces the street, which has very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mindfuldreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is a really cute, clean B&B in the middle of everything in Sorrento. We were so glad we chose it as it was so easy to stop back by the room to grab something or change without stopping your day. The room was very nice and clean, with a large bathroom. Both the bathroom and bedroom had french doors to a small (standing only) balcony that looked down on to one of the main streets of Sorrento. Very friendly owners as well that are glad to help with whatever you need and give advice about restaurants, attractions, etc. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sockschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The three nights we spent at the B&B Dolce Vita were fantastic! Our double room was immaculately clean, as was the large attached bathroom. We had a view of the quaint street below, but thanks to double-paned windows, there was minimal street noise, especially at night. Ettore was an extremely friendly host, who provided great service during our entire stay. Just be sure to bring your own soap and shampoo, as this was not provided (although we didn't ask for it either). Overall, we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Sorrento!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The BB Dolce Vita Sorrento is in old town above the busy pedestrian shopping street of Via Cesareo. Ettore, the owner, is a warm and kind man that takes a lot of time explaining how the city is set up which makes it very easy for you to get around. The B & B is on the third floor with lovely marble stairs on the way to the entrance door. The rooms are very clean, new and updated and the double pane windows block out all the noise and it is very easy to get a wonderful nights sleep. A couple of things to mention...you do need to bring a bar of soap for the shower (the bathrooms are new and very clean) and upon entering the bottom or street level of the building it is very old and kind of through me a bit at first...but its the city and I believe the street level floors are more like garages in the US. Ettore will give you a card to the Bar Daniella which is just around the corner...delicious cappuccino and croissant for only 2 euros!

Grazie Ettore for all your help and warmth. Your B&B was a five-star to me!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the B & B Dolcevita in Sorrento for three nights in October 2012. As so many reviewers have pointed out, Ettore and his pride in Sorrento, make this place special. When we arrived, he carried my suitcase up the stairs and spent at least 30 minutes sharing his passion for Sorrento. Plus, Ettore is there most of the day and he’s always happy to take time to chat or answer questions. The location is perfect: an easy walk from the train station, right off the main Corso, on a tiny pedestrian street packed with cute shops selling limoncello, soaps, scarves, linens, etc. Plenty of great restaurants are within a five-minute stroll.

Unfortunately, when we booked our room, the only one left didn’t have a refrigerator, so I’m assuming it was one of the smallest ones. I didn’t see any of the other rooms, but ours was a little cramped for a three-night stay. On the plus side, the room was bright, neat and extremely clean, with a spotless terrazzo floor. The Italian balcony has a great view of the street and when the large window is closed, the room is quiet. The white tile bathroom and shower are large by European standards. Everything had been recently renovated and was exceptionally clean. Unlike renting an apartment or room, there is a daily maid service.

There’s also a small common space with shelves of books and travel information. The only downside is that the space is tiny—and since there’s no communal breakfast area—you won’t meet any of the other guests, which is always interesting. However, we knew that before we booked and felt the location compensated for the lack of space. Ettore is a charming host and we would definitely stay at B & B Dolcevita again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolcev, Proprietario at B&B DolceVita, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thanks a lot for the nice rewiew about BB DolceVita . You was very nice guests . Sorry if i reply late. Yes I had only 1 room without frigo-bar but from this year ( 2013 ) every room has a little frigo-bar . Thanks a lot and hugs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
#44 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diana City
Diana City
#27 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#20 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antico Palazzo Scala
Antico Palazzo Scala
#9 of 65 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#15 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B DolceVita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B DolceVita

Property: B&B DolceVita
Address: Via San Cesareo 64, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B DolceVita 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DolceVita B&B is situated in the heart of Sorrento, close to the main square and to all public transports . Rooms, which are completely renovated. Due to its strategic location, DolceVita offers you just few steps away: beach, restaurants and pizzeria, fashion shops, coffee-bars and ice-cream shops, laundromats, museum, parkings, and much more ..... According with the most popular international tourist guides, Sorrento is ideally situated for exploring Amalfi Coast, Positano, Capri, Pompeii and the Bay of Naples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B DolceVita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing