We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room in a great location.”
Review of B&B DolceVita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B DolceVita
Ranked #54 of 134 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good room in a great location.”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in October 2013 at the end of our two weeks in Italy. I must admit we were beginning to tire after the hustle and bustle of Rome for a few days, but Sorrento was a wonderfully relaxing way to end our trip.

B&B DolceVita is a cute little B&B right off of the main drag in Sorrento, amidst all of the wonderful shops and restaurants. The room was clean and spacious. We originally had asked for a room that overlooked the street, but Ettore gave us a larger room on the backside of the building for no extra cost. The bathroom was rather large and very clean with all of the necessary updates to make it feel comfortable and new. The bed was comfortable enough, and neither myself nor my wife had any trouble falling asleep at night. We had a fridge in the room, which was nice, and also a small balcony with some chairs and a table that we did not use on our stay (the courtyard really isn't anything to look at). The location really is perfect. Just open the door and you are right in the heart of Sorrento. It's fantastic. I'm sure you can get a better view outside of the town center (or for a much steeper price), but you won't be able to walk everywhere in 5 minutes or less the way you can from DolceVita.

Only a few negatives to point out. One is that the room really could use a coat of paint to freshen it up. There were many scuffs on the wall, and overall it made the room feel somewhat used and dirty, which it wasn't. Also, one of the shelves that served as a nightstand was falling off of the wall (literally). Did this ruin our experience here? Absolutely not. These are just points to mention in case Ettore reads this review and wants to improve the place a little.

Finally, there is Ettore. As others mentioned, he really loves Sorrento. I think he spent about 20 minutes at least at check in answering our questions and pointing out everything on the map, explaining what to eat, where to eat it, how to spot a good restaurant vs. one that is overpriced, train schedules, good values, etc. He was just exceptionally nice. By the time we stepped out on the town we felt like we were already acclimated to our new surroundings (which is a nice feeling). He also allowed us to store our bags on the day we checked out for a few hours, as we wanted to enjoy Sorrento for a bit longer before heading back to Rome and back home. Superb customer service.

If we ever get to return to Sorrento, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarEagleInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    30
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
102
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

just come back from our first visit to sorrento,the Dolcevita is right in the old town,the rooms are serviced every day so everything is super clean and Ettore makes it feel like home ,he tells you every thing about trips cheapest way to do them,time tables for bus's ,trains best places to eat.
The room we were in was at the back so did not hear anything at night but the double glazeing was great so i am sure the front rooms were o.k. The price's are reasonable and we will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyandalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our night at DolceVita was quite frankly the best place we had stayed in our entire trip to Switzerland, Germany and Italy - and one of the cheaper ones. Value was excellent. Ettore made us feel so welcomed, gave us maps, tips, directions, timetables and even welcome beers! Location is right on the main old street with soundproofed windows. Thoroughly renovated, superbly maintained, excellent shower facilities. No breakfast on-site, but he had connections to get us excellent breakfast at nearby restaurants. A lift would have been great but is hardly a deal-breaker. Excellent location made it so accessible to the action in Sorrento and the surrounds. When we return, we will definitely be coming back here. Couldn't recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: Recommend checking in before 1pm or after 5pm. Having trolley bags means the stone pavement on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The location is right smack dab in the middle of Centro Storico. Rooms are clean and not tiny with good shower and view of the bustling street below from the little balcony whose doors/windows are double glassed eliminating the street noise at night. Air conditioning works great. But the best part if all is Ettore! A nicer host you will not find anywhere. So helpful and friendly. And the prices are extremely reasonable. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonobanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Ettore was so welcoming and friendly. He gave us lots of info about the area and ways to save a bit of money, which was much appreciated. He was readily available if we needed anything but not at all intrusive. The location of dolce vita couldn't be more central! It's easy to walk to from the buses/trains. Bit of street noise at night, but given its location this is to be expected (though my husband didn't think there was any street noise in the bedroom)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEMJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Like many others we had made our selection to stay here after reading the many reviews. Email communication with Ettore was very good (we now know he works in his office at the B&B from 5-9pm every day).

In a nutshell this is a small establishment (2 floors up) with 4 rooms right slap bang in the middle of one of the busiest streets in Sorrento.....however once you pass the imposing entrance doors you leave the hustle and bustle behind and to be honest we didn't hear a noise the whole time we were there!

We arrived from Naples via train - the walk from the station was c7 minutes and the B&B was really easy to find, just off Tasso Square.
We enjoyed a great welcome from Ettore - who advised us on how to get the best from our 8 day stay and provided a welcoming cold beer on arrival.

The room was a good size and had a fridge which proved to be very useful. The air conditioning was excellent and we controlled it! The bed was also very comfortable. We had a balcony which overlooked the rear of the building - not much to look at but again served its purpose!

The room was cleaned every day by a lovely friendly lady - towels changed daily and linen every 3 days. We felt very secure during our entire stay. The one or two things we asked for were provided within 24 hours.

Ettore was exceptional in the way he looked after us and showed a great interest in what we had planned, always willing to give us tips - we enjoyed our chat every evening when we were leaving for dinner!

The only thing I couldn't really grasp was the 'breakfast' thing! Breakfast is not provided, you have to go to a local café where Ettore has negotiated a discounted price of €2 for a coffee and croissant. Although I should point out that this was made very clear before we had booked.

All in all we would most definitely recommend this establishment and if we return to Sorrento we would most certainly stay again. The customer service provided by Ettore was exceptional and is what made the difference for us. There was something magical about coming down the stairs in the evening, opening the large front door and stepping out in to a different world!

Room Tip: 2 rooms overlook the busy street below with very small balconies. 2 rooms face the rear but have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucklers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

HI I spent ten days in Sorrento and stayed at the Dolcevita B&B, THe reason I picked the dolcevita was I read a lot of reviews about the place. I have to say I agree with all the peoples reviews as It was just right for me and my wife. It was at the center of everything. Ettore , who owns the place was one helpful person, the rooms were spotless thanks to Anna Marie who did a great job. THe rooms have double glazing so you can shut out the laughter and music that came up from the narrow street below, but I loved the sounds from the street. As we sat on our little balcony with our glass of wine, we would speak to the vendors below and joked with them. We made friends with quite a few of them. Where you have your breakfast is just at the corner and it really is only two euros for the tea or coffee and croissant, but there is lots more places you can go to all at reasonable prices should you choose to do so. This is my second article on Sorrento as I just enough of the place and the friendliness of the people. I would highly recommend the Dolcevita for it's atmosphere cleanliness and it's location , you could not find a better place .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineman g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
#42 of 134 in Sorrento
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#16 of 134 in Sorrento
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diana City
Diana City
#28 of 134 in Sorrento
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#17 of 134 in Sorrento
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Sorrento B&B
Belvedere Sorrento B&B
#48 of 134 in Sorrento
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residenza Il Campanile
Residenza Il Campanile
#46 of 134 in Sorrento
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B DolceVita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B DolceVita

Property: B&B DolceVita
Address: Via San Cesareo 64, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B DolceVita 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DolceVita B&B is situated in the heart of Sorrento, close to the main square and to all public transports . Rooms, which are completely renovated. Due to its strategic location, DolceVita offers you just few steps away: beach, restaurants and pizzeria, fashion shops, coffee-bars and ice-cream shops, laundromats, museum, parkings, and much more ..... According with the most popular international tourist guides, Sorrento is ideally situated for exploring Amalfi Coast, Positano, Capri, Pompeii and the Bay of Naples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B DolceVita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing