We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just terrific!”
Review of B&B DolceVita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B DolceVita
Ranked #50 of 139 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just terrific!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 7 days in May 2014. After some not so great experiences previous to coming here, it was like a breath of fresh air. The room was light and airy with a balcony overlooking a cute little pedestrian street. I was a little worried about the noise at night, but when you close the bathroom door, you don't hear a thing! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with shelves for toiletries, etc. The shower was big with good water pressure. Never ran out of hot water. There's AC but we didn't need it. Free Wifi.

The owner, Ettore, was super friendly and was always on site between 5:00pm and 9:00pm which was great because sometimes questions come up and you know he will be there (unlike some other places). He always had multiple suggestions for things (instead of giving you just one place) and he even surprised us with a bottle of champagne as it was my birthday!

There is no breakfast on site, but for 2 euros a person you can get coffee and a very delicious croissant at a bar just down the street. There are a bunch of fresh fruit vendors up and down the same street so we bought some delicious fruit to supplement breakfast.

The only thing was that we had a bit of a miscommunication in terms of meeting someone to check in (it was a Sunday, Ettore's day off I believe), the best thing to do if this happens is to simply call him. FYI there are pay phones in the Sant'Antonino Piazza just a block away and at the train station.

Sorrento is a lovely place, safe and clean and no graffiti to be seen! A great base to make day trips to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Capri and the hill towns of Positano, Amalfi and Ravello (which we all did). I certainly recommend B&B DolceVita for your stay!

Room Tip: We had the room with the orange and red quilt, very lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    31
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
105
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sävsjö, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is one of the best B&B we have stayed on. The location is excellent for visitors to Sorrento as everything is close or in 10 minutes walking distance. The room that we stayed in for 6 nights was big, clean and silent. The bathroom is clean and with a lot of space. Good beds, excellent wi-fi, a small balcony and a feeling of home is things that we remember from DolceVitaSorrento. The host Ettore is a very kind and helpful man. He really takes care of you and have a lot of good advices about what to do and what to see. He is more than an host - he is like an old friend that you have known for many years! There is no breakfast at the B&B but thanks to Ettore you could have a excellent italian breakfast at a discount price (2 Euro per person for coffee and a croissant) at the Bar Daniele witch is situated just 1 minute
away from the B&B just around the corner on Via Degli Archi 3. We enjoyed Bar Daniele very much, the coffee and croissant was excellent and the owner Daniele was very nice and we feel at home there too! Thank's Ettore and one thing is for sure - we will come back!! Ciao!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony on the streetside of the building. Nice to look out on the small street befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertilg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Great central place to stay. Right on the market street but not at all noisy. Extremely clean and comfortable. The owner..... Sorry forgetten his name...... Was very helpful and always keen to hear about your day and what you has experienced in sorrento. Great place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn-Grant-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My partner and I stayed in this B&B for four nights while visiting Sorrento. It was a little confusing when you enter the building because there is no Dolcevita sign on the door after you climb the stairs. There is a sign outside on the street though! When you arrive, climb to the second floor and head towards the door on the left side of the building, not the right. We saw a few other guests in the same confusion as us so we had to point them the right way! If you knock and no one is there, just call the owner and he will be there in a couple of minutes. He is usually there very regularly, and he told us that he is always there from 5pm-9pm, which is great. He told us we can call him anytime after 10am if we have any other problems.

When we arrived, he stayed with us for 45 minutes or so chatting about the region and telling us the best way to get to places, etc. It was fantastic!! He is so proud of his region, and rightly so, for the produce and the sights are indeed spectacular (even in the rain!). The room we had was fantastic. It had a lovely little balcony, a very large room and a very functional and clean bathroom. Everything was super clean! The room looked out onto a pedestrian only street which was always quiet at nighttime.

There was some renovation work going on in the apartment below ours. The owner said he has an agreement with the workers to only start work after 10am and it finishes up about 5pm. Unfortunately though, every morning we were there after 8am (3/4 mornings), the construction work and hammering began. So it started at 8am. We told the owner the first morning and he apparently called them but it continued. So don't expect to sleep in! It wasn't really a problem because we were up and ready to explore by 8am but it may be an issue with others.

Otherwise, a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a terrific place to stay--not far from the Circumvesuviana train station, the port to catch a ferry or catch a bus for the Amalfi coast. Right from the beginning, Ettore was an excellent host. Though it is on the third floor of a building on a pedestrian walk/shopping area, he was right there when I arrived to help carry up my luggage. Short walk from the train /bus station, spotless rooms that are cleaned every day with fresh linens. Easy to control heat/AC within the room, comfortable beds, and since not on a busy street like Corso Italia, no motor cars at all hours. Peace and quiet. Ettore is able to give advice based on previous guests experiences on everything from help with travel to restaurants and best times to visit specific places. He's very interested in feedback from guests so that he can then provide it later. Just a wonderful, positive person who is a huge fan of the city. This is only the first B of B&B, as breakfast is not included, but i'd trade comfortable, clean rooms and helpful owners ANY DAY over toast/jam. I was in a room with a small balcony overlooking the pedestrian walkway--just down from Piazza Tasso. Terrific accommodation--definitely plan to visit again!

Room Tip: Ettore works hard to match travelers with rooms-I'd leave it to his discretion. All rooms appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntcyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in October 2013 at the end of our two weeks in Italy. I must admit we were beginning to tire after the hustle and bustle of Rome for a few days, but Sorrento was a wonderfully relaxing way to end our trip.

B&B DolceVita is a cute little B&B right off of the main drag in Sorrento, amidst all of the wonderful shops and restaurants. The room was clean and spacious. We originally had asked for a room that overlooked the street, but Ettore gave us a larger room on the backside of the building for no extra cost. The bathroom was rather large and very clean with all of the necessary updates to make it feel comfortable and new. The bed was comfortable enough, and neither myself nor my wife had any trouble falling asleep at night. We had a fridge in the room, which was nice, and also a small balcony with some chairs and a table that we did not use on our stay (the courtyard really isn't anything to look at). The location really is perfect. Just open the door and you are right in the heart of Sorrento. It's fantastic. I'm sure you can get a better view outside of the town center (or for a much steeper price), but you won't be able to walk everywhere in 5 minutes or less the way you can from DolceVita.

Only a few negatives to point out. One is that the room really could use a coat of paint to freshen it up. There were many scuffs on the wall, and overall it made the room feel somewhat used and dirty, which it wasn't. Also, one of the shelves that served as a nightstand was falling off of the wall (literally). Did this ruin our experience here? Absolutely not. These are just points to mention in case Ettore reads this review and wants to improve the place a little.

Finally, there is Ettore. As others mentioned, he really loves Sorrento. I think he spent about 20 minutes at least at check in answering our questions and pointing out everything on the map, explaining what to eat, where to eat it, how to spot a good restaurant vs. one that is overpriced, train schedules, good values, etc. He was just exceptionally nice. By the time we stepped out on the town we felt like we were already acclimated to our new surroundings (which is a nice feeling). He also allowed us to store our bags on the day we checked out for a few hours, as we wanted to enjoy Sorrento for a bit longer before heading back to Rome and back home. Superb customer service.

If we ever get to return to Sorrento, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarEagleInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

just come back from our first visit to sorrento,the Dolcevita is right in the old town,the rooms are serviced every day so everything is super clean and Ettore makes it feel like home ,he tells you every thing about trips cheapest way to do them,time tables for bus's ,trains best places to eat.
The room we were in was at the back so did not hear anything at night but the double glazeing was great so i am sure the front rooms were o.k. The price's are reasonable and we will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyandalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
#37 of 139 in Sorrento
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Sorrento B&B
Belvedere Sorrento B&B
#53 of 139 in Sorrento
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sycamore Hill
Sycamore Hill
#89 of 139 in Sorrento
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B DolceVita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B DolceVita

Property: B&B DolceVita
Address: Via San Cesareo 64, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B DolceVita 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DolceVita B&B is situated in the heart of Sorrento, close to the main square and to all public transports . Rooms, which are completely renovated. Due to its strategic location, DolceVita offers you just few steps away: beach, restaurants and pizzeria, fashion shops, coffee-bars and ice-cream shops, laundromats, museum, parkings, and much more ..... According with the most popular international tourist guides, Sorrento is ideally situated for exploring Amalfi Coast, Positano, Capri, Pompeii and the Bay of Naples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B DolceVita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing