We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of B&B DolceVita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B DolceVita
Ranked #49 of 130 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a great stay at this B&B! The rooms were basic and clean. There was a mini fridge in our room, which was really nice. Ettore was very friendly and helpful! He helped us plan out our stay in Sorrento and gave us transportation tips and names and locations of great restaurants. The location is great! Everything is a short walk away and there are many great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    30
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
102
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Location is everything and Ettore's little diamond is close to the heart of everything. Rooms are no more or leas than you would expect, but why go to Sorrento to sit in your room when there is so much outside your front door. Ettore is a most gracious and passionate host. He loves Sorrento and the region and shares his knowledge freely.

Thank you so much for a fabulous introduction to your beautiful town

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed here for a week. The best place to stay in Sorrento. Clean, convenient (in the heart of the historic district, but quiet as can be in your room), easy to get to train, port, buses, everything, very welcoming and comfortable. I do not think it is possible to replicate the hospitality, friendliness and joy in dealing with the B&B host, Ettore. He made our trip! If I am ever fortunate to be back in Sorrento again, (it is a wonderful city and a great base to explore the Amalfi coast) I will be back at DolceVita without any hesitation. … Lori Grande, New York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This charming little guest house is centrally situated on a busy tourist street, but good double glazing keeps out any noise at night. Very friendly and welcoming manager Ettore was most helpful, but refused to recommend restaurants (there were plenty about just minutes away) as that is down to personal taste. No breakfast room, but we just showed a card at a nearby cafe in the morning entitling us to coffee or tea and a croissant or bun for just 2 euros.
If arriving by boat, as we did, take the lift up inside the cliff and it's not far to pull bags, no need for a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynJEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife & I first visited Sorrento in October, 2010, for just one day (as part of a Mediterranean cruise), and we made a promise to each other then that we would return to Sorrento to stay for a longer period of time.

When we travel, I usually handle all our transport arrangements, while Margaret takes care of our accommodation bookings, heavily relying on reviews on TripAdvisor, and occasionally reviews on Booking.com.

Having chosen B&B DolceVita because of the overwhelmingly positive reviews here on TA, its central location right in the heart of Sorrento, and also because it was within our budget, I could not have been any happier with Margaret's choice of B&B DolceVita for our recent six night stay in Sorrento.

From the daily Trip Report that I am composing to let family & friends keep up with our travels:

"Margaret again has done an excellent job in choosing accommodation that meets our budget. DolceVita is centrally located just off the main town square of Sorrento, on one of the main pedestrian streets. Our room has a small balcony overlooking the street, and it's nice to stand out there and watch the parade of people passing by during the day and into the night."

Our host, Ettore, met us to help take our luggage from the car which had transported us from Napoli Centrale Stazione to B&B DolceVita (the driver had phoned Ettore as we got close to Sorrento to let him know our time of arrival), and then spoke to us at length about things to do and see, places to avoid, and overall gave us some great tips and advice that we found useful during our time in Sorrento.

To say that Ettore is a "character" would be an understatement!

The bed and pillows at B&B DolceVita are very comfortable, and our room was quiet...VERY quiet. With the door to the balcony closed and locked, and with the shutters closed, we hardly heard any noise whatsoever from outside, not even the bells from the church (which is located behind the building in which B&B DolceVita is located).

One of the highlights of our stay was meeting Anna Maria, the housekeeper who comes to clean the four rooms at B&B DolceVita every day of the week (she told us she doesn't take a day off during the high season). Anna Maria has a "Million-dollar smile", and a personality to match!

Margaret & I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending B&B DolceVita to anyone, and if/when we are ever fortunate enough to be able to return to Sorrento once again (hopefully within the next two to three years), we would most definitely stay at B&B DolceVita.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 7 days in May 2014. After some not so great experiences previous to coming here, it was like a breath of fresh air. The room was light and airy with a balcony overlooking a cute little pedestrian street. I was a little worried about the noise at night, but when you close the bathroom door, you don't hear a thing! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with shelves for toiletries, etc. The shower was big with good water pressure. Never ran out of hot water. There's AC but we didn't need it. Free Wifi.

The owner, Ettore, was super friendly and was always on site between 5:00pm and 9:00pm which was great because sometimes questions come up and you know he will be there (unlike some other places). He always had multiple suggestions for things (instead of giving you just one place) and he even surprised us with a bottle of champagne as it was my birthday!

There is no breakfast on site, but for 2 euros a person you can get coffee and a very delicious croissant at a bar just down the street. There are a bunch of fresh fruit vendors up and down the same street so we bought some delicious fruit to supplement breakfast.

The only thing was that we had a bit of a miscommunication in terms of meeting someone to check in (it was a Sunday, Ettore's day off I believe), the best thing to do if this happens is to simply call him. FYI there are pay phones in the Sant'Antonino Piazza just a block away and at the train station.

Sorrento is a lovely place, safe and clean and no graffiti to be seen! A great base to make day trips to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Capri and the hill towns of Positano, Amalfi and Ravello (which we all did). I certainly recommend B&B DolceVita for your stay!

Room Tip: We had the room with the orange and red quilt, very lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sävsjö, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is one of the best B&B we have stayed on. The location is excellent for visitors to Sorrento as everything is close or in 10 minutes walking distance. The room that we stayed in for 6 nights was big, clean and silent. The bathroom is clean and with a lot of space. Good beds, excellent wi-fi, a small balcony and a feeling of home is things that we remember from DolceVitaSorrento. The host Ettore is a very kind and helpful man. He really takes care of you and have a lot of good advices about what to do and what to see. He is more than an host - he is like an old friend that you have known for many years! There is no breakfast at the B&B but thanks to Ettore you could have a excellent italian breakfast at a discount price (2 Euro per person for coffee and a croissant) at the Bar Daniele witch is situated just 1 minute
away from the B&B just around the corner on Via Degli Archi 3. We enjoyed Bar Daniele very much, the coffee and croissant was excellent and the owner Daniele was very nice and we feel at home there too! Thank's Ettore and one thing is for sure - we will come back!! Ciao!

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony on the streetside of the building. Nice to look out on the small street befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertilg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
Sorrento Inn Funzionista
#41 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diana City
Diana City
#28 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Piazza Tasso B&B
Piazza Tasso B&B
#19 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antico Palazzo Scala
Antico Palazzo Scala
#9 of 65 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#15 of 130 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B DolceVita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B DolceVita

Property: B&B DolceVita
Address: Via San Cesareo 64, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B DolceVita 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DolceVita B&B is situated in the heart of Sorrento, close to the main square and to all public transports . Rooms, which are completely renovated. Due to its strategic location, DolceVita offers you just few steps away: beach, restaurants and pizzeria, fashion shops, coffee-bars and ice-cream shops, laundromats, museum, parkings, and much more ..... According with the most popular international tourist guides, Sorrento is ideally situated for exploring Amalfi Coast, Positano, Capri, Pompeii and the Bay of Naples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B DolceVita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing