We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pizza del Poeta

La Pizza del Poeta
Ranked #194 of 271 Restaurants in Sorrento
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Above average restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We ate at the La Pizza del Poeta on our last night in Sorrento and were pleasently surprised at the quality and range of food available. The Gnocchi was one of the best we had eaten in Italy and the serving of mixed fish was generous. The service was very good and the food was reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boondie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    11
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far From The Madening Crowd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Tried to get to Take Out a few doors down, but it was closed, so after 10 pm on Sunday night, went into this joint, and was a nice experience, mostly Italians, nice waitress, good to very good pizza, reasonable, 2 Euros coperto per head, and the bill for beer, antipasto, pizza, big bottle of water, came out to 25 Euros, which is the least expensive meal I've had in Italy!

I wouldn't travel far for it, but if you're looking for easy and basic and reasonable in that part of Sorrento, I do recommend it.

and... waitress gave us two shots of llimoncello, a nice finish

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had the great fortune of staying close to this restaurant. It was so enjoyable that we went back two more times. The food was fresh and very tasty with a great variety. Our very friendly waitress spoke excellent English and was very helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good food, large portions, lacks atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

On the main street between our hotel and Sorrento it was convenient when we didn't want to walk into town. Friendly waitress. Food was very good with large portions. Pizza one of the best anywhere. Lacked a little atmosphere but good if you are hungry. Nice Chianti for 12 euros.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Real Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed down the street and came back for 2 dinners. Wide range of choices from pasta ,pork, beef and seafood. All really good. Very good fresh made to order salad too. Don't know why previous review had such problems, our waitress spoke English and the menu had both Italian and translation in English. Good flavors, good prices and we loved sitting at one of the tables out front and watched the traffic and people going by. We also received complimentary desert, it was Tiramisu cake and very good. They also have pizza for lighter fare and a lot of locals were coming to pick up and take home so must be good.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank okitsme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pizza del Poeta also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to La Pizza del Poeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing