We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B in Sorrento” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Warm staffs, clean and special room with balcony, breakfast is also very good. It's near the port to Capri and has a good location in the city. Regret for booking only one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    118
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
192
531
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Why would you stay anywhere else in Sorrento it is like staying in a beautifully restored Italian Villa great location overlooking main pedestrian mall always something to look at from balcony but very quiet at night especially when heavy wooden doors are closed.fabulous service very personalised and hotel great location for restaurants etc Great starting point for tours of Positano, Isle of Capri and Pompeii.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Maison Tofani on the last four days of our 18-day trip through Italy and it exceeded our expectations. The boutique hotel has so much character and the staff is attentive and helpful in every way. We stayed in a room with a beautiful spa-like bathroom and jacuzzi tub, where we could see the little shops and restaurants from our balcony. There is even a rooftop terrace where we sat in the evenings, watching the sun set while enjoying a glass of Italian Red. Location - in the heart of everything you want nearby. Shops, ferry to Capri, bus and train, it's all easily within walking distance. Breakfast - by far the best breakfast buffet we had in Italy, with choices of sweets, fruits, yogurt, breads, eggs, meat - all beautifully presented and home made, in the most serene breakfast room with painted ceilings. There are places throughout the hotel to sit and chat, with a lounge and a small bar where people can congregate, if wanted. Rooms were spacious with lots of storage and wifi worked great in the room. I can't say enough good about this hotel and if there was anything at all I could say that wasn't perfect, it is the fact that you have to get dropped off in the town square and walk though a couple streets with your luggage. It was fine for us, but anyone who had trouble getting around may have problems and if there is rain, it's a little unpleasant. It is a little hard to find on your own, we were lucky to happen across it the day before our stay, but the staff will give you excellent directions to get there if need be. Day trips are easily done from here - Isle of Capri is a beautiful ferry ride away, the local train to Pompeii is an easy commute and if you have a car or rent a driver, you can tour the Amalfi Coast and visit places such as Positano (our favorite part of Italy) and beaches, beautiful restaurants, etc. The desk staff is more than happy to arrange such trips for you, as well. Rooms and grounds were meticulously clean. If we ever have an opportunity to go back to Sorrento, we will be staying at Maison Tofani.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a balcony and a jacuzzi tub. Room 104, I believe. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakdale, Ca.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is like bringing ice to the Eskimos, but I'll join in.
A beautiful old mansion, lovingly restored, in a great (but somewhat noisy pedestrian street in a delightful town, with great hosts (esses). Not much not to like.
First, the small negatives. Rooms, while large and comfortable, mostly have one large window/door/balcony, so cross ventilation is minimal without opening the entrance door. I doubt this can be helped, given the age of this lovely old building. The noise, at times, even on the top floor, from the street below is noticable, but this this a price one pays for the location, location, location.
That's it! Everything else is positive. Comfortable surroundings/bed, large, well appointed bath, it's fun just looking at the old inn. Giovanni and Diletta are absolutely superb; they couldn't be more helpful, informative, and fun. (Not to mention, she's pretty cute.)
Maria, and all the breakfast staff, go out of their way to ensure a good start in the AM, served in a drop dead gorgeous old hall with ceiling frescos, at least 300 yrs. old. The choices and home made items are great, the fruits ripe and sweet.
This is the real deal; I didn't even mind climbing the stairs several times a day, and it helped me stay in reasonable shape for Sorrento hills, and hopefully erase some of the pasta damage.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can climb. Off the 'alley' is quieter, but the view may not be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philo128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Yes and yes to all the lovely things people have posted about the hotel. Our room was comfortable and very attractive; the bathroom was a treat; the common rooms beautiful. Breakfast--wow! Maria, the lady in charge of the hotel, grows most of the fruit served, makes the breakfast cakes herself, and even brings in the eggs from her own hens! Delicious. The cheerful little lady who makes the coffee is to be commended--and was, daily! Diletta and Giovanni, who work in the office, are extremely helpful and knowledgable.

The caveat: Our grown children shared the Family Room, which is described as having no view. It would be better described as being nearly windowless. The single, small window looks out onto a pipe and a wall about 3 feet away, so there is little light and ventilation. Otherwise the room was comfortable, if oddly configured. My children were happy in it, but I would have gone mad without better natural light.

I would gladly return to the hotel, but as we didn't particularly enjoy Sorrento, that is unlikely. However, we can heartily recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We visited the hotel in Easter 2012. I was with my family and my mother who has health problems. The staff did not spare any effort to make our stay truly unique. The establishment is very beautiful - a real pleasure to have breakfast every day under a XVIIth century fresco, finely restored to its former glory. The rooms offer comforts only matched by 5 stars hotels. Cakes baked by Signora Maria, the owner, could pass the toughest bakery competitions. The hospitality which the owner, Giovanni, Diletta and the rest of the staff gave us made our stay in Sorrento a very memorable one. We had very bad weather, but because we were so nicely pampered and look after in the hotel, eventually it did not matter. Do not look further - give yourself a treat and book here!

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to inform Giovanni, the guest relations manager, of any special needs you have ahea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We spent a few nights at this lovely hotel with our daughter this spring. The location is wonderful, our room had a small terrace over a pedestrian shopping street. The staff is very gracious. We came home each evening to the common room where we shared a cup of tea before turning in. The staff was always ready to make us a hot tea or coffee no matter the time of night. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. I don't think you'll be dissapointed with your stay here.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing