We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home!!!!”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home!!!!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

we stayed here in february...... not just a hotel but a hotel with a personal service.... very clean..... breakfast was lovely and staff go out off your way to help you... free Wifi..... there's not a bad thing i can say about this hotel..... ideal for location in Sorrento. sightseeing etc in 3 days we seen it all so much to see & visit...Highly Recommend A++++++++++++++

Room Tip: Attic rooms are the best!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    131
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
218
575
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

As all the other reviews have clearly stated the staff at Maison Tofani make this already great hotel utterly amazing!
The service and level of detail we received before and during our stay was top notch, it’s above and beyond what you would expect. They firstly arranged airport transfers at a very reasonable price. We, on very short notice, decided to travel with our 5 year old daughter, which they accommodated without fuss and charged less than advertised for the extra bed and even ironed all our clothes!
The maid cleaned our room continuously and on each occasion arranged our little girl’s toys and teddy's on her bed for a special touch!
They left chocolates in our room as a little surprise for our daughter and fussed over her each time they seen her. Breakfast time was an especially nice time as Maria and the other staff would take time to talk to us and fussed over the little one. The breakfast had a great selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, cakes…..all very fresh.
The room was large, bright and very, very well equipped. I have never felt so comfortable staying somewhere as I did here.
The hotel is lovingly restored and is full of charm and character. It really was a slice of Southern Italy and will definitely be returning. I had the pleasure in visiting the wine cellar, where they have so many excellent wines (red only). I picked a Brunello di Montalcino and asked if they could arrange a bottle of white to be sent up to the room. Within 10 minutes there was a tray delivered with 2 red wine glasses, 2 white wine glasses, a dish of nuts, a dish of mixed pretzels and a cork screw. It just wasn’t a fuss to them and the white wine they selected was amazing!
Giovanni and Diletta are great hosts and were always attentive. When we arrived we were shown around the hotel so we were familiar with our surroundings. About 20 mins later Giovanni rang the room to introduce himself as he was not present when we checked in and on revisiting reception I was met by a warm smile and a friendly handshake.

I could write on and on about the level of service but I think you all get the point by now. Everything about this place really is the bench mark for other hotels........plus it’s very reasonable. As far as I could see the only other place that comes close to this in Sorrento is Antiche Mura and it costs twice as much! I also doubt you would receive this level of service. Thank you to Giovanni, Diletta, Maria and the other staff (whose names I never got) for making our stay in Sorrento an unforgettable one.

Tip: the room has a fridge were you can purchase items; alcohol, soft drinks etc. The prices were reasonable but we used it to store our own water and wine. It’s rare you find a decent sized fridge in a hotel room so this was welcomed.
Also the Wi-Fi is really fast with a good connection. Go up onto the roof at sunset to get panoramic views over the gulf for those amazing photos.
It’s a little hard to find so when you are dropped off in the Piazza and walk down Via San Cesareo, the hotel is about 50 years on the left. Look out for the Exchange sign just before it on the left, the Coin store (a clothes store) on the right facing the entrance and go through the large wooden stable doors. The reception is on the right in the court yard.

Room Tip: Take a travel iron as there are no iron facilities in the room. They do have a laundry service thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mobeverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Warm staffs, clean and special room with balcony, breakfast is also very good. It's near the port to Capri and has a good location in the city. Regret for booking only one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Why would you stay anywhere else in Sorrento it is like staying in a beautifully restored Italian Villa great location overlooking main pedestrian mall always something to look at from balcony but very quiet at night especially when heavy wooden doors are closed.fabulous service very personalised and hotel great location for restaurants etc Great starting point for tours of Positano, Isle of Capri and Pompeii.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Maison Tofani on the last four days of our 18-day trip through Italy and it exceeded our expectations. The boutique hotel has so much character and the staff is attentive and helpful in every way. We stayed in a room with a beautiful spa-like bathroom and jacuzzi tub, where we could see the little shops and restaurants from our balcony. There is even a rooftop terrace where we sat in the evenings, watching the sun set while enjoying a glass of Italian Red. Location - in the heart of everything you want nearby. Shops, ferry to Capri, bus and train, it's all easily within walking distance. Breakfast - by far the best breakfast buffet we had in Italy, with choices of sweets, fruits, yogurt, breads, eggs, meat - all beautifully presented and home made, in the most serene breakfast room with painted ceilings. There are places throughout the hotel to sit and chat, with a lounge and a small bar where people can congregate, if wanted. Rooms were spacious with lots of storage and wifi worked great in the room. I can't say enough good about this hotel and if there was anything at all I could say that wasn't perfect, it is the fact that you have to get dropped off in the town square and walk though a couple streets with your luggage. It was fine for us, but anyone who had trouble getting around may have problems and if there is rain, it's a little unpleasant. It is a little hard to find on your own, we were lucky to happen across it the day before our stay, but the staff will give you excellent directions to get there if need be. Day trips are easily done from here - Isle of Capri is a beautiful ferry ride away, the local train to Pompeii is an easy commute and if you have a car or rent a driver, you can tour the Amalfi Coast and visit places such as Positano (our favorite part of Italy) and beaches, beautiful restaurants, etc. The desk staff is more than happy to arrange such trips for you, as well. Rooms and grounds were meticulously clean. If we ever have an opportunity to go back to Sorrento, we will be staying at Maison Tofani.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a balcony and a jacuzzi tub. Room 104, I believe. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakdale, Ca.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is like bringing ice to the Eskimos, but I'll join in.
A beautiful old mansion, lovingly restored, in a great (but somewhat noisy pedestrian street in a delightful town, with great hosts (esses). Not much not to like.
First, the small negatives. Rooms, while large and comfortable, mostly have one large window/door/balcony, so cross ventilation is minimal without opening the entrance door. I doubt this can be helped, given the age of this lovely old building. The noise, at times, even on the top floor, from the street below is noticable, but this this a price one pays for the location, location, location.
That's it! Everything else is positive. Comfortable surroundings/bed, large, well appointed bath, it's fun just looking at the old inn. Giovanni and Diletta are absolutely superb; they couldn't be more helpful, informative, and fun. (Not to mention, she's pretty cute.)
Maria, and all the breakfast staff, go out of their way to ensure a good start in the AM, served in a drop dead gorgeous old hall with ceiling frescos, at least 300 yrs. old. The choices and home made items are great, the fruits ripe and sweet.
This is the real deal; I didn't even mind climbing the stairs several times a day, and it helped me stay in reasonable shape for Sorrento hills, and hopefully erase some of the pasta damage.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can climb. Off the 'alley' is quieter, but the view may not be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philo128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Yes and yes to all the lovely things people have posted about the hotel. Our room was comfortable and very attractive; the bathroom was a treat; the common rooms beautiful. Breakfast--wow! Maria, the lady in charge of the hotel, grows most of the fruit served, makes the breakfast cakes herself, and even brings in the eggs from her own hens! Delicious. The cheerful little lady who makes the coffee is to be commended--and was, daily! Diletta and Giovanni, who work in the office, are extremely helpful and knowledgable.

The caveat: Our grown children shared the Family Room, which is described as having no view. It would be better described as being nearly windowless. The single, small window looks out onto a pipe and a wall about 3 feet away, so there is little light and ventilation. Otherwise the room was comfortable, if oddly configured. My children were happy in it, but I would have gone mad without better natural light.

I would gladly return to the hotel, but as we didn't particularly enjoy Sorrento, that is unlikely. However, we can heartily recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing