We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home in Sorrento”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A warm and welcoming, not to mention beautiful, smal hotel in the hert of Sorrento's historic distric just a block from the main city square. From Giovanni's warm greeting to Vita's great smile at breakfast we felt so at home in the 400 year old building that has been in Mario Lauro's family for generations. Perfect location, sumptious breakfasts, rooftop terrace, modern baths and rooms, and amazing frescoed ceilings in the common rooms all made our experience great. It was, however, the staff that made us feel that we were in our vacation home rather than a hotel that made Maison Tofani so perfect. We can't recommend it more highly!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our balcony overlooking Via Cesareo from Room 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

Look no further, think no further. This is the place! A beautiful mansion situated at the centre of Sorrento. As soon as you enter you'll be received with great friendliness and hospitality. We felt we were private guests staying at a private mansion.

We stayed at a beautiful room with historical doors and a little balcony. The rooms were clean, beds and pillows were comfortable, and wireless worked well.

We stayed only 2 nights at Maison Tofani but if it wasn’t for the guest relations manager, Mr. Giovanni our trip wouldn’t have been complete. We managed to see Capri, Sorrento and Positano in 3 days and dined really well thanks to his tips and practical B plans.

My friend’s luggage failed to arrive at Napoli airport and was missing for 2 days prior our arrival at Maison Tofani. When we arrived at the hotel, Giovanni has taken the matters to his hands and followed it through, located and got it delivered to our room the next day.

Maison Tofani is beautiful no doubt, but Giovanni is the one who made our holiday excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Payzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Assuming you don't want to pay through the nose for a hotel room on the cliffs of Sorrento, Maison Tofani really does offer the perfect location. Tucked behind an archway off the main peedestrian street in central Sorrento, this boutique hotel is perfecty placed for a stroll around town, an espresso in the town square or a meal in one of Sorrentos many restaurants. The service is fabulous, they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Giovanni and his team are proud of their lovely hotel and should be equally proud of their customer service.

The hotel is a beautifully renovated old house with lovely communal rooms and a nice little roof terrace for escaping the crowds. We had the family room, which was roomy and comfortable. It had no view but Giovanni warned us in advance so we knew exactly what we were getting are were perfectly happy with that.

A lovely little hotel that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Internationalgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I can't say enough about our stay in Maison Tofani. It was the perfect start to an amazing vacation in Italy. Giovanni, the owner, excels at good customer service. The location was perfect - within walking distance of the train station and bus stop and in the centre of town surrounded by restaurants and shops. We had a huge room with an great bathroom. Although we didn't have time to use the rooftop terrace, we did go up to it to see the amazing view. Breakfast was more than adequate and served in a beautiful room with a beautiful frescoed ceiling. Giovanni bent over backward to make our stay perfect. I would return to Maison Tofani in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

As we stood in the street staring at our map after blindly being left by our taxi driver, my mother and I were miraculously rescued by a man dragging other tourists suitcases behind him. When he asks where we are going he grabs my mother's bag and starts to walk down the street simply saying "Follow me, you must be Sandra." A little stunned, my mother (Sandra!) and I follow him just a bit further into Maison Tofani. This was our first introduction to Giovanni, who not the owner, looks after it like it was his own. My mother had booked Maison Tofani only after reading so many reviews about this Giovanni. The hotel is also a beautiful, historic building perfectly located by the main square, many shops and restaurants directly surrounding the hotel. As we were on the top floor, we appreciated the lift to bring up our heavy suitcases. Breakfast was amazing, large variety of fruit, breads, cheese, meat etc. as well as hot drinks personally made for you by the attentive staff. The breakfast room was beautifully decorated with gorgeous ceilng, however as it was a beautiful day we sat outside on the terrace. Our loft room was of decent size, with own private balcony. Roof terrace just steps from our room was beautiful to sit out and watch the sunset. All in all, a very comfortable stay within the heart of Sorrento.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Beautiful property, excellent location, great breakfast. All of these are eclipsed by the unbelievably wonderful service provided by each and every member of the staff. They are so friendly and bend over backwards to be helpful in any way they can. For one example; when we inquired about getting a taxi to the bus station (easily walkable except we had heavy bags to wheel along cobbled streets), the owner said she would just have one of the workman bring our bags for us. Nothing was added to the bill for this service, though we, of course, gave him a nice tip. I do have to add that the fabulous breakfast includes fresh fruits grown organically in the owners' garden. Cherries and melons were just coming in when we visited. Yum!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We absolutely loved everything about Maison Tofani, from its decor (WOW to the breakfast room fresco ceiling!) to the personalised service offered by Giovanni. We had the loft room, which was small but cleverly designed. My husband especially loved the fantastic full body jet shower! Our balcony gave us views of the Sorrento shopping street below and Mt Vesuvias! It was great to wake up to the amazing view and church bells.

We mainly owe our fantastic experience at this small hotel to Giovanni, who blew us away from the moment we stepped onto his property. He was incredibly helpful, full of enthusiasm and information. Thanks to Giovanni we explored the Amalfi coast on our first day with a smart car (which he helped us organise the hire) and loved the freedom that gave us, not to mention the thrill of driving on those narrow windy roads. Giovanni also booked a table for us at an excellent restaurant (L'Abate) on our first night where we were spoiled with complementary wines, great local fresh foods and exceptionally personalised service. Lastly, when Giovanni realised that we were picking up our car from Avis upon checking out of the hotel, he rang for someone from Avis to pick us up down the road from the hotel (because it is on a pedestrian only street) so we didnt have to walk the 800m to Avis. And before we knew it he was wheeling our two (very large) suitcases to the meeting point!

Thank you so much for all your help Giovanni! It really made our experience more memorable. We will definitely return next time we are in Sorrento.

Room Tip: We loved our loft room on the top floor. Great view of Mt Vesuvias!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £91 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing