We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute treasure in the heart of Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute treasure in the heart of Sorrento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Our family stayed for a week at Maison Tofani and they managed to exceed our already high expectations after reading all the outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor. As others have noted, the property is located in the heart of the town, and within easy walking distance of, well... pretty much everything. The ability to walk out directly into the vibrant Sorrento scene cannot be overstated -- it was everything we hoped it would be, and the beach is less than a ten minute walk. The quality of the rooms was another pleasant surprise, as the finish and detail are incredible. The owner has managed a completely modern renovation of a classic building, while retaining the charm and original architecture throughout the property. The website is an accurate depiction of the detail and appearance, but first-hand viewing will still surprise you. The technology is also first class, with several 110v circuits in the rooms and excellent wireless connectivity. The staff (Giovanni and Diletta) were equally charming, completely knowlegeable, and very helpful with suggestions and making our arrangements -- really a pleasure to talk with them and gain their insight -- and one really should take advantage of this, irrespective of what you've read in preparation for the visit. We will definitely stay here again on the next visit, and highly recommend it to anyone looking to embrace Sorrento and locate in the center of the town.

Room Tip: Deluxe and Superior rooms have incredibly high ceilings; the Loft rooms are understandably a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    119
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
196
537
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this lovely central location for 3 nights to celebrate her birthday.
In a nutshell
1. Great position
2. Beautiful room
3. Very fresh breakfast
4. Very efficient and friendly staff

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we found this neat hotel. It lives up to its reputation completely and was our base four nights while we visited Pompeii, Capri and the Amalfi Coast. If you want to add the experience with drinks (pricey) on a beautiful terrace overlooking the Mediterranean, then walk over to the Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flg1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Beautiful building in the heart of Sorrento, looking over a busy street just off the main Palazzo. Giovanni was a wonderful host and definitely fulfilled the title of the "King of Sorrento" with his insightful knowledge. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to this beautiful town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Spotless, centrally located, fab air con, huge bedroom with wooden ceiling and large, modern bathroom, lovely breakfast and really friendly staff. Sorrento was great, a bit touristy perhaps, but this hotel was a calm oasis on a very busy street. Loved it and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGirls09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Maison Tofani in July 2012 and our stay was great. First, the room was gigantic. Nice bathroom and high ceilings. They even had a laptop in the room that we could use. Second, it is right in the heart of Sorrento, so we never had to walk far. Third, and perhaps most important, Giovanni and the rest of the staff were very helpful. They helped us book two boat tours, recommended restaurants, and arranged for a car service to take us back to the train station at Naples. One night, we were in the front office and my wife commented that she liked the scent in the room. Giovanni said it was from a perfume store nearby, and when we got back to our room later that evening, a bottle of it was on sitting on desk. That is a perfect example of how nice the staff was there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Maison Tofani exceeded our expectations. The rooms were spacious and air-conditioned! Breakfast was included and was first class. The location is central with tons of quaint shops and restaurants. Giovanni was very helpful. I really appreciated his prompt responses to emails. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank koochos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing