We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great location”
Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Really nice hotel and reasonably priced. It is a little hard to find--they are on the upper floors and have no signs at street level, so you have to look a little. The staff is very nice and most helpful. The breakfast was far and away the best we had in our two week trip to Italy.

We were a little worried that our room may be noisy because it overlooked the busy San Cesareo, but when the windows were shut all of the street noise was blocked out.

Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    122
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
201
547
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Mountains
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Maison Tofani is in the busy heart of Sorrento. We picked this location because we had an early train to catch the next day. A very nice man checked us in. Hearing that we had an early train to catch, he double checked the schedule for us. Our room was big and attractively furnished. We loved the natural wood ceiling. The bathroom had been remodeled with bold bright colors. Very nice. The day we arrived we had a problem with the hot water. The next morning it was fixed.

For breakfast they had the best selection of all of our hotels in Italy and the room had a beautiful painted ceiling. However, the way the room was set up made it feel like a conference room and was not conducive for a leisurely romantic breakfast.

The also gave us complementary bottle of Prosecco. Since there was no note we are not sure if it was a honeymoon gift, a way to make up for the lack of hot water or being nice to fellow innkeepers. Any way, it was good. Thank you.

I would recommend this hotel to younger travelers that want to be in the center of the action.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

What a little gem this hotel is. The rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable and the breakfast is the best we experienced in Europe. The location is fantastic and literally 30 seconds from the centre of Sorrento. Would highly recommend to those travellers after an affordable, yet luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent three nights at the Maison Tofani in the penultimate week of March. The guest house is located on a pedestrianized road within the ancient centre. It is near the Piazza Torquato Tasso, where we parked our hire car on arrival. From there, I walked down to the office that is 100m on the left down via San Cesareo, in a courtyard. Here, I was greeted by Giovanni who arranged collection of all our luggage and transfer of our car to the valet parking. It was a level of personal service that I would love to get accustomed to.

As it is a guest house, rather than a hotel, there are some steps to negotiate. The main lounge and dining area is 2 flights up from the ground floor. There is a service lift but, unless you are disabled, I suspect that it is not for public use. The dining area is beautiful; just like stepping into a stately home. You have breakfast here every morning. Here you also meet the beautiful and elegant Maria, who runs the show and ensures that all your needs are met.

The bedrooms are on the next few floors up. There is lift access from the lounge area. The rooms are intelligently thought out. The bed is large and comfortable. You have access to a wide variety of television channels and there is also free wifi for internet. The bathroom has a Jacuzzi with a built-in power shower. We had a deluxe room to accommodate our cot and there was lots of space. Our room looked down onto via San Cesareo. There is no noise from the street when your window is closed.

Breakfast is generous and varied. There is a hot and cold buffet with cakes and pastries too. When you are ready to get going, Giovanni helps you plan your day. He will tell you the weather forecast and check if the ferries are running to Capri. In fact, he also offered sensible advise on driving on the Amalfi Coast and which restaurants to try locally.

Check out runs efficiently. The bill was modest, though we were there on the week before the season really kicked off. Giovanni arranged for our car to be brought to the town square and our luggage was carried for us.

Maison Tofani is listed as great for families. It looks like a stately home and your first impression may be that it could be quite stuffy. In fact, it is the opposite. Maria and Giovanni treat you and your family like royalty and that their priority is to ensure the perfect holiday experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clerkenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We came into Sorrento after a somewhat rushed journey from Rome via Naples. Our initial plan was to skip Sorrento, but we're glad we didn't.

We got to the Maison Tofani (don't miss it off the little street!) and we're greeted by the charming Giovanni.

What can be said about him other than he is so professional, full of info, and well-connected. In fact, when he heard where we were staying in Capri, he smiled and said, 'I know XYZ there well'. A phone call later, our connecting travel and pickups were taken care of for us. Note that there was no reward to him or his property for this, it was just him helping out.

The hotel itself is a heritage property. The doors and ceilings are original and incredible. It's also been re-done less than 3 years ago, so the amenities and decor are modern and in top shape. The steaming hot bathroom jacuzzi was most welcome after a long day in transit.

Unfortunately, we only had limited time in Sorrento, but there's no question we'd stay here again. The location is superb, and the hotel amenities are excellent (breakfast was great too!).

Make sure you look up Giovanni (I'm sure you won't miss him!). His personal interest in making you comfortable makes all the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paripurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We came into Sorrento after a somewhat rushed journey from Rome via Naples. Our initial plan was to skip Sorrento, but we're glad we didn't.

We got to the Maison Tofani (don't miss it off the little street!) and we're greeted by the charming Giovanni.

What can be said about him other than he is so professional, full of info, and well-connected. In fact, when he heard where we were staying in Capri, he smiled and said, 'I know XYZ there well'. A phone call later, our connecting travel and pickups were taken care of for us. Note that there was no reward to him or his property for this, it was just him helping out.

The hotel itself is a heritage property. The doors and ceilings are original and incredible. It's also been re-done less than 3 years ago, so the amenities and decor are modern and in top shape. The steaming hot bathroom jacuzzi was most welcome after a long day in transit.

Unfortunately, we only had limited time in Sorrento, but there's no question we'd stay here again. The location is superb, and the hotel amenities are excellent (breakfast was great too!).

Make sure you look up Giovanni (I'm sure you won't miss him!). His personal interest in making you comfortable makes all the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paripurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Right in the history of Sorrento and so close to everything. This hotel is hidden away from everywhere but in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. Giovani was more than helpful and even though we were only there for a night it was a very memorable stay. With limited time in this part of Italy it was wonderful to be made feel so at home. Thank you for all your help.

Room Tip: I chose the room straight from the trip advisor website and it looked exactly the same, so I know no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing